Chevron Left
Principles of Game Design(으)로 돌아가기

미시간주립대학교의 Principles of Game Design 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.4
1,170개의 평가
304개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

필터링 기준:

Principles of Game Design의 290개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Jackson K

May 01, 2017

Fun course although a little too conceptual for my liking.

교육 기관: Robert B

Dec 07, 2015

This course has some great content and assignments that I'd never make myself do on my own, for that I rate the course highly.

I did find myself often wondering exactly what was expected of me on the assignments, and during lecture I'd hear "this is something to think about...", but not what I'd like to hear which is "here's what to do".

Overall a great fit into the game development specialization.

교육 기관: Sergii Z

Mar 25, 2016

This is a great course, if you want to hear The Questions you need to Answer to make a good game design for your game. It does not give you the answers, but it gives you a road map to follow.

Downside of the course are Quizes and Peer Reviews. Quizes sometimes have shady and non-clear answers, especially for non-native English speakers. Assignments grading criteria makes your peers to choose from 1 to 5. And 5 is "you did so awesome, that you've impressed your peer very much". And this is not happening often.

교육 기관: Joel G I

May 08, 2016

There is a lot of writing here, but the course gives a better understanding of what is required outside of actually building a game

교육 기관: Kari L

Jan 09, 2017

My difficulty in completing this course is that I am having to actually develop a playable version of a game. The information in the course is excellent but it is taking more time than I have to develop the playable version of the game I used for the exercises.

교육 기관: PhoebeXiong

Dec 14, 2016

A lot of conceptual stuff going on, I learned what's a high concept document, a game design document, and the importance of prototyping!

교육 기관: Ivan A

Oct 10, 2016

The course is great but there is some room for improvement. One awesome way to improve learner experience, I think, would be to provide one or two examples about what is expected to deliver for each activity (good/bad examples from previous courses, preserving anonymity?).

I know a lot of creativity is involved in the process, but sometimes I felt like I was wandering in the dark, trying to complete an assignment without knowing whether I understood appropriately the instructions.

교육 기관: Stanislav L

Aug 01, 2016

Peer review is really bad idea for such assignement when you are writing your very first design document. It's very subjective and peers cannot provide a valuable feedback on your work

교육 기관: Gabriel A

Oct 19, 2015

Muy bueno

교육 기관: José L E C

Mar 21, 2016

This was a very good course, however the assignments were too long to complete in only a week.

교육 기관: Carlos D P G

Nov 17, 2015

The course has several mistakes; the instructor forgot to remove some of the clips taken wrong inside the lectures, and the project for week 3 was incorrectly written. However, in general the course is very appealing; it's the main part of making games. And if some may think that you don't need to take a class to "learn to be creative", this course was an excellent way to put my creativity in practice, learn about how game design works, and read many interesting articles and stuff from different sites, provided by the instructor.

Highly recommended, it's a very fun course.

교육 기관: Carlos A H A

Feb 13, 2017

This course is mandatory to design a good videogame.

교육 기관: Tarek E

Sep 27, 2018

Good content for the basics of Game Design, but the course lacks good graded materials.

교육 기관: Anirudh C

Oct 21, 2018

Insightful and enthralling! I learned game design in an orderly fashion along with dos and donts. Very useful.

교육 기관: vikramaditya g

Aug 11, 2018

Theoretical par..boring

교육 기관: andraž g

Nov 18, 2018

Somewhere between the corse the lectures are mixed up. That means that you first have the questions then in the next part of the week there is a reading and explanation. This was kinda confusing.

교육 기관: Ramy D

Oct 15, 2019

Great course, I suggest that the final assignment should be restricted to Digital prototypes because while I was assessing one of the assignments I saw people submitting wrong assignments that has nothing to do with prototypes.

교육 기관: Kareem A H

Oct 28, 2019

4/5 cz its a little booring :3

교육 기관: V.B.Srevarshan

Oct 15, 2018

This course taught more than just the principles of game design. I enjoyed working on assignments like story bibles and GDD. Though the content is a bit dry, I suggest you pay good attention to what the instructor says in the videos. My favorite part in the entire course is "Social Issues for designers" where the instructor talks about the current state of games.

교육 기관: Eduardo R C

Mar 08, 2016

It's a really good course but I feel like you need more time to really do the assignments, one week between assignments is kind of little time to do all the design. Sometimes the lectures are not directly relationed with the assignments.

교육 기관: Roselle C

Dec 29, 2017

I'm still not done halfway through but like others who have actual game dev experience in the forum, I've taught about dropping out but approach this course as if I'm taking a game. This lecturer keeps going round in circles and the fact that I have to endure his salesman style teaching in another course is something I'm still not sure if I'm going to be able to pull through.

I'm still trying to put aside his whole "I'm going to spend more than a minute convincing you why something is great for you apart from actually telling you WHY it is great ACTUALLY for you" but I find myself not paying attention and increasing the speed of the video up to x2. Since I've already paid for it, I might as well go through with it.

Certain points are great though, I still did learn a lot from this. Was definitely disappointed in the beginning as the previous lecturer was very good. But kinda got over his irrelevant points and found the important bits somehow.

교육 기관: Thomas B

May 23, 2017

Learned a lot, but the videos could stand to be a bit more concise.

교육 기관: Christopher C

Jun 12, 2016

The lecturer is very engaging and for the most part these lectures were valuable. A few of them bordered on "why are we talking about this?" though. Felt more like filler than actual value. I think this could have been condensed to three weeks without losing much.

교육 기관: Marc-André M

May 29, 2017

Another good course in the Game Design and Development specialization. I had a lot of fun making the prototype at the end.

교육 기관: Sergey B

Aug 08, 2017

This course has hard assignments. And videos don't really help with it.