Chevron Left
The Science of Gastronomy(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 The Science of Gastronomy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
625개의 평가
159개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

최상위 리뷰

SJ
2020년 9월 28일

Thank you very much Professor Chow and Professor Yeung as well as to your student assistants. I find the topics, demonstrations and assignments very interesting and useful in my profession.

AS
2018년 7월 7일

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

필터링 기준:

The Science of Gastronomy의 158개 리뷰 중 151~158

교육 기관: Michał P K

2021년 6월 12일

Only three stars despite excellent content (delivery for a paid option should be better) • The content is extremely interesting and it is clear that a lot of effort was put in preparing the course. Very good downloadable presentations, fantastic summaries (topic summaries) at the end of each module. The second part even more interesting that the first one. • There are errors in English. The second part delivered by the second instructor was worse, the delivery sometimes hindered the understanding and thus caused frustration. Not being an English native speaker myself, I understand this is easier said than done. However, the course was made available on a global platform in English, so one expects it to be easy to understand, especially for those as myself who purchased a certificate. Does Coursera verify the course before putting it on the platform? Courses with poor content or poor delivery should be available for auditing only, without possibility to buy a certificate.

• There are many assignments. Maybe one could consider replacing some of them by short mandatory tests after each module or chapter (and not only a final test at the end). Short tests at the end of each module would allow better understanding of the material, which would be memorised longer…

교육 기관: Ilaria C

2018년 1월 7일

I learned many interesting things but it was a bit long. The teacher keeps adding some redundant words (i.e. in fact) in the sentences and his pronunciation makes it difficult to get the concepts sometimes. The classes are a bit slow and always the same, with the explanation first (interesting for me), and then some experiment description and implementation (too long videos on that part).

It doesn't really have exams at the end of classes, so it is easy to pass but at the same time I realise I lost many concepts since the beginning.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

2017년 12월 10일

I found this course to be tedious and redundant. There was so much that wasn't needed and was very condescending to most students. Anyone can learn how to cook. It is not hard skill. The trick to good cooking is knowing how to properly cook something and not overcook or undercook, using the right amount of spices or flavor and timing. This course was taught as though to deliberately insult the intelligence of those taking it.

교육 기관: Alice Z

2021년 4월 12일

The course itself is both interesting and useful. The instructor explained everything clearly. However, the exams are designed very poorly. Some of the questions include concepts that has NOT been mentioned before and some of the questions are very controversial.

교육 기관: Abraham M P

2020년 10월 16일

It's a good course to learn the basic chemistry of food and the human body perception. But there is too much homework.

교육 기관: Jenn P

2021년 3월 6일

I found this a mix of basic information that somebody with basic anatomy & physiology should know, and also hard to follow due to English/Chinese issues. Just not for me. It may be the perfect course for a psychology major or somebody else who needs the background to understand how brains and basic science works.

교육 기관: Charlie H

2020년 8월 14일

I really wanted to learn the subject, however, the instructor is very boring and the videos are drawn out. I couldn't get past the first week.

교육 기관: Ajay L

2016년 5월 28일

amateurish presentation. and there is some technical issue with the content. the video gets stuck a lot and the problem is not my internet.