Chevron Left
Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace(으)로 돌아가기

피츠버그 대학교의 Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
708개의 평가
187개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is sex? What is gender? What is sexuality? What do we mean by LGBTQIA? How are these concepts related to the workplace? How have our understandings of these terms changed over time, and how have these changes impacted work and culture? To help you answer these important questions, this course will introduce you to the exciting field of gender, sexuality, and women's studies, and to LGBTQIA identities. We will use a range of interdisciplinary concepts, tools, and methods to understand and analyze how identity shapes our experiences in culture and in the workplace. Because we all live with gender expectations, this course is crucial for any profession, and for understanding the world around us. Also, you will learn key concepts that will help you to interpret and understand the world we share....

최상위 리뷰

J
2020년 5월 3일

That was an excellent course. The video lectures and the reading materials were really good and I could learn a lot of new things from this course. Thank you very much for this eyeopening course.

AD
2018년 1월 25일

Short but a beautifully concise course on understanding gender and sexuality. It also gives one tools to make the workplace an inclusive environment for LGBTQIA, and eradicate discrimination.

필터링 기준:

Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace의 188개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Maria V R

2021년 1월 12일

-

교육 기관: Deirdre A H

2017년 7월 18일

This course introduced me to a more formal way of understanding gender and sexuality. While I took issue with some of the ways things were defined, particularly the implicit assumption in the first week that gender is entirely socially constructed, I really got a lot of valuable information and material out of this course. As a transgender woman with an advanced degree, I found the course to provide information of the depth and breadth expected in a short undergraduate course. The evaluations were useful but the standards were a bit unclear and the peer review process a little questionable considering the unknown background of peers. The discussion forums were not helpful, the forums and chat sessions used by Stanford in their Intro to Databases MOOC were much better. Consider an IRC chatroom at least, or a listserv. Still, I got much of what I came for at only the cost of my time.

교육 기관: Richard H

2020년 4월 27일

This was a very informative and well presented course. As a university lecturer with responsibility for educating students in these issues and also educating staff it gave me a firm grounding in the central issues and background. If more advanced courses in this area become available I would be interested in taking them. If I have one point of criticism, it is that counter perspectives were not engaged with and discussed. But, as this is an introductory course that is understandable.

교육 기관: Roy H

2020년 5월 18일

I really appreciated the class, it's well designed, lots of pertinent information and good video lectures that are not too long and well presented enough to be concise. enough reading to delve into deeper theories and history. only thing that I felt was missing is that the program is designed for corporations, mostly and I had hard time relating to it as I am not in the corporate world. thank you

교육 기관: Meredith M

2021년 5월 23일

Overall this was a very informative course providing relevant information to be used in the workplace. The course is a bit dated (I enrolled and completed it May 2021) with political references to the previous (Trump) administration. Also, there were several places where the closed captioning was not accurate or not reflective of what the spoken word was.

교육 기관: Ranielli F

2020년 4월 13일

Eu agraço a oportunidade da plataforma em oferecer o curso da Universidade de Pittusburgh, só queria salientar a necessidade de incluir mais conteúdo sobre a inclusão de pessoas LGBTQIA nos postos de trabalho. Eu senti que o curso focou muito em teorias, mas ficamos um pouco órfãos de métodos de ação quanto às empresas e a diversidade e inclusão.

교육 기관: Madhumitha S

2020년 1월 18일

A balanced course that presents objective assesment of discriminations at workplace and solutions to avoid the same. Very relevant assignments. I personally liked the concepts on gender and sexuality such as man box, lady box, glass escalator etc. Would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to get introduced to gender studies.

교육 기관: gigi n

2021년 2월 2일

Good course because it covers variety of topics related to LGBTQIA community. This is a complex and emerging field and this course is a quick overall introduction. I recommend adding another week to the course materials. The extra week should cover history of LGBTQIA movement in the US and the LGBTQIA movements in other countries.

교육 기관: Christopher R

2019년 10월 22일

The course itself is a real eye-opener, with great content. It has really changed my perspective on equality concerns and inclusion. The one downside is I am still waiting for my submitted work to be peer-verified and will not receive credit until it has been complete, which I have zero control over.

교육 기관: Rosemarie C

2020년 5월 27일

The cons first: Some of the reading materials were unavailable to view. I wish the Professors could have replied to some of the class discussions going on.

The pros: Great video teaching and good mini-quizzes. Some excellent video testimonials from the LGBTQIA Community.

교육 기관: Heena R

2020년 3월 26일

If you are clueless about the concept of sex, gender, queer and related terms, this is the course to take on. It will help you understand these concepts and familiarise you with the struggles of the queer in an environment which may not look upon the community favourably.

교육 기관: John M

2021년 5월 16일

Great course! really re-enforced some of my current understandings and shed light on new thoughts and concepts that were not as familiar to me. Highly recommend everyone take this as a starting point to any D&I inclusive environment.

교육 기관: Gary C

2021년 8월 18일

The time estimate for the required readings is modest. I found that 30 minutes to read a 40 page research paper is not long enough. I learned a lot from the course. Well worse it.

교육 기관: maria p

2019년 2월 13일

very useful tools, tropes and readings to discuss, analyze and develope inclusive strategies at workplace. Raise awareness on gender/sex identities through plain concepts and data

교육 기관: Stephannie B

2020년 11월 23일

I would wish for more time in order to expand the course materials. With only 4 weeks to try and get the main points covered, I thought the course was very well done.

교육 기관: TANMAY L

2020년 5월 9일

Gained a lot of knowledge pertaining to Diversity and inclusion in the workplace and learned to respect everyone equally

교육 기관: Pooja P

2021년 8월 2일

Overall a good course but they should certainly include other many more terms and concepts which are new to this world.

교육 기관: Angele T

2021년 12월 21일

Really good introduction to the topic and the issues surrounding it. I enjoyed the course very much.

교육 기관: Amal Z

2021년 6월 22일

Thank you a lot for theses beneficial and comprehensive information With all Love and Appreciation

교육 기관: Ivan L R

2021년 3월 17일

Very interesting and insightful! I wish some of the readings were more current and up to date.

교육 기관: Bouchra H

2020년 3월 17일

I learned a lot from this course. It was easy to follow and very informative.

교육 기관: Anna S

2017년 9월 17일

Loads of valuable information. Should be mandatory (long before college.)

교육 기관: Benita D

2020년 8월 7일

Good content to Learn. Insightful resources. Thanks for this Opportunity.

교육 기관: Rayan Z

2020년 1월 18일

I enjoyed taking this course. It was well presented and informative.

교육 기관: Bharat M S

2021년 5월 23일

Really helpful sessions, and the resources are very informative