Chevron Left
General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
625개의 평가
159개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

최상위 리뷰

ZK
2015년 8월 28일

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM
2018년 10월 1일

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

필터링 기준:

General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application의 159개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Akinsola B D A

2021년 6월 9일

I love the opportunity given to me to learn this course... It explained the basis and really made me understand the harder parts, now i have better understanding and wider knowledge!.

교육 기관: 18UCHA041

2020년 8월 2일

It was new study approach. It was different and it always kept me on my toes. I kept questioning and understanding topics from different perspectives throughout. Thank you

교육 기관: Md. R U C

2020년 6월 9일

I enjoyed the course very much. None of the lectures was boring. Mr Steven Hutchinson is a dedicated teacher. I'll ensure to keep up my way of learning.

교육 기관: Revathy R

2020년 7월 13일

Thank you Dr. John Steven Hutchinson. The course was systematically covered and questions were challenging too. Looking forward to your next course.

교육 기관: Nguyen D L

2021년 6월 2일

I love the lecture and quizzes. I am more confident to help my son with Chemistry now. Thank you Prof Hutchinson and Rice University Staffs.

교육 기관: Igbaroola S A

2020년 8월 12일

This course has been quite amazing. I hope to apply it in my further knowledge of concept in chemistry.

교육 기관: Abhishek P

2020년 6월 16일

I explore chemical kinetics and equilibrium. Further, i learned some new concepts as well.

교육 기관: Suthakaran k

2020년 12월 6일

Exam papers are really great because each questions are very intelligent and bravely

교육 기관: DrSHAIK L

2020년 7월 25일

Thanks to course community, I have to enjoyed this course.

By

Dr. SHAIK LAKSHMAN

교육 기관: sjpradeeba C

2020년 7월 9일

Excellent course. I have completed the course but i didnt receive certificate

교육 기관: Dr. C K

2020년 5월 2일

good basic learning program,thank you to the Professor for easy expaination.

교육 기관: MARY A M T

2020년 10월 13일

Thank you so much for this cousre. I get more ideas. Really interesting...

교육 기관: Alvin I

2020년 8월 6일

This course is amazing. It helped me to understand chemistry in a fun way.

교육 기관: Marc H

2017년 6월 14일

The concept development method of learning was very effective. Thank you!

교육 기관: Fernando d S M

2015년 10월 26일

Very Very good, if you want to learn something just try these classes !!!

교육 기관: Lalita S B

2020년 9월 2일

This course is helpful for understanding basic concept in chemistry

교육 기관: Glenn E M

2020년 5월 14일

Much more challenging than expected for a general chemistry course.

교육 기관: Zafira B

2020년 9월 28일

Experiência diferente e muito complexa rica em muitos detalhes.

교육 기관: Jonathan L

2016년 1월 25일

The concept development approach is a much better way to learn!

교육 기관: Stéphane H

2019년 3월 26일

Very insightful course ... very well explained and progressive

교육 기관: Chen C

2015년 9월 30일

really helpful advice, completed content with acceptable depth

교육 기관: Yumna N

2020년 5월 31일

Good experience...Sir i have not received my certificate yet.

교육 기관: Sidharth D

2015년 10월 2일

Excellently delivered..... High clarity and focus on concepts

교육 기관: lawrence a

2018년 4월 14일

excellent course. Gives basic concepts that one must learn.

교육 기관: Roshen R I

2020년 12월 4일

Truly scientific method of learning science and chemistry