Chevron Left
General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
625개의 평가
159개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

최상위 리뷰

ZK
2015년 8월 28일

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM
2018년 10월 1일

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

필터링 기준:

General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application의 159개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Muhammad R

2020년 7월 28일

Very good

교육 기관: Elyon O

2020년 7월 17일

very nice

교육 기관: GANTALA K

2020년 7월 6일

excellent

교육 기관: OMOYIN I I

2020년 7월 16일

perfeect

교육 기관: AMRUTA K S

2020년 9월 1일

Nice

교육 기관: Egbuji N A

2020년 7월 24일

Good

교육 기관: Prebor D

2020년 7월 23일

good

교육 기관: Nwaturuocha C N

2020년 7월 20일

Good

교육 기관: Edward W S

2021년 5월 29일

k

교육 기관: Juan M S

2021년 1월 7일

My review can only be positive, very positive I would say. Being a Dr. in Mechanical Engineering, now retired, who learned some Chemistry (it was never be a major in my case) when I learned Engineering in a Basque Country University, it has been a pleasure to remember half-forgotten concepts, others even never learned before. The course lessons, the details, exactness of the presentations, the capacity of Dr. Hutchinson to transmit knowledge have been a delicious experience I would recommend to anyone who would like to enter into the marvellous world of Chemistry. I look forward to finding any other complementary course by Rice University on the same area of science. As a suggestion on aspects to improve on this course I would say, please make the hand calculations and presentations by Dr. Hutchinson bigger, otherwise in their present scale they are difficult to read on screen. To sum it up : An excellent course recommendable to anyone interested in Chemistry.

교육 기관: David P C

2020년 7월 19일

I'm gonna give 4 stars to the professor and the course because I learned so many things that will (hopefully) help me in the future. The professor is really intelligent, clear, and concise. That deserves recognition. However, the course could've been way much better if it wasn't for the book and the quizzes. The book is great but sometimes it gets extremely confusing and without too many details (mostly on equations, viz. some of the equations are just written there without showing the math involved). And the quizzes, well, some of them were way more challenging than just learning from the lectures. In addition, some of the questions in the quizzes aren't covered in detail during the lectures, which makes it harder.

교육 기관: David D V

2016년 8월 28일

Great course! This is the first MOOC that I've completed and I had a great experience overall. The CDS system is what drew me toward this particular chemistry course and it seems like an effective and natural way to have concepts stick in your head. Very clear and easy to understand explanations are also given in the lecture videos.

My only complaints are that there are some significant typos in the quizzes, and all of the course material seems to refer to a different version of the online textbook than the one that is currently provided. If the quality of the quizzes was better and if the course was more in sync with the most up-to-date reading material I would have easily given this course 5 stars.

교육 기관: Jeremy V

2015년 8월 24일

Course information is delivered in a new and exciting format. The first half of the course builds up base Chemistry ideals and Laws. The second half takes the student to places they never thought they would end up. Be sure to brush up on your College Algebra before taking. Overall a fun and challenging experience!

교육 기관: Gary B

2018년 3월 16일

Over all a good intro to chemistry but found it long after a while.Perhaps breaking up the single courses into two courses each covering a semester. Found the math during the last two weeks to be a beyond me and wha tI thought was required for a basic beginner course.

교육 기관: Jason A

2020년 8월 10일

It was a great course to jump start your foundation in chemistry. Quizzes are nicely tailored from the topic and tests are requires basic to intermediate level of analysis as they are comprised with easy and hard questions.

교육 기관: Viktor O

2015년 8월 24일

great course! Unlike other courses, this one really helps the student make a deeper understanding of chemistry and the conceptes that built the science!

교육 기관: Darren C

2017년 7월 25일

Helped me learn Chemistry from a fresh perspective! Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Josmar P

2021년 4월 3일

Lectures are quite good but quizzes have not the same quality.

교육 기관: Mauritius X

2017년 7월 17일

Very good. A quite effective way of teaching chemistry

교육 기관: om p

2020년 9월 12일

This course are very useful in Chemistry subject

교육 기관: Keith S

2018년 12월 16일

Very clear explanations, well presented.

교육 기관: Akinmusire M O

2020년 7월 22일

IT WAS EDUCATIVE AND ENLIGHTENING.

교육 기관: Tun L A

2016년 6월 5일

Very Good Videos for Chemistry!

교육 기관: Ebubechukwu D N

2021년 6월 21일

Very Inquisitive & Efficient