Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
708개의 평가
160개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

TN

Sep 28, 2017

Very good course that prepared me for Genetics at Pima Community College in Tucson. I am able to follow the lectures and actually understand what is being presented. I am glad I took this course.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 156개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: wang m

Mar 27, 2017

感谢这门课程,让我能快速的入门。

교육 기관: He X

Dec 26, 2017

Great entry level class for ppl who want to know more about genetics!

교육 기관: Simon B

Aug 29, 2017

Good course!

교육 기관: Kai F

Jan 10, 2016

I found this course very well taught. Especially the lectures wre conceived in a way that it was entertaining and challeging at the same time. Coming for a social science background myself, I was delighted by the way the course eased people from outside the subject area into the field. Additionally, I was able to to do the course without it conflicitng with my job (in my case it actually helped my own research in social science, which made even mor eof a success for me). Prof. Noor did a great job in teaching without overburden and keeping a light tone while making me learn.

Only one minor problem:

Having never encountered multiple choice during my academic career, I was sometimes thrown off by the wording of questions and answers. I know it is hard to creat quiz-formats that are not based on multiple choice, but it would maybe make the course more comprehensive, i there were. Since this is likely to be a problem with my own experience and does not affect others so much, I would not go as far as deducing anything.

A future wish: Maybe a course on the subject, specialising in some subareas based on this course woudl be great.

All in all, Prof. Noor and his team did a good job in conceiving and conducting this course.

교육 기관: Marusa P (

Feb 24, 2018

I love it

교육 기관: BASSAMAH H

Feb 07, 2018

A big big thanks to Dr Noor and team for creating this course and delievering it in a very effective and reader friendly way. It help me to understand evolution more than Darwin theory and controversies exist with Darwin. One of the best course on coursera platform to learn and gain knowledge. The quizes aredesigned in such a way to practise your knowledge and go through lectures again and again to pass initially it irritates but latter you enjoy by understanding subject and eager to gain more and more. once again thanks for such a great course.

교육 기관: Patricia T

Sep 23, 2017

Awesome course! And I really loved the enthusiasm of the professor.

교육 기관: Siddharth S

Jan 30, 2017

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Christina B

Dec 13, 2015

Fun, interesting and well explained lectures

교육 기관: Sara K

Apr 28, 2017

I really did enjoy this course. Teacher is amazing! It was just too hard for me. :)

교육 기관: Simon C

Dec 31, 2015

I thought I knew a bit about Genetics & Evolution when I enrolled, but the first Genetics lecture showed that I was wrong! Prof Noor has taught me a lot about Genetics. He is an engaging and inspiring lecturer. It is also obvious to me that he takes a keen interest in the students, as he has been quick to reply to questions that I have asked in the forums. I'm looking forward to the Evolution lectures.

I am not sure why I enrolled for this course, since I was sure I already knew the material, but I am glad that I did. I recommend the course if you belong to any of the following categories: people who think they know the subject; people who don't think know it, but are interested; everybody else (because I think you will find Prof Noor inspiring.

교육 기관: Tania G A

Aug 01, 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

교육 기관: hoscolee

Oct 15, 2016

老师讲的很好 对一些基本概念有了深刻的理解

교육 기관: Michelle A C

Jul 17, 2016

Very engaging lectures and helpful complementary materials

교육 기관: Ruta R

Jun 03, 2017

Great Course. Good structured, informative and well explained.I understood more than while my education in high school.

교육 기관: Herman A

Apr 09, 2018

There are a lot of things to take away from this class, but what struck me the most was Dr. Noor himself. Certainly he is a role model to all his colleagues. His lecture style, slide and quiz designs all show hints of a pedagogic genius at work. He certainly makes learning easy, and I have learned a lot! I feel fully confident in my ability to delve deeper into evolution and genomics.

교육 기관: Maksim G

Mar 13, 2016

Dr. Noor is a very inspiring teacher. I would definitely become a geneticist if I met him in my university. The course is really interesting piece of human knowledge.

교육 기관: Juan C D M

Mar 02, 2017

Everyone should do this course!

교육 기관: Emma S

Mar 28, 2016

Gets into a lot! And the app fufills my evolution app dreams.

교육 기관: Diana S A

Jun 07, 2016

very interesting!, just begining and i liked it very much

교육 기관: Jacek B

Apr 04, 2016

Perfectly done, dynamic, manageable, with sense of humor.

교육 기관: Joe A

May 31, 2016

Very useful.

교육 기관: Anna S

May 23, 2017

Excellent course, many thanks!

교육 기관: Paula A B G

Dec 10, 2016

Dr. Noor makes the course and the topics unforgettable, amazing teacher and amazing content

교육 기관: Lee C E

Jun 24, 2018

A very interesting course. The professor was great and explained the concepts well.