Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
820개의 평가
194개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

AT

May 29, 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH

Jul 04, 2017

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 190개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Ariel A

Mar 07, 2018

As of thus far (3 weeks into the course) the course is an excellent introduction to basic genetic and evolutionary processes. The videos are taught in a manner that is entertaining almost intuitive enough to be heard without watching the slides, sort of as a long audiobook. The quizzes are free and there is much supplementary material available for deeper diving

교육 기관: Artūrs B

Apr 15, 2016

Provides information from basic laws of inheritance to understanding the field of Evolutionary biology and genome sequencing. Explained in a 'light and easy to understand' way! Not a course you can pass by knowing a few facts about the subjects. Tricky at times, which help you find out if you understood everything correctly. Would recommend to others!

교육 기관: Mohnish S

May 06, 2020

I think this is one of the best online courses you would find related to genetics and evolution. It was a pleasure learning the basics and applications of genetics and evolution from Noor Sir. I got to explore so much and this study reconsolidated my basics. A big shout out to Dr Noor and the Coursera team for making my dreams come true.

교육 기관: Tania G A

Aug 01, 2017

Wonderful course! Beautiful topic, but most importantly for this kind of teaching platforms, very very dynamic!. Dr. Noor really nailed it, he totally masters every subject of the course and puts in a easy-to-learn and motivational way. I would happily go over this course or any other given by Dr. Noor! Congratulations and thank so much!

교육 기관: Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Probably the best explained course I have ever taken in Coursera. Professor Noor makes the material easy to understand making it seem like it is a straight forward class. It is not until you try to explain to others what you have learned that you realize the material is complitaced. at making a science class simple and fun!!!

교육 기관: Samuel A

Aug 25, 2019

The teacher is amazing, and videos are short, easy to understand and overall fun to listen to and learn new things if you're really interested in genetics. I just finished my AP Biology class my junior year of high school and got A's both semesters and still felt there was a ton to be learned by taking this class.

교육 기관: Jingtian Z

Mar 13, 2020

Well, for me it's everything from scratch, I'm having fun in this course and for me, it was very hard at first, but easier towards the end. At first, I am failing, but toward the end, I am handling everything with genetics and evolution. I now kow that mutations are very often, how species evolute, and so on.

교육 기관: AP

May 12, 2016

Dr. Noor is a gem. He shows enthusiasm both for his subject, and for teaching. I felt the course was well organized, and provided a good foundational understanding of genetics. Importantly, it was enjoyable. The forum moderators responded promptly, and their answers were well-informed. An excellent course.

교육 기관: Anagi S K

May 29, 2020

This course provides a great overview touching every aspect of genetics and evolution. Prof. Noor is a skilled and friendly lecturer. His teaching methods made this educational journey enjoyable. As a medical student, I believe this course provided additional skills and qualifications to my career.

교육 기관: Konstantinos L

Feb 09, 2020

An exceptional course. I loved every minute of it! Definitely everyone who's interested in Genetics and Evolution -and of course their interaction in understanding better life on Earth- should give it a try. A big thanks to Dr. Moor, an excellent professor. I'm going to miss his teaching.

교육 기관: DOLKIRAS F

Jul 08, 2018

The best course i had in coursera!! I have learned so much and in an such enjoyable way. I recommend it to anyone looking for some insight into genetics and evolution ( even if it states that is an introduction in covers many topics which are introduced in a simple comprehesive way).

교육 기관: Tanya L J

Sep 12, 2019

This course is very interesting. Professor Noor has presented the lessons in a simple manner, which enhanced me to understand the main concepts very easily. The questions in the quiz is also very good which is mostly application level questions. I really enjoyed learning.

교육 기관: Alma D

Feb 24, 2016

It's one of the hardest more joyful courses I have taken. I suffered so much with the so well designed exams, but that pushds me to study harder and read more. I enjoyed it very much and I think the better way to say THANKS to Dr. Noor is don't give up and keep trying.

교육 기관: S M J

Oct 06, 2018

I have found the explanation in this course very intuitive and well suited for making me understand basic genetic topics that is very important for further complex studies of genetics. Really well put together and would highly recommend everyone to try the course.

교육 기관: Karolina M

Dec 04, 2018

Such a good course. My background is ecology and nature conservation and i am trying to get more into phylogenetics. This course was a nice introduction and coherent summary of important topics tying together evolution and genetics as an intro to phylogenetics.

교육 기관: Darlyn G

Jul 13, 2016

Although this class was challenging, Professor Noor's happy personality made going to virtual school fun! His quizzes are somewhat challenging but if you work at it enough you will pass the course. I look forward to any future classes he may have!

교육 기관: Zorimar V

Apr 30, 2020

A fantastic course for beginners! Prof. Noor explains evolutionary forces beautifully in a way that is easy to understand. You can tell that the course was put together carefully for students to understand complex concepts and enjoy learning.

교육 기관: Zhengmao H

Jul 12, 2019

Besides just "knowledge", the course also focuses on the application of statistics and probabilities, as well as the humanilty aspect. Very well balanced! Highly recommended to people who already have some background in statistics.

교육 기관: Maria E P M

Aug 12, 2018

I wish I had done this months earlier! I have spent a lot of time just trying to read and synthesize things on my own, but nothing beats a great lecturer that can just help you focus on the key things to understand and remember.

교육 기관: Pranab M

Mar 06, 2019

Thank you for the course. If you are taking the course, it may be a good idea to take some notes during the lectures, and pay attention to the mathematical parts (which are not difficult at the college freshman level).

교육 기관: Mohamed F A B

Feb 04, 2016

The course is fantastic and very smooth.

Professor Mohamed is very energetic, very enthusiastic and very knowledgeable of the course.

I loved every single thing about the course, best course i have ever taken (Y).

교육 기관: Jenny M

May 06, 2016

The lecture materials are interesting and informative. And the quizzes require an understanding of the material. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot about genetics and evolution. Thank you again.

교육 기관: Clare H

Sep 13, 2017

Excellent course taught me exactly what I needed to know! The lecturer is fabulous, really engaging and entertaining, and clearly has a very in-depth knowledge of the subject material. Highly recommend!!

교육 기관: Rohit S

Apr 27, 2020

Very good course so as to give an insight into the field. Personally, I do not have any relation with this field of science, I easily understood the concepts as taught by Prof. Mohammed Noor. Thank you!

교육 기관: Abhinav T

May 29, 2020

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.