Chevron Left
Introduction to Genetics and Evolution(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Introduction to Genetics and Evolution 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,374개의 평가

강좌 소개

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution is a college-level class being offered simultaneously to new students at Duke University. The course gives interested people a very basic overview of some principles behind these very fundamental areas of biology. We often hear about new "genome sequences," commercial kits that can tell you about your ancestry (including pre-human) from your DNA or disease predispositions, debates about the truth of evolution, why animals behave the way they do, and how people found "genetic evidence for natural selection." This course provides the basic biology you need to understand all of these issues better, tries to clarify some misconceptions, and tries to prepare students for future, more advanced coursework in Biology (and especially evolutionary genetics). No prior coursework is assumed....

최상위 리뷰

AT

2020년 5월 28일

I recommend this course for someone who is interested in learning of basics of population genetics and evolutionary processes. Prof. Noor is a very good teacher and I like his explanation of concepts.

YH

2017년 7월 3일

The course is really interesting! I love the way the professor demonstrate genetics theories by countless examples and evidence. And those questions about debates in genetics are thought-provoking!

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Genetics and Evolution의 359개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Styliani P

2021년 2월 18일

This course was so interesting, useful and funny. It is by far the favorite course that I have enrolled in coursera. Dr.Noor is an excellent speaker. He has passion and loves what he is doing, making me love his lessons and trying my best to succeed in this course. I found the course difficult, even though I am a biologist. I say difficult, but in fact this is a compliment, because I learned so many new thing and I am happy about it. I wish that every professor in the world had this passion that Dr. Noor has. Thank you for these past "genetic weeks". It was a pleasure being a part of this course's community!

교육 기관: CAT’s B

2020년 6월 28일

“Introduction to Genetics and Evolution” offered by Duke University is a mandatory course for anyone who wants to have a deep understanding in the fields of Genetics and Evolution from the introductory level, all the way to the advanced. I learnt many new things from this informative course and I recommend this to anyone who wants to have a thorough understanding in the above mentioned fields. I am glad that I utilised my time of lockdown fruitfully with the help of this amazing course. THANK YOU DUKE UNIVERSITY AND COURSERA.

교육 기관: Jonathan N

2017년 8월 9일

An excellent course suitable for students, novices and amateur experts alike. Prof. Noor gives a comprehensive introduction to the topic and his enthusiasm is infectious. As well as making the technical genetic material much easier to understand than it might otherwise be, he does a great job of explaining clearly and convincingly (in Jerry Coyne's phrase) 'Why Evolution is True'. Plus he seems like a really nice guy, which always helps! Highly recommended for anyone with the slightest interest in genetics and evolution.

교육 기관: MARCELA B M

2020년 8월 3일

Excellent program. Thanks professor Noor; maybe you could speak a little bit slower... Also, maybe it would be a good idea to include more conceptual exercises, in addition to the "proof" one included? In the quizes, sometimes it is the first time the student is challenged with putting concepts together and driving conclusions; and it is not necessarily that easy, eventhough the student might have watched the videos several times and eventhough the student has read all the additional material...

교육 기관: Laura M M

2021년 3월 13일

I am very glad I took this course. It is much well explained. It is quiet easy to follow, but you also have to focus and really follow it to pass the tests. At the end of it, you will have a better knowladge of bothe genetics and evolution. The videos also contain invideo questions, to make sure you are understanding, and it also contains examples to make it easier to learn. I really recomend it.

교육 기관: João G S C

2020년 11월 30일

Awesome! I am a Psychology undergraduate in Brazil and I participate in a research team in Evolutionary Psychology, this course has helped me with many insights for the studies that we are conducting and has helped me to better understand the principles from which Evolutionary Theory operates. Thank you Coursera and thank you Prof. Noor, hope we might work together one day!

교육 기관: Kim W

2020년 12월 27일

This course was amazing. More difficult and complex than I had anticipated, but extremely well paced with content sectioned off in a very appropriate way. Professor Noor was fabulous—knows the information well and injects humor into the course just when a little lightening is needed.

Thank you to everyone who worked on this course—I thoroughly enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Isabella D

2020년 9월 7일

I made this course when i still was in my class of evolution on college, thanks to my evolution teacher and that was the best recommendation! I'm very grateful to professor Mohammed who teach the course, he made the most difficult things become the most fascinate ones and show me more approaches for evolution.

Thank you so much professor!

교육 기관: Ruchi B

2020년 9월 3일

This is one of the best courses on Coursera. Thank you Dr Noor for teaching the subject so well. I would highly recommend this course to everyone who is interested in evolution. I had one of the most exciting experience learning introduction to genetics and evolution. Thank you Coursera.

교육 기관: Don C

2020년 12월 5일

Prof. Noor is an engaging lecturer and has structured an informative introductory course. The homework is relevant and worthwhile. The weekly quizzes are sometimes challenging but usually stimulating. I recommend this course to anyone interested in the basics of genetics.

교육 기관: Owais A K

2021년 3월 17일

It was a great learning experiene with Prof. Mohammad Noor through this course. Everything related to Genetics and Evolution was very well explained through this course especially, relating and calculating things by the real data and examples.

교육 기관: Michael H

2020년 9월 21일

A wide-ranging introduction that will make you want to read and learn more. The assessments are doable but challenging. The instructor is a widely-published expert in the field and a delight.

교육 기관: Pegah

2022년 1월 4일

I am with computer science background and this course was the start of my journey to shift into bioinformatics. I wanted to compensate the gap in my biology knowledge through this course and I was NOT disappointed. This course was really engaging, easy to follow, and fun! I really liked Dr. Noor's teaching. It felt like we were in a real classroom :) I found the course overall easy, but it had its own challenging parts too. I always squeezed my studying time in between my work schedule, so many of the mistakes I made during the exams were avoidable if I had taken more time before submitting them. So I think a full mark on the course is doable for a vigilant student, and if you are in a rush like me, you can at least pass them, albeit not with perfect score :)

교육 기관: ROBERTO C L

2022년 5월 19일

This course gave me the opportunity to deppen into very interesting topics in genetics. I congratulate Dr Noor for being an excellent teacher; charismatic and with an extensive knowledge on the subject. The program extension allows you to get involved into the surrounding discussions of biological evolution from the genetic point of view, with fascinating and informative case studies. The difficulty of the exams and questionnaires lies in the need to use critical thinking, more than only the acquisition of knowledge. An excellent university-level course that undoubtedly contributed a lot to my training as a biologist. Thank you for the opportunity!

교육 기관: Bahar P

2022년 2월 20일

It is introductory level but the way of story telling makes it possible to see the whole relation between genetics and evolution. Anyone who has a basic biology knowledge can learn a lot about genetics and evolution to better understand the biodiversity, human genetics, diseases etc. A person who is advanced evolutionary biologist like me can learn about the best way of teaching the relation between genetics and evolution at the introductory level. Prof. Noor is a great scientist that I knew but now I also saw that he is a great lecturer.

교육 기관: Ivan H A

2020년 10월 25일

I really enjoy the experience, Dr Noor is well known authority on genetics and evolutionary processes and have a course with him is a privilege. Also is an amazing theacher, really walk me from the basic topics to principles and aplications in a easy and interesting way. I'm more than satisfy with the course. I'm very glad to find the course on internet and willing to get more. I'm interesting in aplications for species diversity and conservation and I will love to have a more advance course on population genetics. Thanks a lot.

교육 기관: Suryansh S

2022년 2월 18일

Such a great course, covering topics in depth only within such a short time span regarding complex topics such as genetic variation, evolution, natural selection, genetic drift and heterozygosity. Currently writting this review, I am a junior in highschool and have found this course both challenging and intriguing. Thank you, Dr Noor for putting so much time into this great online learning experience and I hope i am able to revisit this topic as an undergraduate in univeristy.

교육 기관: Dhanuka D

2020년 9월 3일

This is the best course I did up to now. I love it. My ambition is to become a genetic engineer and I hope this course is my first step. Professor Noor is one of the best teachers I had in my life. I'm a university student and some theories were hard for me to understand in the university lectures but Professor Noor explained all those things in a simpler way. Even though the evolution part was bit hard I enjoyed this course so much.. Thanks Professor Noor..

교육 기관: Taim N

2017년 2월 11일

I have just finished this course. This course was a wonderful experience. I would strongly suggest this course to anyone who is interested in the field of evolution. There are many interesting topics that are discussed in this course which will increase your appreciation for evolution. The professor's explanation is excellent. He will keep you interested in the course. The only thing that is wrong about this course is that it didn't last longer.

교육 기관: Sarthak N S

2019년 12월 3일

Extremely insightful, the way he transitioned from the knowledge that I, as a high school senior am aware of, to ideas that I hadn't ever encountered before was extremely impressive. The instructor was charismatic and insightful. The quality of the course was commendable as well but it has to be noted that the audio quality was a bit off in a couple videos from weeks 1 and 2. Nevertheless, the course remained gripping and exciting throughout.

교육 기관: DAVID A

2022년 5월 21일

Completing this course is an addition to my knowledge. Every effort and time I invested in this course is worthwhile. I love how Prof. Mohammed explained various concepts in genetics and linked them to health and diseases. The weekly quiz questions are not too easy, but they were able to make me revise the video lectures and supplemental materials more than once! Prof. Mohammed replies promptly on the discussion forum, and it is encouraging.

교육 기관: Siddharth S

2017년 1월 30일

I absolutely enjoyed the course! The topics are well-explained and tie in together with each other, so you get a broad picture of genetics, speciation, evolution, and other concepts. The videos are backed with interesting supplemental material to read and ponder. Also, the lecturer is really interesting, not like most online courses where they simply read off notes. It's an informational and interactive course, and I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Zaneta P N N

2016년 3월 24일

Dr Noor's enthusiasm and relaxed teaching style makes even the more technical subject matter seem interesting. Although not always easy I have been compelled to keep pushing forward as I feel I am learning a great deal about myself and species around me. By far one of the best courses I have taken on this platform. I hope to continue studying the area of genetics as a result of this course. Thanks and keep up the good work!!!

교육 기관: Vasfi G İ

2020년 11월 29일

The course was perfect, and I can promise those who just enrolled, that you will not regret. As a medical student, I really had hard times to connect things to each other which almost led me to failing. But I can say that this course was the only thing I needed. I, now, can understand far better and it definitely increased my grades as I can see from the results, and I am sure ıt will also help me in my academic career.

교육 기관: Yashaswi S

2021년 6월 22일

A​bsolutely brilliant course! It starts off by covering the basics of the subjects discussed and gradually progresses to advanced areas. Being a biology student and one who has always been interested in genetics and evolution, I frankly did not expect this course to enlighten me to such a high degree, and I was pleasantly surprised as that was the case. I simply cannot overstate the excellence of this course.