학생용
Chevron Left
Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
279개의 평가
58개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

최상위 리뷰

SV
2017년 1월 9일

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP
2017년 12월 7일

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

필터링 기준:

Genome Sequencing (Bioinformatics II)의 56개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Olaf W

2018년 10월 3일

Great , interactive content. Well structured and explained.

교육 기관: Dasha P

2019년 4월 2일

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

교육 기관: Sumant K

2020년 10월 29일

Excellent introduction to Genome sequencing

교육 기관: Naveen P

2017년 6월 30일

The course is well defined.

교육 기관: Ayaan H

2016년 6월 26일

Enjoyed this course!

교육 기관: Wenbing Y

2017년 1월 22일

Very good courses.

교육 기관: vibha h

2017년 5월 18일

Very nice course!

교육 기관: ZIHAN X

2019년 3월 24일

good course!

교육 기관: Weidong X

2016년 7월 30일

good course!

교육 기관: Mario J C

2021년 1월 6일

Excellent!

교육 기관: Ahmad M Y A

2016년 12월 16일

excellent

교육 기관: Tomasz K

2017년 5월 10일

Great!

교육 기관: Rajat S 1

2020년 6월 4일

nice

교육 기관: chenhyde628

2016년 9월 25일

wery

교육 기관: hilda p

2018년 8월 21일

The course needs updates EXAMPLE: The version 3.0 for spades doesn't give the statistics and if you do a new version it doesn't give you the same data. I think this happened to other students, but we used Quast that it was later described in the instructions, but if it wasn't because someone suggested it in the discussion I would have follow the same path of using a new version that would have given me wrong data.

Thank you so much, This course has been helping me a lot.

CHEERS!!!

교육 기관: Carolina G

2020년 8월 7일

Very good course. The course staff needs to take a look at some pseudo codes and stepik assessments because they are kinda heavy to process. Besides that, great info and development.

교육 기관: bob n

2020년 8월 6일

Really enjoyed the course. Dropped from five to four stars because the final challenge introduced several new concepts rather than integrating concepts taught throughout the class.

교육 기관: Елена Ш

2020년 4월 17일

Сам курс довольно интересный, но в итоговом задании не работали некоторые программы. Кроме того приходилось дважды сбрасывать сроки чтобы дождаться оценки.

교육 기관: Meng Z

2019년 9월 15일

This course is great, but some times I can't open the dataset to test my code. I wish this can be fixed.

교육 기관: ChenYuexi

2017년 6월 21일

There is no debug dataset like the previous course, which means you will get stuck longer.

교육 기관: Juanjo B

2019년 4월 29일

The instruction material was slightly less helpful than in bioinformatics I.

교육 기관: Shweta C

2017년 10월 5일

Great course for beginning in Genome sequencing..

교육 기관: Nikhil Y

2020년 4월 23일

it was an amazing course to learn!!

교육 기관: KYRA M D A

2020년 12월 2일

It was so hard for me. :(

교육 기관: Ivan F

2018년 8월 9일

good introduction :)