Chevron Left
Fundamentals of GIS(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Fundamentals of GIS 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,914개의 평가
1,533개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

최상위 리뷰

A

2021년 5월 16일

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM

2020년 10월 4일

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of GIS의 1,499개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Eric L

2018년 7월 15일

Great overview and introduction to ArcGIS. It might feel basic, you might want to skip parts, but there is valuable information throughout if you're relatively new to ArcGIS. Explaining how to navigate a program like this is especially helpful when so many powerful features are unintuitively buried in right-click menus or a settings button three levels deep.

교육 기관: Golam T H

2017년 7월 28일

This is amazing! Absolutely great, useful and easy online course. I have learned very basic things about ArcGIS and got everything I needed to start right away with the complex software package. The course was very interesting and student friendly and it helped me a lot understanding things I wanted and things that were vital for me to learn and understand.

교육 기관: Tryfonidou E

2020년 9월 20일

This lesson was really helpful. It was the first time I have never studied ArcGIS before, so I was a total beginner. It was an understandable lesson, with many tutorials and scripts which helped me to understand what GIS is what types of data it uses and basic functions of it. I would totally recommend it for every scientist. It is a a very important tool.

교육 기관: Andrew J

2020년 3월 2일

Excellent introduction to ArcGIS. The course took about three weeks to complete during work hours at a casual pace. The three assignments were great at reinforcing course content I'd just learned, and the forums were very helpful. I'm currently enrolled in the second ArcGIS course and the materials from the Fundamentals course are already coming in handy.

교육 기관: Deva D

2016년 10월 2일

The Fundamentals of GIS course is very easy to understand with the examples to practice. I am an IT professional, generally develop software solutions to store and analyse data by generating different types of reports. After learning the GIS fundamentals, I am very confident to use the GIS for most of the applications to highlight data based on location.

교육 기관: Kendel B

2020년 6월 18일

GIS is awesome! Many thanks to the organizers especially to the course instructor, Sir Nick Santos, for imparting his great knowledge in GIS; job well done. I learned everything from it which enables me to improve academically in order to achieve my career goals as a lecturer and researcher in higher education. Highly recommended course for beginners.

교육 기관: Caitlin E

2021년 4월 12일

Really thorough and detailed course. I really feel as though I have learnt a lot from the course and I am excited to apply these skills to future careers. Definitely worth paying the money for the course as it allows for access to the software and to the assignments which allow you an opportunity to test your skills and learn from trying it yourself.

교육 기관: Aroin V

2020년 6월 18일

The flow from intro of GIS to the actual usage of GIS for analysis is fluid. Every lesson prepares you for the next one. The question included in the quizzes are not that difficult but they are definitely the important points of the lesson. The assignments is easy to follow and the materials provided will be very useful as guides for future analysis.

교육 기관: Oghenevwede E

2018년 11월 25일

Great Introductory course to ArcGIS. I have always wanted to learn how to use ArcGIS, that was how I came across it on coursera. At first I was a little bit apprehensive but once I started watching the videos and doing the assignments, it became alot easier. Nick & Co did a great job with the videos and assignments. It was the deal breaker for me.

교육 기관: Josh W

2021년 7월 14일

Really enjoyed everything about this course. It was set up well, the instructor is personable and easy to follow, and the free access to ArcGIS for the course is so incredibly nice. Highly recommend taking this. GIS software in general is very fun to work with and this course sets you up with great basics to move on to more advanced projects with.

교육 기관: Mohammad A M

2021년 9월 8일

This was my first online course on Coursera, and it was excellent. I took this course because I needed to learn about GIS and improve my research and future career. Thanks to UC Davis and Mr. Santos (The professor), It was super easy to learn and understand GIS Basics. If you want to start using GIS, I highly recommend you to take this course.

교육 기관: henloy A

2018년 8월 22일

Excellent course. learnt a lot from it . It is a good course for beginners. I would just like to add that if you could put in a note at the start of the course that the video demo data is not provided and the students should just try and understand rather than look for the data to join in with the instructor, that would help new students a lot

교육 기관: Sangay C

2021년 4월 21일

The course was really worth the time and effort. I got to learn quite a lot about GIS. Within that short period of time, it has covered a lot of important topic about mapping. It is really easy to understand for someone who has barely had any idea about the software. It is fun being able to test yourself at the end with the capstone project.

교육 기관: Megan M

2016년 3월 16일

Very thorough course with a great instructor. There are a few tweaks that I think would make the course even better - for example providing examples in the lectures that can be followed along at home. At the end of the day I can functionally use ArcGIS and understand many of the basic concepts to be able to apply GIS technology in my career.

교육 기관: Ulaş F T

2021년 3월 29일

Nick is a great teacher. I've used ArcMap in the past, so I was familiar with most of the learning material, and I think Nick covers them in a great way. I've also picked up some extra tricks like spatial join and labeling options in cartography. This course covers the entire basics and is a great starting point for anyone getting into GIS.

교육 기관: Austin D

2019년 5월 22일

This course was great for a first time GIS student. The content level was just right, it introduced me to ArcGIS and showed me how it works, and ultimately, what it does. The course allowed me to take things at my own pace (while keeping me on track) as well as provide labs at the end of each week to practice the skills learned. Nice work!

교육 기관: Debabrata C

2018년 5월 29일

Great course - well designed and organized. The instructor does an excellent job explaining the theoretical concepts in an easily understandable manner. Recommended for anyone who wants to get started with GIS.

A request to the UC Davis, would you please consider offering a similar MOOC on "Remote Sensing", "GOINT" and ArcGIS Server?

Thanks

교육 기관: Jacqueline C

2018년 11월 26일

Videos are excellent and the three early assignments are really helpful. As a complete novice I was able to follow. The final assignment is quite challenging for novices, but I was able to complete it by reviewing the videos again. I did not use any other material outside the course, but may invest in the recommended text book now.

교육 기관: Hannah J G

2018년 5월 8일

I like how the basics of GIS are taught in this course. They are easy to follow and understand. The practice assignments are very helpful to me since I easily learn and remember something when I do it myself. The assignments allows me to practice on my own and I have something to compare my work with so i'll know where to improve.

교육 기관: Jorge A A B

2018년 3월 12일

This course is really good as it provides you with all the tools necessary in order to start the journey into becoming a GIS analyst. I wish I had taken this course before in order to fully understand several other functions that I've seen will become pretty handy soon such as map books, data frames, rendering, queries and others.

교육 기관: Ang Z W

2020년 7월 26일

Very good introduction to GIS. This will definitely get you more interested to learn more. Videos and tutorials are also very insightful. Highly highly recommend, especially for anyone in the environmental field, or anyone who really just wishes to upgrade themselves with what i feel would be a rather important skill set to have.

교육 기관: Nikoletta S

2017년 5월 27일

Very nice course structure! Nice presentations, explicit instructions, the assignments every week are a must to digest the knowlede and their instructions are easily comprehensible. Lastly, the educator is perfect for the job, amazing teacher!

Very nice choice to learn how to navigate around GIS, perform analyses and produce maps.

교육 기관: DAVID V

2019년 4월 12일

Awesome, particularly for an old school water resources engineer I have tried many flavors of GIS in some form or another. I always stayed away from ArcGIS because I managed to use more specialized tools like WMS by Aquaveo among others. I never knew beforehand that the instructor was into hydrology, that is a huge bonus for me!

교육 기관: C Q D C

2020년 2월 19일

This course was easy to follow and very informative. It helps walk you through the very basics of downloading ArcGIS (like which versions, the steps to download it, etc) and takes you all the way to creating a map that is ready to be presented to the public. Everything is very well explained. I would recommend this course 100%.

교육 기관: 吴陶樱

2018년 5월 30일

I'm majoring in GIS for master's degree, but I didn't take it as my major for bachelor's degree, so I lack fundamentals of GIS a lot, and this course builds the fundamentals of GIS for me, a very useful course. If you want to learn something about ArcGIS, this course is really helpful! I'll keep learning this specialization.