Chevron Left
Fundamentals of GIS(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Fundamentals of GIS 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,229개의 평가
1,282개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

최상위 리뷰

VM
2020년 10월 4일

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

BJ
2018년 12월 27일

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of GIS의 1,240개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Victoria M

2017년 7월 20일

A great introduction to GIS. The lecture material is clear and easy to follow with weekly assignments making good practice for theory learnt. Nick is a great communicator and his passion for GIS shines through. I've thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to the next module in the specialisation.

교육 기관: William A

2016년 5월 29일

This is an excellent introduction to GIS and ArcGIS, especially if you are a professional that needs to start learning GIS while balancing work. I am taking the entire speciality, which is really worth doing--four weeks is not enough for this field. The instructor and materials are thoughtful and clear.

교육 기관: Raden M A

2020년 6월 4일

Really good course to demonstrate the basic elements of GIS, perfect introductory for those who never have any experience in GIS. Maybe the course could improve if the final assignment is not really focused on proprietary software and let students complete the assignment using open source alternatives.

교육 기관: Andrei D N

2016년 10월 23일

Wonderfully structured ! This course helped me start with GIS from scratch and walked me through up to a point when I was able to search for data, evaluate and analyze data and make my own map files.

Recommend for beginners and self taught intermediates who need to grasp some core principles correctly.

교육 기관: Rishabh S

2019년 3월 11일

Thanks a lot to University of California, In India we don't use GIS in City Gas distribution industry, but after learning this course I get to know the importance of this software. And providing free version for the student help to experiment with the software at my own pace.

Thanks a lot to Coursera

교육 기관: Himanshu s

2020년 3월 4일

It is very good course for learning the basics of GIS as this course provide the important information that is required to learn GIS. Videos provided are quite descriptive which are easy to understand and assignments also helpful to understand the concept and help to be familiar with the Arcmap.

교육 기관: Alex B

2020년 11월 1일

Excellent overview course providing exactly the right amount of detail to feel like you've got a good foundation, without ever making you wonder if a section is more specialised, or more basic than you need. Good, balanced assessment structure - enjoyed the opportunity to peer review at the end.

교육 기관: wamunyima k

2020년 4월 3일

This journey has been good for me especially lessons by our lecturer Nick Santos gives very clear and descriptive explanations. Its very interesting to lean this course. its really helpful to me, wish my friend can join me, because this course is not common but can be applied in all the sectors

교육 기관: Luke F

2020년 5월 4일

Good introduction to GIS. I thought I knew the fundamentals because I've played around with QGIS before and made some simple maps, but this course was more rigorous and taught me some GIS tools, standards and things to watch out for when geoprocessing that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise.

교육 기관: Lourdes J

2018년 5월 11일

This was a great refresher course for me. it goes beyond basics to discuss troubleshooting ArcMap, sharing the map on the web, implementing a variety of symoblogy types, geoprocessing (spatial joins, etc.) your data, and making map books, all with practicality AND proper procedure in mind.

교육 기관: Thomas L

2017년 7월 24일

Incredible course- extremely informative and does a spectacular job at preparing one for other specialties in GIS. This introductory course opens doors for further study in GIS, Urban Planning, and Environmental Policy and Law, and allows a functional understanding of the basics of ArcGIS.

교육 기관: Denise P

2016년 5월 15일

Easy to understand overview of basic GIS concepts and how to apply them in ArcGIS. The short videos fit into a busy day and can be slipped in between work and home life. Forums are easily accessible with helpful input from the instructor as well as experienced students. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Kiran K G

2020년 2월 11일

It is the best course which covers all the essential basics which you need to know about GIS as a beginner. I highly recommend this course if you have 5-6 hours per week. You will appreciate this course once you complete it. I am looking forward to the next module in this specialization.

교육 기관: Andrew K

2019년 11월 4일

Great introduction to the basic concepts of GIS. I took a GIS class in undergrad roughly eight years ago and wanted to brush up, and this class definitely helped with that. I recommend buying the textbook they recommend having as it gives extra practice than what is offered in the class.

교육 기관: Zoran R

2019년 3월 11일

I have to say that this is one great course. I learned the basic of GIS, and everything I need for my first steps as a GIS analyst. I will certainly continue with mu education, and finish all five GIS specialization courses. Thank you very much for knowledge I receive during this course.

교육 기관: David H

2020년 10월 26일

Nick is a great instructor. He explains everything very clearly and the lessons proceed in a good progression that builds on the last topic covered. Coursera's platform works well, though there are sometimes some refresh issues it generally works well and is easy to use as a student.

교육 기관: MD Z S

2020년 6월 12일

Those who are keen to learning GIS, this is a must course to enroll. The instructor, Nick Santos is absolutely amazing and anyone would definitely enjoy learning from him. This course will not only make the basics of GIS robus but also make you step up learning GIS more to the depth

교육 기관: Chris C

2018년 2월 14일

This is a great course to understand the fundamentals of GIS. While you may feel lost and confused at certain times, don't worry as it will all come together when you complete your peer-reviewed assignment, provided you are motivated enough to seek out the solutions to your errors.

교육 기관: Jacqueline J

2020년 9월 1일

For someone new to computer oriented classes I am glad that this was a "your pace" kind of class. The instructor did a good job explaining the course and the "homework" or projects through the course helped me succeed in the peer reviewed final assignment. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

교육 기관: Rebecca R

2020년 7월 20일

Highly practical content, focussing on how to use ArcGIS - toured many of the features and capabilities within this software as well as covering basic understanding of modern GIS. Assignments provided really good practical experience, they were well thought out and well explained.

교육 기관: Laura M

2016년 8월 7일

This course is a good introduction for anyone beginning to work with GIS, because it starts from the very basics. The course has a great format and content; it's one of the best I've taken on Coursera. The tutorial assignments and project are great for practicing the concepts.

교육 기관: Keshav R

2020년 4월 8일

This one of the best course in Coursera in the field of Geographic Information System. The course materials are up to date and the instructor is also very qualified and his ways of teaching is awesome. I strongly recommend this course to everyone who are involved in this field.

교육 기관: Talita N T

2020년 8월 26일

The course was very good for me! I have been working with GIS for many years and even so I learned some ArcMap functions that I didn't even know existed. Nick is super didactic and even those who do not have English with a native language can understand. Thanks for the course.

교육 기관: James C

2016년 4월 28일

This course was perfect for just getting into GIS. I have taken a few entry level GIS courses and the videos / practical application that this course provided was some of the easiest to comprehend. Thank you for all of the material and I'm looking forward to my next class!

교육 기관: Cristian R V K

2018년 4월 10일

Excellent course. The lessons were clear. The progression system is on point. The assignments were well designed and really got me motivated to continue. Highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely taking on the second course of the series. Thanks to the team behind this.