Chevron Left
Fundamentals of GIS(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 데이비스 캠퍼스의 Fundamentals of GIS 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,916개의 평가
1,533개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

최상위 리뷰

A

2021년 5월 16일

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM

2020년 10월 4일

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of GIS의 1,499개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Luis C S

2018년 4월 19일

Here, instructor Nick Santos can teach an absolute GIS beginner enough concepts to start creating professional-quality maps by the end of the course. The instructional videos are clear and have a high production value. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to start using ArcGIS to start or supplement their careers.

교육 기관: KARNATI S R

2020년 5월 19일

Before starting this course I had no idea about GIS but now I am totally familiar and can work on GIS. The instructor helped and supported till the end of course. Now my interest towards GIS increased because of this course. The best part is only this course provides with licensed ArcGIS software to work on the full course.

교육 기관: James W O

2020년 5월 8일

After trying several courses on GIS, in this course, I finally got a course that as given me the foundation i have always wanted. I feel I can now build on this to develop my skills in spatial analysis. The instructors and especially Nick are great-they have structured the course in such a way that anybody can easily follow

교육 기관: Teriann B

2021년 6월 15일

I absolutely enjoyed completing this course! Nick did a fantastic job with the explainer videos - they were short but to the point. The tutorial assignments were also very easy to follow, as they included very detailed steps to follow. The course adequately prepared me to successfully pass the final quiz and map project.

교육 기관: Maria d V

2018년 5월 7일

Everything is very nicely explained. I love that you can both watch the video's and get the text belonging to it. Also the assignments are good to follow. However, sometimes there is a question in the assignment and then there is no answer. I would have liked it if the answer would be included somewhere in the end or so.

교육 기관: GABRIEL I B B

2019년 11월 22일

A great introductory course in GIS! At first I thought it was too easy, but when you get to week 4 and work on the final assignment, everything that was taught will be utilize for you to finish the assignment and it is really challenging. All in all a complete, well thought of and challenging introductory course in GIS.

교육 기관: Hiyas C

2021년 6월 3일

A​s an introductory course on GIS, the course is quite easy and the assessments address the objectives of the course. I just wish I learned that the data being shown in the video can be downloaded early on so I can digest and remember the steps in ArcGIS; ​I only found this out on week 4. Great job UC Davis Team!

교육 기관: Laura E P

2020년 5월 12일

I am part of a wildlife field project with a small budget. I wanted to be able to start analyzing our GPS-GSM data myself. With these fundamentals, I am able to start. I thought the course structure was great and really benefited from taking this course. I look forward to the next course in the specialization.

교육 기관: Safuwan A

2016년 10월 5일

I studied GIS & Remote sensing in the university, but it never became meaningful to me until now.

With real world experience modified into tuition and interactive learning and practices; its just lovely.

I have really got a feel of GIS and I want more of it again & again...

Kudos to the team.

I am much obliged !!!

교육 기관: Martin D

2016년 11월 23일

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain knowledge and learn some basic skills in GIS. Like the name of the course suggests, it gives you a sound foundation to build on. The lecturer, Mr Nick Santos, has a real talent in teaching and does a fantastic job in sharing his passion for GIS.

교육 기관: Andriambolantsoa R

2016년 3월 22일

This is an excellent course for anyone starting with GIS. It covers all the bases you need to know to make your first map and share it with the world. It also in the way covers the most important thing in GIS : making selection.

The course is well structured and easy to follow. I highly recommend this course

교육 기관: Victoria M

2017년 7월 20일

A great introduction to GIS. The lecture material is clear and easy to follow with weekly assignments making good practice for theory learnt. Nick is a great communicator and his passion for GIS shines through. I've thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to the next module in the specialisation.

교육 기관: William A

2016년 5월 29일

This is an excellent introduction to GIS and ArcGIS, especially if you are a professional that needs to start learning GIS while balancing work. I am taking the entire speciality, which is really worth doing--four weeks is not enough for this field. The instructor and materials are thoughtful and clear.

교육 기관: Raden M A

2020년 6월 4일

Really good course to demonstrate the basic elements of GIS, perfect introductory for those who never have any experience in GIS. Maybe the course could improve if the final assignment is not really focused on proprietary software and let students complete the assignment using open source alternatives.

교육 기관: Andrei D N

2016년 10월 23일

Wonderfully structured ! This course helped me start with GIS from scratch and walked me through up to a point when I was able to search for data, evaluate and analyze data and make my own map files.

Recommend for beginners and self taught intermediates who need to grasp some core principles correctly.

교육 기관: David K

2021년 2월 14일

Very thorough introduction to GIS. I really enjoyed this learning style where you are able to take notes directly from the lecture video clips. Hands on assignments were great for actually having to figure out problems and apply the skills you just learned in the lectures. Definitely would recommend.

교육 기관: Rishabh S

2019년 3월 11일

Thanks a lot to University of California, In India we don't use GIS in City Gas distribution industry, but after learning this course I get to know the importance of this software. And providing free version for the student help to experiment with the software at my own pace.

Thanks a lot to Coursera

교육 기관: Himanshu s

2020년 3월 4일

It is very good course for learning the basics of GIS as this course provide the important information that is required to learn GIS. Videos provided are quite descriptive which are easy to understand and assignments also helpful to understand the concept and help to be familiar with the Arcmap.

교육 기관: Alex B

2020년 11월 1일

Excellent overview course providing exactly the right amount of detail to feel like you've got a good foundation, without ever making you wonder if a section is more specialised, or more basic than you need. Good, balanced assessment structure - enjoyed the opportunity to peer review at the end.

교육 기관: wamunyima k

2020년 4월 3일

This journey has been good for me especially lessons by our lecturer Nick Santos gives very clear and descriptive explanations. Its very interesting to lean this course. its really helpful to me, wish my friend can join me, because this course is not common but can be applied in all the sectors

교육 기관: Luke F

2020년 5월 4일

Good introduction to GIS. I thought I knew the fundamentals because I've played around with QGIS before and made some simple maps, but this course was more rigorous and taught me some GIS tools, standards and things to watch out for when geoprocessing that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise.

교육 기관: Lourdes J

2018년 5월 11일

This was a great refresher course for me. it goes beyond basics to discuss troubleshooting ArcMap, sharing the map on the web, implementing a variety of symoblogy types, geoprocessing (spatial joins, etc.) your data, and making map books, all with practicality AND proper procedure in mind.

교육 기관: Thomas L

2017년 7월 24일

Incredible course- extremely informative and does a spectacular job at preparing one for other specialties in GIS. This introductory course opens doors for further study in GIS, Urban Planning, and Environmental Policy and Law, and allows a functional understanding of the basics of ArcGIS.

교육 기관: Denise P

2016년 5월 15일

Easy to understand overview of basic GIS concepts and how to apply them in ArcGIS. The short videos fit into a busy day and can be slipped in between work and home life. Forums are easily accessible with helpful input from the instructor as well as experienced students. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Kiran K G

2020년 2월 11일

It is the best course which covers all the essential basics which you need to know about GIS as a beginner. I highly recommend this course if you have 5-6 hours per week. You will appreciate this course once you complete it. I am looking forward to the next module in this specialization.