Chevron Left
Politics and Economics of International Energy(으)로 돌아가기

파리 정치 대학의 Politics and Economics of International Energy 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,501개의 평가
376개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Energy issues have always been important in international relations, but in recent years may have become even more important than in the past due to the widespread awareness of existing limits to energy sources and negative climate impacts. The course discusses global trends in energy consumption and production, various available scenarios for potential developments in the coming decades, the availability of oil reserves and the evolution of the oil industry. It then discusses natural gas and highlights the differences between oil and gas. It will also discuss renewable energy sources, nuclear energy and EU energy policy. The course aims at providing students whose main interest is in international relations a background on energy resources, technology and economic realities to allow them to correctly interpret the political impact of current developments. It also aims at providing students, who already have a technical background in energy science or engineering, with the broad global view of energy issues that will allow them to better understand the social, economic and political impact of their technical knowledge. ABOUT THE INSTRUCTOR : Giacomo Luciani Scientific Advisor for the Master in International Energy at the Paris School of International Affairs (PSIA) Sciences Po, Giacomo Luciani is also Adjunct Professor at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva and Director of the Executive Master in International Oil and Gas Leadership. For the period 2010-13 he was appointed Princeton University Global Scholar, attached to the Woodrow Wilson School and the Department of Near Eastern Studies. His research focuses on the political economy of the Middle East and North Africa and on global energy issues. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND : The course requires no special scientific, mathematical or economic background; all key concepts are clearly and elementarily explained. It is expected that it will be of interest to undergraduate and graduate students in schools where an equivalent course is not offered (this being the case for the vast majority of schools). USPC Sorbonne Paris Cité Supported by Université Sorbonne Paris Cité IDEX Investissements d'Avenir Funded by Investissements d'Avenir - 'ANR. Info : Course content : Licence Creative Commons BY NC SA...

최상위 리뷰

DP
2016년 9월 10일

Excellent delivery.\n\nFantastic external sources with clear and precise explanations from a graphical viewpoint.\n\nGreat range of industry expertise and professionals within the appropriate fields.

RJ
2017년 8월 2일

With this course I have been able to better understand the role of energy in the development of the countries, and in a clear and simple way I have managed to understand how renewable energies work.

필터링 기준:

Politics and Economics of International Energy의 372개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Bruno I

2020년 4월 29일

1.5x

교육 기관: Assylzhan Z

2019년 8월 6일

:)

교육 기관: Masoud A

2021년 4월 19일

As much I have enjoyed the course I was truly getting frustrated because of the manner in which some of the course assessments were set. I have embarked on this course primarily for my background which is related to the energy industry and also for the joy of learning. This course was peculiar when compared to other similar Coursera courses ( I have done more than 22 courses), for the following reasons: first; students were not allowed to see assignment results, second; Assignments were given two attempts whereas other courses allow 3 attempts, third; students can retake the assignment if not passed the first time after 168 hours, other courses after 8 hours. Despite all these discrepancies, I did not find them very annoying because it makes sense to create some sort of challenge and lift the bar so as to give the course some sort of value. Especially that when courses are made easy, we see the enrollment of low-caliber students who do not mind putting down anything as a contribution and still get away with them, sometimes to the extent the course loses its value and credibility. Despite that, I resent the idea of playing clever in order to make the questions look more difficult, exactly the manner in which the professor of this course has put some of the questions just to make them challenging. It is never difficult to make anybody fail an exam, simply by playing clever. In fact, I can mess around and put a specific clever test question for the professor himself in his field and I will be confident that he will fail the test. Professor Giacomo Luciani might be a good researcher and expert in his field but certainly a failure as a successful teacher.

교육 기관: Panos T

2020년 4월 15일

Very good course.I recommend it if you want a full introductory to all sources of energy.I came here because i wanted to learn more about solar and wind energy but i ended up liking more the classes about oil and gas (very fascinating) .Also i liked that at the end of each week the prof had interviews with professionals,this gives you a different view on the topics, less academic but more practical.

Very good prof i liked him, good english and when he talks somehow you know that he knows,liked his energy.I could say that i rated it 4 stars and not 5 because you wont learn something too practical that you can lets say use it on your job right away, but i do not think that actually such a course exists on this field.Generally you take a very good peak of how the world of energy moves.(note that the course is 6 years ago)

Thank you for this course.

교육 기관: Mohamed F

2020년 10월 11일

Professor Luciani delivers an informative course on global energy trends, decarbonization policies, renewable and non-renewable energy, energy security, and IEA's future expectations of trends based on new policies. A lot of additional helpful resources are provided.

A few interviews make up part of the course. Some interviewees had heavy accents which made it difficult to follow. A few videos were substantially long for a MOOC as well. For some tests you only get 2 chances before being able to try again after an entire week (incorrect answers are not displayed). But overall recommended for anyone who wants to learn about the current energy market and possible future scenarios.

교육 기관: MOHAMMAD N

2019년 3월 18일

The course is very helpful for those who wish to learn the Energy scenarios across the globe. The current push towards renewables and the challenges it faces from the conventional sources of energy can be understood quite well. The constrains of Gas energy and the impediments for Nuclear energy is also well explained. The connect of energy demand & supply with Politics i.e. the Geopolitics of energy, has given a new dimension to learning about energy.

The course however may be updated with recent updates across the globe.

I would like to sincerely Thank Prof Giacomo Luciani for this course.

교육 기관: Merih K

2020년 4월 17일

It really helped me to gain wider perspective in terms of environmental approach. Because as an environmental engineer I only studied how to improve a situation or what's harmful to the environment. Although I started to this course to understand oil products, I found more than that in terms of comprehensive approach for both environment, political, economic and social aspects. The course is beginner level but the more you digging than given resources, the more can be achieved. As a cons, it took longer than I expected.

교육 기관: Marta W

2020년 6월 27일

The course is rich in knowledge, allowing to understand all aspects of international energy issues. The lectures are informative and introduce all relevant concepts. However some weeks have been oversaturated with the amount of content. Also not all the exteral links were available (revision would be useful). However, overall I am glad that I've taken this couse. I've certainly enriched my knowledge on the topic of international energy.

교육 기관: Johan B

2019년 9월 10일

Great course!

In the oil section, I would have liked a little more insight into heavy oil (which is abundant in Venezuela for instance) and 'sweet' low-sulfur oil which is used to make Diesel and the implication this has for a particular country. Why this concern? Because we always talk about oil abundant countries but we often neglect that there are different types of oil which can have very different implications ...

교육 기관: Denia N

2021년 5월 19일

Very interesting course, I appreciate the topics and congrats to professor Giacomo and all team members.

Although some topics are out of date. We in 2021 and the course brings energy outlook 2019 and some information that today are discussed differently. At some point, it confused me to do some assessments. My recommendation is to record some new videos with updated information.

Thank you very much.

Cheers

교육 기관: Natasha C

2020년 3월 21일

Very informative and well-explained by the professor. However, there were several resources that were not available (broken links, restricted data), as well as resources that were outdated. It would have been a lot more relevant if the course materials were up to date. Nevertheless, a good course that taught me a lot! The interviews were quite insightful. Thanks to the team who put this MOOC together.

교육 기관: chung k

2018년 7월 7일

Great course! This is recommended for anyone who is looking for courses on energy. This course includes information from oil, natural gas, renewable energy, and nuclear energy. Certain information and data the course provides is outdated; however, this course provides a thorough understanding and additional videos and documents for anyone who is looking for more detailed analysis.

교육 기관: Alessandro D

2017년 11월 18일

Good introduction to the Energy World and its main pillars. More focused is given on fossil fuels overview which are well explained, and also are the ones more impacting the geopolitics balances. The renewables section could be expanded to explain better the economics. Overall a very good general course and I thanks Professor and Science Po for having it available.

교육 기관: CHAMPIGNY C

2017년 4월 5일

Hello,

This course is very interesting and content are very usefull.

As improvement points I would like to mention:

1-Some videos are not anymore available

2- A general update is necessary to take into account the last years big chances and evolutions on the energy politics and economics dur to the stabilization of oil price notably and all its impacts.

교육 기관: Lampredi F

2020년 12월 12일

Given the fast evolution in the area of renewable the course is maybe a little outdated. However the dynamics behind political decisions never change. Here the course is superb. Only one note on week 3's test. May I suggest to review the questions? Looks like there are some for which multiple answers suit, depending and which lesson/ video you see

교육 기관: Andrea M

2020년 11월 13일

The course provides a broad perspective of energy and international energy relationships touching on most of the high-level industry-driven topics. Although the technical aspect is not so well developed (as it should be, being a non-technical course) the socio-economic-policy aspects are well described with suitable examples.

교육 기관: Diego A

2019년 7월 21일

I loved it, the only thing is that it would be awesome that they explain deeper the politics of petroleum. The impact of OPEC and an interesting fact is that countries do not say that their oil reserves increase because it would cause a diminish on the oil prices and so on. Great course, thanks Giacomo!

교육 기관: Sheena N

2019년 9월 8일

Very interesting insight into geopolitics of energy. It would be nice to see a more heavy focus on the application of economic theory - however, given that this is just an introduction, it did well to wet my appetite to continue researching global energy economics and politics further.

교육 기관: Diana S

2018년 11월 15일

Definitely, it needs to be outdated. There is a lot of relevant events that have happened (or have not happened I would say) since COP21 that are crucial for the energy discussion. Notwithstanding it is a very complete, detailed, well referenced and neutral course. 100% recommended.

교육 기관: Brian B

2017년 8월 2일

An excellent introduction to the subjects. Perhaps the emphasis on Europe is high in proportion to the rest of the world. Little information about developing countries.

More extra readings and references would be appreciated.

Some of the link to video resources no longer work.

교육 기관: Claudia A O B

2020년 8월 9일

El curso es bastante completo en su objetivo de enseñar política y economía en el mercado energético. Eso si le agregaría ir analizando escenarios a partir de lo aprendido, pero en general me gustó mucho el curso y las instancias de discusión

교육 기관: Brendan H

2017년 2월 6일

Overall a good introduction to the current state of global energy supply and demand. It covers basic information about the controversy of nuclear vs renewables though personally I would have liked a little more detail on this point

교육 기관: Ignacio M E

2017년 5월 18일

Excellent introduction to the issue. The only thing I miss is a chapter on the challenges that face developing countries to give their populations access to reliable and preferably non-carbon dependent energy sources

교육 기관: Grant L

2020년 10월 7일

A good intro into global political aspects linked to the energy sector.

Enjoyed the diverse topics covered and the scope of study. Exams were a good assessment tool too

교육 기관: Briac d P

2020년 11월 25일

Certaines données ne sont plus à jour et la partie "politics" a été un peu survendue mais c'est globalement intéressant et donne une bonne idée du monde de l'énergie