Chevron Left
The Global Financial Crisis(으)로 돌아가기

예일 대학교의 The Global Financial Crisis 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,359개의 평가
295개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Timothy F. Geithner and Professor Andrew Metrick survey the causes, events, policy responses, and aftermath of the recent global financial crisis....

최상위 리뷰

TS

Apr 09, 2017

Great course indeed. I was following the materials and videos of the crisis for a long time and this course perfectly summarized everthing back by data analysis. Highly recommended to all enthusiasts.

RA

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

필터링 기준:

The Global Financial Crisis의 287개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Dinesh R

May 22, 2016

a) There clearly was a huge amount of criminal behavior that contributed to the crisis. The presenters appear to approach the subject half-heartedly, and focus their energies on disproving the possibility without sufficiently examining it.

b) A lot of the review questions focus on remembering facts rather than on understanding the causes and effects. For example, what is the relevance of being able to remember that job losses at the height of the crisis were of the order of 880k a month or 200k a month??

c) It is obvious to anyone with even trivial financial expertise that the financial system today is weaker than it was before the crisis. The too big to fail are bigger today (by a large margin) and interest rates are too low (remember the search for yield was the motivation for the creation of the exotic securities which blew up the system). Secy Geithner's focus in week 8 comes across as a personal defence of his actions rather an objective analysis of what was done and should have been done.

교육 기관: Akshay U H

Mar 04, 2019

A well-paced primer on various terminology in banking and finance. But while considering the various causes - understates the risk in various financial assets, does not consider into account various factors such as human error and shady machinations in the investment banking industry(Conflict of interest, resistance to regulations), predatory lending. And does not talk about the Behind The Scenes of most of the major falls - just touches on the topics at face value which raises more questions than it answers.

교육 기관: Mike K

Jan 16, 2019

A little long and repetitive, but very in depth. Yale is by far the best at the videos and getting guest speakers that are interesting. Definitely feel well informed about the global financial crisis and the origins of financial crises in general.

교육 기관: Fahad S

Dec 10, 2018

Just completed this course in a 2-week whirlwind. The structure is very conducive to watching a couple of hours to finish half a week in one sitting, or also (if you prefer) more bite-sized portions of learning.

Andrew Metrick and Tim Geithner are highly knowledgeable and engaging teachers with a lightness of touch that conceals a masterful grasp of their subject. They use apt analogies to break down what are, in some cases, quite complex financial constructions to make them comprehensible to a lay audience (while my education was in the sciences, I consider myself a novice in economics and finance - though perhaps not any more). I found myself looking up the occasional phrase or acronym but almost every specialist term was fully defined in the lectures.

One of the highlights of the course was having a direct insight from someone who was, not just there on the ground in '07-'09, but in many ways the conductor of the US response to the crisis. Having Secretary Geithner as a lecturer initially sold me on this course, and I was not disappointed. There is a messiness to the GFC that can be overwhelming in some of the deep dives, as you might expect with such a complex historical event, but in the final lectures he brings it together with some simple (and reassuring) rules about how a government might proceed in the future, in the knowledge that crises do occur and cannot be predicted. Geithner has the bearing of a financial Confucian; quiet and thoughtful, yet exacting; emphasising fiscal and financial prudence for governments and bank-like institutions, while showing compassion and concern for those citizens that bore the brunt of the crisis. I hope and expect that some of these important teachings are enshrined and elevated to the high status that they deserve.

교육 기관: Gonzalo B V

Jan 27, 2019

Pretty good, excellent explanations and presentations!

교육 기관: Priyansh M

Jan 29, 2019

Amazing course with good flow and great insights.

교육 기관: Chandra K

Feb 07, 2019

The course gives you the clear picture of what had happened during Financial Crisis and the best part is what should have/ what action need to be taken for future crisis.

교육 기관: Paul F G

Feb 09, 2019

This was an amazing course. It is rare to have two individuals, both affected by a major event, methodically and professionally review and analyze the causes and outcomes of that event. This course is a wonderful opportunity to learn from two excellent instructors and additionally who "lived the event", to then expound upon what happened, how it happened, why it happened and hopefully now not to happen again.

교육 기관: Mahika B

Feb 08, 2019

This course is extremely helpful for those willing to know the events that led to the Global Financial Crisis. I was not aware of aspects such as the Shadow Banking System playing an important role in 2008 and how it led to the collapse of the financial market. Timothy Geithner himself explains a module which was extremely helpful.

교육 기관: Morapeli

Jan 25, 2019

Brilliantly well-presented and enlightening course.

Teaches a lot more than the Global Financial Crisis

교육 기관: Djana R

Jan 25, 2019

Very good course! Informative.

교육 기관: Mike N

Feb 19, 2019

Very good course in explaining the Crisis

교육 기관: MITSUTOSHI K

Feb 24, 2019

Great course! I am looking forward to learning a bonus track which Andrew mentioned in the course.

교육 기관: yangchun

Feb 22, 2019

It's very useful and with a clear logic of the course. And, the pronouciation of the professor is very clear, that is one of the main reason I can understand and continue the course. And the translation of content is helpful for me too. Exelent platform for leaners.

교육 기관: Isaac H

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent course!

교육 기관: Dan S

Mar 04, 2019

Great course and the understanding gained of how the financial crisis was caused is key to preventing a repeat.

교육 기관: Hari V

Dec 28, 2018

Wonderful course and Professor Metrick teaching was awesome.

교육 기관: Simon F

Aug 12, 2018

Instructors have prepared and organized course materials in a way that even learners with little knowledge in the field are able to follow. Please do spend time on the recommended readings that help paint a fuller picture of the 2008 financial crisis.

교육 기관: Rashi K A

Sep 01, 2018

This course was excellent. The short yet crisp lectures have given me a fair perspective of what came before, during and to an extent after the GFC. I feel I will greatly benefit from this knowledge.

교육 기관: Karen I

Sep 01, 2018

This is a very interesting course with a very informative professor and instructor. I just received “The Stress Test” in the mail, but have not started reading it.

교육 기관: Steven Y

Sep 07, 2018

This course covers in depth topics regarding The Global Financial Crisis of 2008-2009. The collapse of the global financial system led to a severe downtown of global economies. This course helps to understand the several key reasons as to what caused the crisis. From over-leverage in the investment banks to currency devaluation within the Euro, this course has an excellent presentation in covering these events.

교육 기관: David V

Oct 14, 2018

Professors are great speakers, well informed on the subject matter. The videos are broken into smaller chunks and the slides align well, which makes it easier to complete the exams. Overall, very pleased and learned quite a bit. The multiple choice questions seem to be the most difficult, as you really need to hunt for the answers within the video content.

교육 기관: prakash k

Sep 19, 2018

Admire

교육 기관: Igor S

Feb 10, 2017

A very interresting and usefull course.

교육 기관: Игорь

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent course for those who wants understand global economics