Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change(으)로 돌아가기

시카고대학교의 Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
234개의 평가
98개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Oct 06, 2016

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

SK

May 27, 2019

It's a very comprehensive and extremely tough course to negotiate. Some of the quiz answers are still a mystery. It has arisen the appetite of Climate Change within me, like never before.

필터링 기준:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change의 95개 리뷰 중 76~95

교육 기관: Adriano R P

Apr 21, 2016

Good points: 1) Great instructor; 2) applicable content; 3) great for physics students.

Bad points: 1) Lacking of a "Formulae booklet" to use as reminder and reference for formulas and constants - when working on the models for this course; 2) The exercises approach should be reviews, making more use of the tools available in the Coursera interface (example: Assigments in text format (discursive) should use the own coursera interface, instead make us upload .TXT or .DOC files).

Extra: I did not finish the course, the format and content do not achieve my personal objectives, as a software developer and environmentalist. But i really enjoyed the general approach and goal.

교육 기관: Alexandra T

Jan 11, 2020

An eye-opening course on climate and what we all should prepare for. Very well structured and presented, with lots of exercises to test/deepen your understanding

Unfortunately, no help from the instructors on the discussion forums, which leads to a bunch of a very confused students to "guess" the answer sometimes having no idea of what's going on in the model. Clarifying some of the questions from week 8 and perhaps being present on the discussion forums would help a lot.

교육 기관: Inkoo K

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent lecture for climate change. This lecture give me a deep insight for greenhouse effect and global warming with nice scientific tools and models. However, It's necessary to improve some instruction process to have student understand with more easy. For example, there are various instructions for using models. But sometimes, I have difficulties to understand some model.

Anyhow, I thanks to Dr. David Archer and Coursera staff.

교육 기관: James G

Mar 22, 2018

This is a great course for the non-scientist to understand the scientific mechanism and models behind climate change. I requires quite a bit of work but the lecturer explains things extremely well. Overall, some of the quizzes could be better thought through but this is a very good MOOC.

교육 기관: Ulrich R

Sep 06, 2018

Highly interesting, informative, challenging and time-consuming course, which has some frustrations when it comes to the exercises. I wish it was still maintained to iron out remaining quirks.

There appears to be no statement of accomplishment unless you buy the certificate.

교육 기관: karthikeyan

Jan 17, 2016

The slow pace and the simple language helps to comprehend the climate science very effectively. Thanks a lot for that. Use of fundamentals with very little work load per week is fun!

교육 기관: Smail K

Nov 26, 2017

Overall this is a good course. The drawbacks are that there are problems with week formulations of some questions. There is no support from course creators.

교육 기관: Julie M

Feb 23, 2018

Good course! in hindsight i wish i bought the book at the beginning/there were some written summaries/pdfs of the key points.

교육 기관: Carlos V

May 30, 2017

Great content and very good teacher! I dont give it 5 stars because there is no teaching staff support at all.

교육 기관: Jerry M

Nov 30, 2017

1.Course lectures = very good. Occasionally too brief; more detail should be provided.

교육 기관: Shahzad S

Oct 12, 2017

I appreciate the coursera .

교육 기관: Richard Z

Sep 15, 2019

An overall good course.

교육 기관: Randy K K

Sep 10, 2017

Great course!

교육 기관: Priscila F d S

Jul 14, 2018

Very good!

교육 기관: William L

Feb 03, 2016

This course is addressing a critical subject matter. The material is great. I love the math.

But these are my personal metrics: A 4-star course has a high level of student collaboration and teaching staff participation, a 5-star course has very responsive teaching staff. I love learning the material but the learning environment is disappointing.

As the course progresses to the later weeks, the inconsistency between quizzes and lectures grows. Not greatly but enough to frustrate. Some quiz questions, with multiple choice options with only one correct answer, will not accept any answer. There are a few questions which are not covered in the video lecture (or covered in later weeks). Some answers can be found in the book (but the book supposedly is not required). Some answers can be googled but the answers vary wildly between sources.

Mathematical Thinking from Stanford is the gold standard.

교육 기관: Adam H

Mar 27, 2017

It is a good course & I am grateful for any one you puts effort into making education available. The -2 stars is due to complete absence of moderators leading to a defunct discussion. Also be aware that there are a lot of peer graded assignments. Which I think work well, but do mean more work than a lot of courses. In addition you must pass all tasks, which meant I actually failed the course by getting the second top mark you can get on the last assignment despite passing all the others (a fair bit of work put in),

교육 기관: Brian W

May 06, 2017

The course was a broad overview to different areas of climate science. At the end I understood a little more deeply the mechanics of global warming, but some things could have gone in more depth. I found the quantity of assignments/quizzes to be a bit unmanageable even though some were very short. I really liked the explainer assignments. When I first saw them i thought they were going to be a bit much, but actually they were extremely helpful as they forced me to process the information learned week to week.

교육 기관: Katarina T

Jun 15, 2017

The course was much more difficult than I imagined - it required more time than the explanation suggested. For me personally, the theoretical part was often not enough to go through tests with ease. The most frustrating part was the last assignment - the scoring was not well designed (you need 9 and 10 to pass, but can get either 7 or 10). On the other hand, the course was interesting and I learned a lot. With a little improvement, it would earn 5 stars.

교육 기관: Kathy H

Mar 23, 2016

The material is very interesting. There a a huge number of quizzes over poorly explained (or not at all explained) models, which would still be an interesting challenge if the models themselves had better explanations. This has been the most frustrating Coursera class I have taken, not because of the subject difficulty, but because of the lack of adequate resources for working with the models.

교육 기관: Shanta P

May 08, 2020

The course tutor's explanations were very poor with lots of the physics justified with incomplete or partial explanations (ie lots of arm waving etc). The diagrams and graphs were hand-drawn and were of very poor explanatory quality - no indication of what the axes referred to, for example. As a result I found myself having to look up subjects referred to in lectures in the web. I found that web material was far superior and of greater depth (try NOAA for one). If you have reasonable knowledge of maths and physics (even high school level) this course is a waste of time. Half way through I dropped this course out of frustration and found a far superior MOOC from Univ of Bergen.