Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change(으)로 돌아가기

시카고대학교의 Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
385개의 평가

강좌 소개

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

최상위 리뷰

SL

2016년 10월 5일

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

RC

2020년 6월 26일

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

필터링 기준:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change의 144개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Timothy K

2020년 3월 23일

This is an outstanding introduction to climate science. It covers a wide range of disciplines in order to explain the whats and hows of our climate. Dr. Archer presents the material in a way that not only is understandable to newbies in the field, but also presents tantalizing information that makes me (and hopefully, others) want to dig deeper. My only regret is that it doesn't dive deeper.

교육 기관: Aswan K

2017년 7월 22일

Excellent introduction to the mechanics of global warming. However I think that in some places, students may benefit from animations or video clips rather than just blackboard diagrams.....for example, Coriolis acceleration, Modes of molecular vibrations.

I'm only into week 6, but I'm thoroughly enjoying the material which is a wonderful mix of high school geography, physics, and meteorology.

교육 기관: SWAYAMPRABHA R

2022년 6월 18일

AMAZING, EXCELLENT THRILLING KNOWLEDGE ENRICHING. PROF. DAVID ARCHER IS CERTAINLY AMAZING . I HAVE NEVER FOUND SUCH AN INTRUCTOR IN MOOC PLATFORM. HIS LANGUAGE, SPEAKING STYLE, EXPLANATION WITH THE HELP OF DRAWING AND OTHER BOARD WORK ARE ALL AMAZIG.

MANY THANKS TO COURSERA PLATFORM AND ITS WHOLE TEAM FOR GIVING US THE OPPORTUNITY TO GO THROUGH SUCH A GREAT COURSE.

SWAYAMPRABHA ROY

교육 기관: Don C

2021년 5월 28일

T​he course was very comprehensive and reinforced learning through frequent tests utilizing various climate models. Professor Archer presented the material in a manner which was technical without being overly so providing good depth on all the aspects of climate change. Only suggestion I have is to somehow provide feedback on exam questions missed.

교육 기관: Kevin B

2017년 4월 21일

A really useful and interesting Course.It does require a level of commitment, like anything worthwhile. When finished, you will great a great sense of achievement at having learned about a very important issue. The Lecturer is engaging and a lot of the assignments involve learning to use research grade climate modelling tools.

교육 기관: Vivek B S

2018년 1월 19일

Prof. Archer's lectures are interesting and fun. This course is useful for anyone who is interested in understanding in-depth and intricate details of climate change. The various models adds extra flavor and helps one understands the uncertainty and different scenarios which is the crux of the science.

교육 기관: Francesco L C

2020년 11월 27일

This course has been a very rich source of insights. It provides an introduction to the science behind climate change that is worthy even for researchers in affine areas. Eventually, it provides concepts, tools, and proofs for introducing the climate change issue into business frameworks.

교육 기관: Bricout_Stephanie

2017년 9월 8일

I did learn a lot of things. 2 small comments though, a bit stressful not to have enough reviewers to rate your work especially if you are late. And some quizz lack of explanations, I did not get why one was wrong. Community is fortunatly there to back you up. Many thanks to all of you.

교육 기관: Frank M

2016년 8월 12일

This is a really excellent course. Prof. Archer's lectures are clear and quite interesting, and the course is well structured. Students are also introduced to the "climatemodels.uchicago.edu" website, which provides both data and analysis tools for studying climate change.

교육 기관: Ben-Hur M P

2020년 11월 19일

This course is awesome, I liked very much (it's my first formal learning on Global Warming and Climate Changes, i'm very excited!). Keep going with materials like these, you're making a great job helping people to understand better what is happening with our planet. : )

교육 기관: Daniel S

2022년 6월 1일

G​reat review of the physics involved in the analysis of climate change and global warming. The tests need to be updated a little, and I wish it used some more math, but the course covered the basic concepts that I have heard about but never fully understood.

교육 기관: Davide M

2020년 2월 28일

This mooc allows you to acquire a solid understanding of Global Changes effects, starting by some theory, simple examples and lots of data models and web tools to play with. An amazing 12-weeks long course on a fearful but fascinating argument.

교육 기관: Elena Z

2020년 1월 14일

The course is easy at the beginning but getting more difficult to the end. Provided great overview of models and opportunities they give and knowledge on the interrelation of various factors and climate characteristics. Happy I took the course

교육 기관: Martin M

2020년 2월 3일

A must for anyone interested in climate change, gives you a great understanding of the scientific issues at stake and the dynamics of GHGs vs. Temperature of the planet via. online access to actual climate models.

교육 기관: Brendan C

2020년 12월 6일

A very approachable introduction to climate science and the dangers of global warming from respected ocean chemist Prof. David Archer. Good online resources in the form of climate models from U Chicago.

교육 기관: ADDEY C I

2020년 7월 24일

It is a well-taught course, which is applicable to global and regional climate scenarios, I recommend this course to climate change enthusiasts and people looking to learn something new and interesting.

교육 기관: Antonio g d

2022년 1월 4일

An excellent course in which you learn many useful things and that will hook you to study climate change and how many experiences there have been on planet earth as well as its causes. Antonio Galvan

교육 기관: Manon H

2020년 12월 11일

A clear introduction to the science of climate change. Rather heavy on the mathematical side of things, so some understanding of basic formulas and chemistry would be useful. Definitely recommend!

교육 기관: R C

2020년 6월 27일

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

교육 기관: KONTARATOU V

2022년 5월 22일

One of the best professors I have encountered in my whole academic life. His students should be very happy! Congrats on his most accurate way of explaining physical phenomena.

교육 기관: Markus M

2019년 8월 7일

This course gives a sense of the whole picture. Wisely designed, Intelligibly explained, full of metaphors and graphics. I'm grateful to David Archer. Recommend this course.

교육 기관: Mark H

2018년 2월 21일

Very nice balance of quizzes and interacting with the models. Very clear lectures. I also appreciated that Prof. Archer kept a sharp line between the known and the maybes.

교육 기관: Şeyma K

2021년 1월 27일

This course was very useful and educational. I am very satisfied. The teacher's narration was also very good. I would love to take the 2nd lesson as well.

교육 기관: S N H S

2020년 10월 15일

Thanks, Prof David Archer for teaching us. You may not know us but hope to see you face to face when I visit the US after the coronavirus pandemic.

교육 기관: OSCAR D R R

2020년 7월 24일

The course content is very complete and the explanations are excellent. The activities are enjoyable and help to the understanding of the concepts.