Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change(으)로 돌아가기

시카고대학교의 Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
221개의 평가
95개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Oct 06, 2016

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

SK

May 27, 2019

It's a very comprehensive and extremely tough course to negotiate. Some of the quiz answers are still a mystery. It has arisen the appetite of Climate Change within me, like never before.

필터링 기준:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change의 92개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Geert v d W

Sep 01, 2019

This is in two words a fantastic course. Go do it!

교육 기관: Aditya T

Feb 26, 2017

Very helpful and useful online institution.

교육 기관: Sergio D L U

Apr 02, 2018

One of the best courses on climate change.

교육 기관: elon l

May 01, 2016

Excellent introduction to climate science!

교육 기관: Frederic C

Oct 20, 2019

Very helpful and clear! Would recommend.

교육 기관: Simone R

Nov 15, 2019

Great Course! David is a very big man!

교육 기관: James W

Jan 07, 2016

Highly informative in bite sized bits.

교육 기관: Bastin J

Sep 04, 2017

A really great course!

교육 기관: Olaleye A

May 30, 2017

Simply Fantastic!

교육 기관: John N M

Jun 13, 2016

SUPERB SUPERB!!

교육 기관: Murray

Apr 26, 2016

Great course!

교육 기관: David A D V

Jan 03, 2016

ENJOYING IT!

교육 기관: IRIS L C P

Mar 23, 2019

Excellency!

교육 기관: Eñaut I E

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: Majid A

Mar 09, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: vigneshwaran

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Natanael O F B

Jul 14, 2019

amazing!

교육 기관: sergii k

May 06, 2018

best one

교육 기관: Frans S

Dec 14, 2016

Dr. David Archer has succeeded in presenting a didactic course in which complex issues like climate and weather conditions are explained in a highly schematic and clear manner for students who do not have an academic degree in either Earth sciences or physics. The series of short video's show Dr. Archer at the blackboard explaining concepts using highly schematic and easy to understand figures. Teaching in the most elementary way, almost perfect.

Completing this course also is learning by practice: there are multiple problems to solve using a wide array of models that compute the impact of greenhouse gases on temperature, humidity, ice sheets and sea levels. Finally a series of assignments require the student to explain in simple terms 'that can be understood by an 11-yr old' what are basic concepts like heat, negative feedback, fossil fuels, climate change and others. An interesting approach.

Together, this is a recommended course for anyone interested in the science behind one of the most discussed changes of our planet. A Minor comment is that the videos would benefit by some change of perspective, introducing here and there images or video's that illustrate the impact of climate change on Earth systems.

교육 기관: Adriano R P

Apr 21, 2016

Good points: 1) Great instructor; 2) applicable content; 3) great for physics students.

Bad points: 1) Lacking of a "Formulae booklet" to use as reminder and reference for formulas and constants - when working on the models for this course; 2) The exercises approach should be reviews, making more use of the tools available in the Coursera interface (example: Assigments in text format (discursive) should use the own coursera interface, instead make us upload .TXT or .DOC files).

Extra: I did not finish the course, the format and content do not achieve my personal objectives, as a software developer and environmentalist. But i really enjoyed the general approach and goal.

교육 기관: Alexandra T

Jan 11, 2020

An eye-opening course on climate and what we all should prepare for. Very well structured and presented, with lots of exercises to test/deepen your understanding

Unfortunately, no help from the instructors on the discussion forums, which leads to a bunch of a very confused students to "guess" the answer sometimes having no idea of what's going on in the model. Clarifying some of the questions from week 8 and perhaps being present on the discussion forums would help a lot.

교육 기관: Inkoo K

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent lecture for climate change. This lecture give me a deep insight for greenhouse effect and global warming with nice scientific tools and models. However, It's necessary to improve some instruction process to have student understand with more easy. For example, there are various instructions for using models. But sometimes, I have difficulties to understand some model.

Anyhow, I thanks to Dr. David Archer and Coursera staff.

교육 기관: James G

Mar 22, 2018

This is a great course for the non-scientist to understand the scientific mechanism and models behind climate change. I requires quite a bit of work but the lecturer explains things extremely well. Overall, some of the quizzes could be better thought through but this is a very good MOOC.

교육 기관: Ulrich R

Sep 06, 2018

Highly interesting, informative, challenging and time-consuming course, which has some frustrations when it comes to the exercises. I wish it was still maintained to iron out remaining quirks.

There appears to be no statement of accomplishment unless you buy the certificate.