학생용
Chevron Left
Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change(으)로 돌아가기

시카고대학교의 Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
284개의 평가
113개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

최상위 리뷰

SL

Oct 06, 2016

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

RC

Jun 27, 2020

A detailed and really knowledgable course. The course structure and the knowledge shared by Prof. David made learning simple and interesting. The assignments are also very well structured.

필터링 기준:

Global Warming I: The Science and Modeling of Climate Change의 111개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Olaleye A

May 30, 2017

Simply Fantastic!

교육 기관: John M

Jun 13, 2016

SUPERB SUPERB!!

교육 기관: Murray

Apr 26, 2016

Great course!

교육 기관: David A D V

Jan 03, 2016

ENJOYING IT!

교육 기관: Zhu H

Jul 22, 2020

Good course

교육 기관: IRIS L C P

Mar 23, 2019

Excellency!

교육 기관: Eñaut I E

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: Majid A

Mar 09, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: vigneshwaran

Sep 23, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Natanael O F B

Jul 14, 2019

amazing!

교육 기관: sergii k

May 06, 2018

best one

교육 기관: INDLA P K

May 15, 2020

OK

교육 기관: Frans S

Dec 14, 2016

Dr. David Archer has succeeded in presenting a didactic course in which complex issues like climate and weather conditions are explained in a highly schematic and clear manner for students who do not have an academic degree in either Earth sciences or physics. The series of short video's show Dr. Archer at the blackboard explaining concepts using highly schematic and easy to understand figures. Teaching in the most elementary way, almost perfect.

Completing this course also is learning by practice: there are multiple problems to solve using a wide array of models that compute the impact of greenhouse gases on temperature, humidity, ice sheets and sea levels. Finally a series of assignments require the student to explain in simple terms 'that can be understood by an 11-yr old' what are basic concepts like heat, negative feedback, fossil fuels, climate change and others. An interesting approach.

Together, this is a recommended course for anyone interested in the science behind one of the most discussed changes of our planet. A Minor comment is that the videos would benefit by some change of perspective, introducing here and there images or video's that illustrate the impact of climate change on Earth systems.

교육 기관: Adriano R P

Apr 21, 2016

Good points: 1) Great instructor; 2) applicable content; 3) great for physics students.

Bad points: 1) Lacking of a "Formulae booklet" to use as reminder and reference for formulas and constants - when working on the models for this course; 2) The exercises approach should be reviews, making more use of the tools available in the Coursera interface (example: Assigments in text format (discursive) should use the own coursera interface, instead make us upload .TXT or .DOC files).

Extra: I did not finish the course, the format and content do not achieve my personal objectives, as a software developer and environmentalist. But i really enjoyed the general approach and goal.

교육 기관: Alexandra T

Jan 11, 2020

An eye-opening course on climate and what we all should prepare for. Very well structured and presented, with lots of exercises to test/deepen your understanding

Unfortunately, no help from the instructors on the discussion forums, which leads to a bunch of a very confused students to "guess" the answer sometimes having no idea of what's going on in the model. Clarifying some of the questions from week 8 and perhaps being present on the discussion forums would help a lot.

교육 기관: Inkoo K

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent lecture for climate change. This lecture give me a deep insight for greenhouse effect and global warming with nice scientific tools and models. However, It's necessary to improve some instruction process to have student understand with more easy. For example, there are various instructions for using models. But sometimes, I have difficulties to understand some model.

Anyhow, I thanks to Dr. David Archer and Coursera staff.

교육 기관: James G

Mar 22, 2018

This is a great course for the non-scientist to understand the scientific mechanism and models behind climate change. I requires quite a bit of work but the lecturer explains things extremely well. Overall, some of the quizzes could be better thought through but this is a very good MOOC.

교육 기관: Ulrich R

Sep 06, 2018

Highly interesting, informative, challenging and time-consuming course, which has some frustrations when it comes to the exercises. I wish it was still maintained to iron out remaining quirks.

There appears to be no statement of accomplishment unless you buy the certificate.

교육 기관: Maximilian H

Jul 30, 2020

It was a challenging and demanding online course but you also could learn a lot. The videos where not too long and the questions in between were very helpful. For an online course it was very well structured although I missed the personal contact with fellow students.

교육 기관: karthikeyan

Jan 17, 2016

The slow pace and the simple language helps to comprehend the climate science very effectively. Thanks a lot for that. Use of fundamentals with very little work load per week is fun!

교육 기관: Smail K

Nov 26, 2017

Overall this is a good course. The drawbacks are that there are problems with week formulations of some questions. There is no support from course creators.

교육 기관: Julie M

Feb 23, 2018

Good course! in hindsight i wish i bought the book at the beginning/there were some written summaries/pdfs of the key points.

교육 기관: Carlos V

May 30, 2017

Great content and very good teacher! I dont give it 5 stars because there is no teaching staff support at all.

교육 기관: Jerry M

Nov 30, 2017

1.Course lectures = very good. Occasionally too brief; more detail should be provided.