Chevron Left
Grammar and Punctuation(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Grammar and Punctuation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
14,438개의 평가
4,424개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

최상위 리뷰

OI

Jul 03, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

KG

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

필터링 기준:

Grammar and Punctuation의 4,374개 리뷰 중 3551~3575

교육 기관: James H S J

Jun 08, 2017

This is a great introductory course for refreshing one's memory or learning basic grammar rules. Unfortunately, the 7-day free trial option does not allow the same level of access to the discussion board assignments as those students who pay for the course. Based on my experience, my classmates were unable to see the content that I posted; however, I was able to provide feedback and add private comments to their posts. Also, with the free version, some of the supplemental practice exercises did not open, but all of the lecture videos, quizzes, and course assignments functioned properly. If you are taking the course as a refresher, then you can make it through the class before the free trial period ends, just note that it does take some time to watch all of the videos and complete the assignments. If you don't want to rush, the course is inexpensive, and the content is worth it.

교육 기관: christine j m

Feb 06, 2016

This course is really helpful especially for people wanting to write English articles better. The course outline is well laid out, videos are easy to understand, and exercises are very helpful for practicing your punctuation. The only negative point for me is how the teachers use a very strong American accent that some of the letters in a word are not pronounced anymore, like 'meanin' instead of 'meaning' and 'writin' instead of 'writing'. It doesn't really affect the teaching, though. All in all, this course helped me a lot and I recommend it to anyone wanting to improve their punctuation and review their English grammar knowledge.

교육 기관: Vidhi P

Mar 08, 2016

Even though the course was pretty basic, there were many new things I learned, especially certain tips and tricks. The lessons are simple; the examples were good for understanding and to the point. The course-content, video and audio qualities are good. Links to extra materials are also provided towards the end of each week.

I felt the assignments were too simple. They were reviewed by other students and not by the course organisers. Though peer-review is a good practice, comments from the teachers would be much appreciated. I would prefer more options for discussion on a topic, other than through the assignments alone.

교육 기관: Patricia C D M

Apr 10, 2018

I really liked this course. It helped me to understand about some grammar rules that I didn't understand before, and also made me learn new things. The methodology is so interisting, it made me search more and more information about the English grammar before I submit or analyse any classmate activities, because I wanted to make sure that I was doing it properly. To be honest, it is not 5 star, for me, because I believe that if it had a specialised tutor, I could feel more confident about my learning.

교육 기관: Anjali R

May 12, 2020

This course is very good with helping the learner punctuate, use the correct tenses, and form sentences with appropriate sentence structure. I would suggest making the practice exercises available in Chrome, as well. I would also suggest external monitoring of the peer-graded assignments, because if everybody is a learner, it is not necessary that everybody will critique correctly. In addition, I think most people would do the assignments out of obligation, and not out of the need to learn and review.

교육 기관: Suryakant S

Jan 19, 2016

This is should be your go to option if you are looking for brushing up / learning fundamentals of english grammar. The course material is simple , to the point and accessible to a all regardless of the level of your English fluency levels. However, this course lacks a an active discussion forum and the peer graded assignments are designed in such a way that often it is impossible to discuss doubts or explore further nuances . Other than that, the course meets all that it sets out to achieve.

교육 기관: Jodie E G

Mar 23, 2020

Instruction was clear and helpful. The practice questions were useful while learning. Some of the practice sessions were not available to me because I use Google Chrome as my browser. I also thought one of the peer review sections should be changed to match the others. The one lesson asked us to upload a file instead of just typing our responses in a box. Overall, good class. I definitely needed a refresher course, and this helped me to remember what I had learned.

교육 기관: Shubha T

Sep 03, 2017

It is an excellent platform to improve our English with enormous number of examples and practice items. It is a good way to improve the communication with people all over the globe. This improvise the confidence level, too, for a non-native English speaker. However, I was expecting to interact with the class teacher, as I wanted to confirm my understanding with her too. There is no option available where we can ask our doubts, except the initial week.

교육 기관: Gabriel O M

Mar 21, 2016

Very useful and straightforward course on the basics of grammar (but just the basics of Verb Tenses; was expecting more of it in terms of grammar topics - Passive voice, Conditionals, Reported speech etc.)

It's basically a Punctuation 101 course which focuses heavily on proper sentence structure and syntax - got a great deal a good stuff out of it, though. Warmly recommend it to everyone who is not confident in his basic writing skills.

교육 기관: Roberto O Z

Sep 27, 2015

The course makes you learn:

a) when you have to use Simple Past or Present Perfect;

b) punctuation

c) how to write in clear way.

There are problems with IT platform: video often stops suddenly and sometimes it is difficult to understand where you are arrived in the course. Besides, sometimes you don't immediately understand what you have to do for passing to next step of the course.

To sum up, the teacher is good. IT staff could do better.

교육 기관: Josh M

Aug 15, 2017

I would rate this course with 5 stars; however, I think that an introduction to verbs, nouns and adjectives is a necessary component. In order to grasp the first module about verb tenses, I had to do some background research on different grammatical structures. I wish that this had been covered in the beginning. I have found the given resources to be quite valuable, and I am looking forward to enrolling in the essay writing course.

교육 기관: Ingrid d s o

Jul 14, 2020

I appreciate the comments from other students (it helps me a lot), but I dont fell like I'm either very or well prepared to avaliate the work of others. So, this is my only one negative point. Despite the fact we needed to move to another page or navigator, I really enjoyed doing the extra exercises. At last, I think would be better that those extra exercises were here on coursera platform. That's all.

교육 기관: Vineeth K E

Jan 10, 2016

Before I started this course, I used to do a lot of guess work while editing my essays. I relied on proofreading program to get review my essays. This course has helped me understand crucial parts of sentences; thereby, enabling me with greater confidence to edit my essays.

Although this course is intended for beginners, it would certainly help experienced hands refresh their skills. Try it!

교육 기관: Muskan K

May 24, 2020

This was a very helpful course. I learnt punctuations, transition words, conjunctions, essay writing, parallel writing and various other topics that will improve my writing style. Initially, they asked an introductory question which I was facing some trouble to write. But after this course i feel confident in writing, not only an introductory paragraph, but any paragraph or essay.

교육 기관: Ibrahim A O A

Feb 01, 2020

It's a pleasure to thank UCLA for teaching for everyone to learn to acquire a new language.

Secondly, I thank all the working teachers who carry on their shoulders the most honorable message throughout history, hoping that knowledge will reach the corners of the earth.

and a next times we are want to courses about information technology for develoe our skills until find job easily.

교육 기관: Pam L

Sep 05, 2016

Paced perfectly for me. A great review as my knowledge of what underlies our language system is well hidden after years of use. As I embark upon a class in Spanish, I hope this thorough look at English conventions may help me in learning this second language. My motivation centers on my grandson's enrollment in a dual immersion school; helping him with homework is a challenge.

교육 기관: Shahin K

Aug 23, 2020

It was great. But would have been better if watching additional videos was not made mandatory for firefox. And providing extra material for practicing would be nice, for we could make our base on grammar & punctuation stronger that way. Overall I am happy with this course and Instructor. The course was well organized. Only lacuna I find is post material for practicing.

교육 기관: Miriam R

Feb 02, 2017

This is really good. I expected a tedious review of my grammar subjects from grade school and high school. I am pleasantly relieved that the emphasis is on the areas that will be commonly used in academic writing; that is, sentence constructions. I have learned a lot and have also discovered that my compound and complex sentence constructions do need some work.

교육 기관: Prabesh M

Aug 29, 2019

from this class,it made me proper man on doing in making the sentences right, like this is this and that's that; however, this class was cool where i got more knowledge than the school in LTC ( grammar) subject! by seeing the videos that this class had made and i understand,but something i didn't then also i got more knowledge than i thought . THANK YOU !

교육 기관: Michael D B

Sep 16, 2020

This course was great. I only subtracted 1 star because coursera’s peer review system was a little clunky. I wanted to ask follow up questions or thank peers for their feedback but didn’t seem to be able to. I’m also not sure The “discuss” button underneath the lecture video rectangle also didn’t work so I couldn’t discuss any of the content with peers.

교육 기관: Shalini Y

May 31, 2020

Overall, it was good. This course has cohesive content, but, what I feel, something is missing. It is a very short course, they have another intermediate course on grammar, though. They should include some faculty interaction in this course, as we all are at the same pace. We can't judge other person mistakes as a teacher can do this job better than us.

교육 기관: Sami L

Nov 27, 2015

A concise review of punctuation and (some) grammar associated with punctuation rules in the grammar. A perfect choice for anyone wanting to review punctuation rules swiftly. However, those who would like to review grammar of the English language might not get all what they wanted from this course, which covers only what is relevant to punctuation.

교육 기관: Alexander V

May 02, 2016

A really helpful and detailed course. You really can go trough it for four hours and gain quite useful knowledge about the punctuation and the correct way of structuring your essay. The only recommendation I would have is to give up on the adobe flash technology for the practice tests and use java script and simple html.

Thanks for the course.

교육 기관: Ugo O

May 21, 2018

Very good step-by-step pedagogy! Learn a few things, that I will keep in mind. But, I believe this is for beginners, or people who have big issues with grammar. I can imagine this is also very good for people whose native language has nothing in common with English. I was playing the videos 2x faster, as I had understood where this was going.

교육 기관: Mohammed H

Sep 03, 2020

I enjoyed this course. Highly educational and useful. I had so much fun following the videos and completing the quizzes. I'd say I had improved a lot since I started. The problem is, some of the practicing apps in the course don't work, which made me frustrated. I hope they fix them, so the students can get the full potentials of the course.