Chevron Left
Grammar and Punctuation(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 대학교 어바인 캠퍼스의 Grammar and Punctuation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
15,833개의 평가
4,854개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

최상위 리뷰

MH
2020년 11월 5일

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
2020년 7월 2일

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

필터링 기준:

Grammar and Punctuation의 4,806개 리뷰 중 4651~4675

교육 기관: Lingfei T

2015년 11월 9일

This course is helpful and I have learned quite a bit about punctuation and sentence structures.

However, while things like tense are important, to be able to differentiate 12 tenses contributes relatively little to typical academic writing. Rather, I have had trouble with seemingly simple questions such as when to use past tense and when to use present tense in a literature review. But these aspects are probably the most useful when it comes to pracital writing. It would be helpful if these issues are addressed.

Also, the use of articles is a common weakness for a lot of students (to "the" or not to "the"). It is helpful to include this component too.

교육 기관: Kay

2016년 1월 20일

Good Course for examining some English Grammar closely

The course breaks down some aspects of English grammar and punctuation very nicely and has relevant practice exercises.

I wish the course covered a slightly wider variety of topics or went into slightly more depth of explanation. The title "grammar and punctuation" is misleading in that only a few topics are covered. However, I believe someone learning English or reviewing academic writing would definitely benefit from going through this course. I am a native speaker, and I certainly learned a few things. :)

Thank you Professor, TA's and Coursera!

교육 기관: Claire

2016년 4월 5일

It's a good course with some interesting resources. Most of the practice resources use Flash and one of the assignment submissions is inconsistent with the other submission formats. The content of the course itself is 4.5 stars. For me there is one element that I wish had an explanation or somewhere to ask about it. Instead I'll need to search the internet for an answer and hope what I find is correct!

교육 기관: Rachael H

2016년 2월 11일

I think this is a good review for someone who has the basic in English grammar; however, if you're an ESL student or English-speaking person (who need to start over in grammar).

Study first before starting this course.

A lot of the feedback in the forum, I found to be poor except when it came from an English-speaking person.

You get a lot of: " OK, Great, etc..", no real feedback.

교육 기관: Madhubanti G

2015년 10월 19일

I would have liked some more depth in the course. While the course name says "punctuation", it deals only with commas and to a small extent, with semicolons. The assignments and practice exercises need to be tougher. Also, given that this course is taken by students from all over the globe, it should mention that the "serial comma" is not mandatory in all writing styles.

교육 기관: David L

2016년 12월 11일

The course is helpful but incomplete. It does not mention dashes and colons. It also misrepresents the usage of semicolons. I have seen the idea of using a semicolon followed by a transition word taught before, but I do not think I have ever seen it done in published writing in my entire life. It strikes me as being pretentious, something to be discouraged.

교육 기관: Mohamad K M

2020년 2월 12일

Very good in punctuation and some points but it doesn't teach a lot of grammar as the title is, the training links are pretty old, and they use other sites, so it wasn't easy to use them. Good course for writing skill, anyway, it's so good for good English talkers, who doesn't trust their English writing skill.

교육 기관: Paul J M

2015년 12월 18일

A good clear examination of basic punctuation and grammar. The lectures are well presented and the exercises useful. The element which really doesn't work is the peer assessment or review. This seems intended to replace forum discussions but it is not a good substitute (and there are no forums).

교육 기관: Kunal D

2016년 1월 1일

A solid course for those who require a refresher on certain grammar rules. But, in my opinion, the course should go deeper in the different parts of the English grammar. For example, what are gerunds or infinitives? Still a good course though! I really enjoyed the teacher, as well.

교육 기관: Aida

2017년 11월 12일

The level of this course is way more basic than I expected. The reviews left previously did not succeed my expectations. It might be an interesting course for someone that is starting to write in English and wishes to have extra knowledge in a very collateral way.

교육 기관: Andrea P

2016년 3월 11일

The course is well structured, but most of the features in the exercises' pages were not working properly. I tried to access them via both my computer (macbook) and mobile phone, but in some cases I could not even complete the exercise or check the answers...

교육 기관: Emily G

2019년 1월 6일

This course was informative and valuable although lacking in character and not particularly engaging. (a Ben-Stein-Bueller aura if you know what I mean). But if you have the patience and desire to really learn this stuff, it will suffice.

교육 기관: Brandon L S

2020년 5월 26일

Very okay. I would have liked to see more video content and quizzes, rather than reading. This is a good review on the basics of grammar and punctuation, but I think you should already have some background in this before taking it.

교육 기관: Estella

2020년 3월 13일

The course is conducted well. But it can be improved better. Some reading materials, however, is not that useful and some videos are useless... More useful tips can be put into this course, it is kind of easy...

교육 기관: Takondwa N C

2020년 3월 23일

Some exercises were freezing up despite using firefox as recommended. Some long questions were not completely visible, as they slide cut them off. Otherwise, the sessions were beneficial in everyday writing.

교육 기관: Bahareh K

2016년 12월 23일

It was great but I can't continue it because I am from Iran and living there too so I can't pay and enroll next courses :(

It was just like a great starter with no purpose for me.

교육 기관: Kevin M V

2020년 9월 2일

Esta bien el curso, pero hay cosas que no explican del todo y muchos links externos para leer, no se motiva realmente al estudiante a escribir y que otros estudiantes corrijan.

교육 기관: Valeriya N

2016년 1월 19일

The information was quite was good, but the practice and assignments were too easy. Thanks for providing full explanations and a set of in-video examples for every rule.

교육 기관: ALICIA B J

2019년 3월 15일

Algunas funciones no trabajan adecuadamente, envío mis tareas y no se registra, eso hace que no pueda avanzar. No existe un soporte que ayude a resolver los problemas.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2019년 8월 28일

It provides essential information neither about punctuation nor about grammar. I would say it is too superficial. Advanced learners will not gain new knowledge.

교육 기관: Jim O

2018년 2월 22일

Nice brush up on some long-lost grammar rules. Could have been a bit more challenging considering it was created by a University of California school.

교육 기관: Gabriel B C

2020년 7월 5일

It could review some aspects from conditional sentences. In addition, there should be the option of doing the practice exercises in Safari or Chrome.

교육 기관: Casandra M

2019년 11월 4일

I wish that the lessons could have gone a bit more in depth and have more abilities to give the students practice or interactions with instructors.

교육 기관: Nilaakshi K

2017년 3월 6일

Although it should be simple enough, i found it hard to understand the material and sometimes, the videos would end without finishing the content.

교육 기관: Kelly C

2016년 2월 5일

I couldn't finish it without purchasing it, in spite of active participation and high scores on all the assignments I had access to.