Chevron Left
Guided Tour of Machine Learning in Finance(으)로 돌아가기

New York University의 Guided Tour of Machine Learning in Finance 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

3.8
별점
623개의 평가
204개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course aims at providing an introductory and broad overview of the field of ML with the focus on applications on Finance. Supervised Machine Learning methods are used in the capstone project to predict bank closures. Simultaneously, while this course can be taken as a separate course, it serves as a preview of topics that are covered in more details in subsequent modules of the specialization Machine Learning and Reinforcement Learning in Finance. The goal of Guided Tour of Machine Learning in Finance is to get a sense of what Machine Learning is, what it is for and in how many different financial problems it can be applied to. The course is designed for three categories of students: Practitioners working at financial institutions such as banks, asset management firms or hedge funds Individuals interested in applications of ML for personal day trading Current full-time students pursuing a degree in Finance, Statistics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, Engineering or other related disciplines who want to learn about practical applications of ML in Finance Experience with Python (including numpy, pandas, and IPython/Jupyter notebooks), linear algebra, basic probability theory and basic calculus is necessary to complete assignments in this course....

최상위 리뷰

LP

2021년 10월 22일

Very useful course. Personally, I think that there should have been more focus on the implementation of tensorflow and neural network codes. Overall the course is well structured and very clear.

KD

2019년 8월 23일

Introduction of ML for Financial application with combination of Scikit learn, Statsmodels and Tensorflow with neuralnets made this class very interesting. Learned and Enjoyed lot.

필터링 기준:

Guided Tour of Machine Learning in Finance의 191개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Mohammed B

2020년 2월 2일

Great course, but the coding projects are sometime hard to understand

교육 기관: gayatri l

2020년 2월 7일

Learned ML concepts and algorithms to be used in financial work.

교육 기관: Edward W

2020년 7월 26일

Would be cool if was update to use latest version of tensorflow

교육 기관: Noordeen M

2019년 6월 23일

was good but expect alitle explanation on the finance stuff

교육 기관: Raphael C

2020년 7월 4일

Exercises need better explanations and code

교육 기관: Xiaobin X

2018년 6월 25일

The projects are not so understood.

교육 기관: Wei-Chun K

2020년 4월 27일

The grading system isn't good.

교육 기관: Alek R

2018년 10월 17일

Assignments were whack...

교육 기관: Kevin C N

2020년 4월 26일

Great Course!

교육 기관: Humberto D

2021년 4월 14일

Prof. Halperin certainly does have a great deal of practical experience on this subject, having worked in the financial sector for several decades. As such, the lecture videos are succinct and informative. (I will issue the caveat that in order to make the most of this course, one should be already be comfortable with linear algebra, statistics, some calculus and the python libraries mentioned in the prerequisites.) The readings are mostly relevant, at times tangential and in some cases completely off-topic (albeit still somewhat interesting). What perhaps makes this course frustrating, as some have already noted, is that some of the code is outdated. The course, having been taught several years ago, uses version 1 of Tensorflow, and so backtesting assignment code on your own Jupyter notebook can be tricky if you have the latest version installed. It's for this reason that I give this course only 3/5. I got a lot out of it, but it would have helped if it used the latest version of Tensorflow.

교육 기관: Roland E

2020년 1월 8일

The assignments and project are very briefly explained. It took me a lot of unnecessary time to figure out what I was supposed to do. Also the discussion forum is inactive and I have a feeling many leave after seeing not anyone respond to their questions. I think there should be one or two dedicated support answering questions at least within 3 days.

The level of the course in general is pretty high, definitely not beginners level, which is fine I guess, but I do find the lectures are at times going very quick and at times overcomplicate. I would prefer an example to start simple and from there to build for a more complex situation. (For example start the bank failure with say 3 main features and show how you can decide to add another one by showing its impact through deviance and multicollinearity and show how you can then decide to add this new feature or not.)

교육 기관: Fabien N

2020년 1월 12일

Actually I was finding that course amazing at first, but I gradually became very upset. The notebooks are way too high level and not self-explanatory. The teacher seems amazing by his knowledge, but one are left with the notebooks without knowing what to do, and the lectures only partially help to solve the problems. A lot of search online needs to be done and I don't think that is the spirit of Coursera courses. I was planning to pay for the whole specialization but unfortunately I will have to give up on this course that was very motivating at first...

교육 기관: Jeffrey G

2021년 4월 9일

This course is a compilation of snippets from different courses. There is a large gap between lectures and readings and the labs. There are several bugs in the labs. It took far more time than advertised to fill in the gaps and complete the course. The content is excellent. But some work to better organize materials, more closely align the labs and eliminate some of the coding mistakes in the labs would help make this a 5 star course.

교육 기관: Luis S M

2020년 3월 29일

The lectures, as well as the quizzes, are great and coherent. However, the practical assignments, which are supposed to be the moment of cross-checking your level of comprehension of the learned topics are rather frustrating. I believe it would be of great help to future course takers to clearly state your expectations (e.g. through more detailed exercise descriptions) and introducing vital concepts before requiring their use.

교육 기관: Ruixin Y

2018년 6월 18일

Spent more time than expected. And when I tried to access the last assignment, it showed "404 : Not Found You are requesting a page that does not exist!"I understand the professor and other TA put a lot of effort on these courses, but I would say the assignments are not well organized, and more instructions are needed. Really hope the instructors could update/improve the courses/assignments. Thanks.

교육 기관: Debasish K

2019년 2월 26일

Good because it gives a high level good overview of ML in Finance, SVM and Tensorflow.

However, Some examples are very easy and some have been made difficult by providing no references. Tobit regression was very vague. No links to proper reference. Neural Network was the example from Geron's Handbook but there were errors in the custom function that was defined.

More mathematical depth is required.

교육 기관: V

2019년 8월 25일

extremely hard to follow, but better than when it originally came out. I had signed up after numerous ML courses and tried to skip to the later courses in this specialization. I got stuck trying to implement some crazy equations. I'm ok with looking up api methods, but the need to look out for reshaping is troublesome because it's inconsistent throughout the course. Overall, hard to follow.

교육 기관: Desi I

2018년 9월 18일

Good overview of ML and some basic applications to finance.

The pace is very good for people with some training in statistics and maths.

The assignments, however, are not particularly clear and with some obvious errors. There's room for improvement in the description of the exercises as well as including some tests to verify that you're getting the correct output.

교육 기관: cyril c

2018년 10월 11일

content of the lessons is quite good, I would give it 5 stars if the assignments weren't so buggy, contains mistakes, unclear instructions, no help from staff/moderator/instructor, technical issues that are not resolved, etc. a lot of frustration, it just feels like the course was rushed to production and they let the students debug it

교육 기관: Umendra C

2018년 11월 18일

Course material is good and a rating of 4 stars or more would have been a fair one, if it was not for very poorly designed and ill prepared assignments. The teaching staff really need to step up a level or two for the assignments.

The course content is good and that the only reason, I am still sticking with this specialization.

교육 기관: Shobhit L

2018년 8월 5일

The assignments can improve a lot. The jupyter notebooks have no clarity in instructions and most of the time we have to struggle to find exactly what is expected from our code.

The specialization has a lot of potential, anchored only by the lack of the quality of the assignments.

교육 기관: Curiosity2016

2018년 9월 22일

It's a good course but the homework is poorly designed with unclear instructions. Moreover, it's better to get familiar with Python before start this course. The suggested book "Hands-On Machine Learning with Scikit-Learn & TensorFlow" is a very good resource.

교육 기관: Daham K

2020년 5월 10일

Great contents. Excellent topic.

But poor explanation especially in coding assignment.

The assignment includes every coding stuff you need to learn in this course. But there is no explanation about it. You can learn theory from prof. But...coding...?

교육 기관: Antony J

2020년 12월 5일

Very straightforward lectures followed by complex notebooks at a significantly higher level. Given that the labs are using a deprecated version of TensorFlow, with regret, I won't be pursuing this specialization any further.

교육 기관: T H

2020년 9월 3일

It is a very broad overview of the machine learning topics but very little about the applications in finance. It wont give you a foundation in machine learning nor any useful insights about financial applications...