Chevron Left
Guitar for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

버클리음악대학교의 Guitar for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,925개의 평가
549개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Grasp the essentials needed to begin playing acoustic or electric guitar. You'll learn an easy approach to get you playing quickly, through a combination of exploring the instrument, performance technique, and basic music theory. For students who have long thought about picking up the acoustic or electric guitar, this course will provide an easy-access foundation that will get you playing. When first learning guitar, it is important to have the material presented in stages, in an enjoyable way that allows you to grasp the basics of the instrument and music. The course begins simply with the parts of the guitar, the names of the strings, tuning, and technique—whether finger-style or pick. It then explores the basics of music theory with such topics as scales, triads, power chords, and fingering and shapes. At the end of this course, students will understand the structure, parts, and accessories of the instrument, in addition to an understanding of its basic maintenance. Electric guitar players will learn the operation of their instrument along with basic options for amplification, effect pedals, and sounds. Students will also learn to develop correct technique and apply theory concepts to their playing. They will have the foundational knowledge necessary to pursue most intermediate guitar courses....

최상위 리뷰

SM

Sep 12, 2020

If you want to learn guitar no matter which guitar you want to learn acoustic or electric if you are a beginner then quickly join this course it will really help you to upgrade your skills in guitar.

MH

Apr 05, 2020

This course was a brilliant experience. My special thanks to Thadeus Hoggart for his patient and well organized course. Highly recommended for all those who are planning to start playing the Guitar.

필터링 기준:

Guitar for Beginners의 544개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Sanjeevani J

Jan 02, 2017

I liked the course overall. One star less for the duration and content alignment. It would have been much helpful if the content was spread over for a longer time period as a week wasn't enough to finish many assignments esp for beginners.

교육 기관: Ang C C

May 16, 2020

The pacing of the course is a little uneven - it starts out quite slow, which is actually really good for a beginner like me who knew nothing about guitar. But starting from the third week or so, the difficulty ramps up quite a bit, and the learning curve became quite steep. The final assignment was also, in my opinion, a bit of a curve. For future improvements, my suggestion is for the course provider to consider building the lessons up to the final assignments rather than just going "Here is the song you need to play. record it. upload it." At least for me, I really needed to practice quite a lot. Fortunately, I was able to complete earlier lessons much faster, or otherwise, I don't think I could have finished the course on time.

교육 기관: Sayan M

Aug 20, 2020

This is not a beginner course tbh.

Take it only if u have some prior experience of playing guitar.

It teaches a whole lot of music theory (which is good if u have the beginner skills and want to improve) but fails as an introduction to the guitar.

The teacher and course content is great but again this is not for beginners.

교육 기관: Jeff R

Oct 05, 2016

I expected something a little more faced paced from Berklee. But it was still good.

교육 기관: Arturo F C F

Jun 16, 2019

One thing that really should improve is the thing of having students grading other student's work, it is not the best way to grade because their criteria is based on their knowledge and most of the times it is limited to what they understand from the lessons and it might not be accurate. I had to resubmit my activities because I was miss graded with some nonsense feedback, and I feel I'm wasting my time. It would help a lot if someone who actually knew about the subject, graded the projects.

교육 기관: Nabil S

Jan 22, 2016

While it is a great course for all beginners to the Guitar, the only problem that I see is the grading system that is absolute loony. It is left to other students to grade it and that may or may not show up to be graded by other students. If it is not shown up to be graded by other students then you are left grade-less for that assignment hence leaving you unable to complete this course and you cannot receive your certificate or completion letter.

교육 기관: ZeroSet

Oct 03, 2019

Lessons are out of order in the end and much needed information on scales (no detail on minor scale??) is left out entirely. But, you can get going on your guitar with this course and learn the basics OK. I wouldn't pay for this course until they fix up lesson #6, add the missing materials and include some detail on minor scales.

교육 기관: Lo'real C B

Aug 27, 2020

It'll get playing by the end of the course and give you all the tools to get there. This isn't a "learn songs by ear" setup. It includes fretboard maps, chord charts, tablature and practice exercise. There's a bit of simple music theory: 4/4 rhythm (most commonly used in music), reading notes on the staff for Treble Clef and step by step you learn to connect the notes on a music sheet to what you play. The pace is pretty even, but I do recommend you practice every day: even nylon strings are hard on the fingertips. Go slow and steady and by the end, you will have a new skill to be proud of and share with friends.

교육 기관: Michael B

Jun 20, 2016

Outstanding course! I was an absolute beginner and knew nothing about the guitar or how to play it. I now feel that I have great understanding and a strong foundation to build upon. It starts out fairly easy and takes you step by step through everything you need to know but builds quickly and takes lots of practice to become proficient with each of the lessons, especially if you've never played and instrument before. The biggest benefit from the class is that I know feel comfortable that I have sufficient knowledge that I can continue to develop my skills at my own pace using various on-line resources.

교육 기관: Krithika

Aug 05, 2016

I have tried to learn guitar through regular classes with three music schools before. But have never been able to find it taught this simplified yet detailed. Kudos to our teacher. The playing gets so much easier when we know the logic. I feel more eager to take my instrument which has been lying in a corner for more than a year now. I just hope i would be able to enough time to practice and stay in touch with the instrument i love. Thanks coursera and Berklee college for this wonderful course and thanks sir for making me feel so much at ease with my guitar..

교육 기관: Четверухин А А

Dec 20, 2016

Great course and teacher. The beginning seems to be too easy for somebody who studied music before or already plays guitar at least to some extend, but this can be skipped if required (i.e. one can just pass the tests) and then there is a whole bunch if interesting information starting.

The end of the course may be quite difficult for absolute beginners, but if you practice you'll get there or, otherwise, nobody will blaim you if you deliver it a bit later.

Good luck and thanks to coursera and the teacher!

교육 기관: Dina

Oct 18, 2020

I have had a great experience doing the course in coursera. Many thanks coursera organizations.For those like me who live in a conservative family, who want to do something good with music, who have a strong desire to be a singer or a musician. But who cannot lead a life for family, relatives, society ignorance, coursera is a great opportunity and platform for them. I request coursera organizations if It is possible to re-introduce these courses so that the backward people can learn something better.

교육 기관: Marty S

Jun 10, 2020

I am very grateful for this course. I have learned many things ranging from chords and chord progressions to pentatonic scales, how to read sheet music, and now how to use the Audacity and Soundcloud apps, which all makes me feel very accomplished and like a much better musician than when I first started this course :). Learning all the reasons "why" things work the way they do in the musical world has taken a lot of the frustration out of playing since I am more STEM-minded than creative. Thank you!

교육 기관: Kenda R T

Jul 11, 2017

This is a wonderful course. I took this as a complete beginner. The teacher is very able to explain things for a baby to the guitar world. Though it was a little bit more complicated for me at my level when I took it , towards the latter end of the course, I was still equipped with a great foundation. Due to this foundation, I was able to work with my current guitar teacher, who works mostly with intermediate to advanced players, with a better footing. Thank you for this wonderful course!

교육 기관: Sandeep H

Aug 24, 2015

Excellent precision. Great teacher...! Not the one who rushes through to complete the lessons in a hurry but he really takes it slow and makes it very understanding for slow learners and beginners.

I love coursera...! Great innovation. Awesome work! Keep it up guys..!

Also Berklee college of music, thank you for making thousands of distressed and unlucky students(for various reasons) be a part of your great culture of music and valuable teaching.

Hats off!!!

교육 기관: Umesh K

Aug 27, 2020

Fantastic course for anyone wanting to learn guitar. It has given excellent base level knowledge on guitar as well practical initiation into playing basic chords as well as melody. This is a very good foundation level course and I recommend to all guitar aspirants. Prof Thaddeus was amazing with high quality video instructions & demos. Thanks Coursera & Berkelee for providing this opportunity to participate & i thoroughly enjoyed. Thanks you. Regards, Umesh

교육 기관: Gwen P

Oct 19, 2020

I really got a lot out of this course. I've been playing 3-chord songs (no barre chords, no power chords, and definitely nothing with a consistent rhythm. In just this short time, all the pieces are coming together!

I like the instructors, low-key yet very precise approach in how he conveys new concepts and how we can best integrate his information from our brains to our inexperienced hands. It is an inspiring way to learn and keeps me motivated!

교육 기관: Faisal R S

Jun 29, 2020

I learnt a lot of new things from this course. Every guitar beginner should take up this course.It was very well organized and the content was just up to the mark.Enjoyed a lot.One thing to focus on is peer graded reviews and assignments. Please show honesty in that section. It will benefit both the learner and the reviewer.

Lastly, I want to thank Professor Hogarth for his clear explanations and playing, Berklee College of Music and Coursea

교육 기관: Mark A S

Mar 01, 2016

Overall, this course is excellent for both beginners and slightly experienced folks - or people wanting a beginning refresher. By the end of the 6th week, if you've practiced and turned in your assignments, you'll have the calluses and knowledge to keep plinking out tunes from the tabs you can find on the Interweb. Prof Hogarth's videos are easy to watch and helpful. The community of users and TAs is friendly and helpful, too.

교육 기관: Christine C

Oct 11, 2020

Phenomenal Class! I went from never playing a guitar before to playing in a band, and actually playing all styles of music (Blues, heavy metal, folk, reggae, punk, & rock, pop, so far...) all in under three and a half weeks of instruction by Berklee Staff member Thaddeus! To keep it honest i made a point to practice A LOT- but the guidance from this Course is what took me to such proficiency so quickly. I HIGHLY recommend!

교육 기관: Aaron S

Nov 29, 2016

This is a wonderful class. The teacher is very skillful in Guitar and very patient as well. At first I thought it is a very easy class so I choose it as my first MOOC class and I hope I can finish it in a short time. Insteadly I had made some mistakes before my classmate pointed it out and I am really benifit through this class. Many basic knowledge of guitar are produced and some of them is I've not learned before.

교육 기관: Alan L

Jun 24, 2020

This was an excellent beginners course for learning the guitar. It differs from other online courses by introducing music theory...which can be challenging to the newby...but yet that that challenges the mind...and is actually very interesting. The instructor is wonderful! Sometimes the material and exercises move too quickly...but this forms a foundation for continual practice and improvement.

교육 기관: Louis K

Jun 06, 2017

This is a great introductory course! It gives you the basics that along with private lessons get you off and running in the journey to guitar playing. Thaddeus was an excellent instructor and was very complete in his explanations of the musical concepts. I throughly enjoyed this course and completed it before the deadline. Excellent course that I wish had a second course to continue the work.

교육 기관: El J F

Nov 24, 2015

If you want to see big improvements in your guitar playing, then enroll in this course. The course is well-suited for beginners with or without prior knowledge of the guitar. Everything that you need to know to jumpstart your guitar playing will be discussed in this course. Major takeaways from this course are the beautiful pieces and exercises that will help you have a focused practice session.

교육 기관: Darío C L

Jul 11, 2016

This is the first online course I take on music and gotta say it was really great. I have some basics on guitar but the theory was never given to me. I just followed. Now I am able to read basic music sheets and even though i still need more practice to fully understand everything the information will still be online. Thank you and keep it up with the great course.