Chevron Left
Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems(으)로 돌아가기

존스홉킨스대학교의 Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
284개의 평가
80개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to our course on Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems for Global Health. During the course we will provide you with an overview of the main elements or building blocks of a health system based on the World Health Organization’s guidance. You will have the opportunity to explore four main areas of health systems in global health with particular reference to low and middle income countries. The first area focuses on understanding health service organizations, the challenges. Our second module looks at WHO’s six major building blocks or health systems components with particular reference to primary health care and the need for community participation in planning, delivery and assessment of these systems components. in our third module we examine the specific systems component of human resource development and capacity building. The fourth area consists of health policy making and advocacy with stakeholders. This course is geared toward learners who are already involved in managing health and development programs on the ground in low and middle income countries or who are preparing for such a management role. The main lectures will span a four-week period with approximately 2-4 hours of viewing learning materials per week. We have one peer graded essay wherein you will use skills in ‘organizational’ diagnosis to better understand a challenge in an organization where you are or have worked. There are also quizzes. We hope you will engage with your fellow learners in discussion forums to learn from each other....

최상위 리뷰

CM
2021년 1월 23일

It was quite enlightening and very understanding as l study the rudimentary principles of achieving success and switching on to a new career in Public Health.

SL
2019년 1월 24일

Content was very interesting, a lot of repetition of material helped to get a good understanding of Health Systems. Organizational Diagnosis was very useful.

필터링 기준:

Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems의 80개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Pablo H A V M

2019년 12월 9일

Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Elkan R

2020년 6월 17일

Great experience

교육 기관: Eduardo E

2018년 12월 11일

magnific!!!

교육 기관: Tommy G

2018년 10월 4일

Excellent!

교육 기관: V K L

2019년 11월 30일

excellent

교육 기관: Asibul I A

2019년 9월 30일

Very good

교육 기관: Abdul H

2018년 8월 13일

Great

교육 기관: Pranav A

2019년 11월 7일

.

교육 기관: Gianfranco M

2021년 2월 11일

Online learning can be really informative and useful too, and sometimes it might just be better than many face to face learning events: I had to pass multiple peer reviews, quizzes and interactions with other professionals in order to obtain the degree. Some of the case studies were a little bit old (like 20 years old); I personally prefer to have both the slides and the face of the teacher, while here you have only the slides and the voice. The course provides useful framework to approach many aspects of public health and primary health care.

교육 기관: RAJ S

2020년 4월 21일

This course is well-structured and delivers the desired learning outcomes. I applaud the professor's efforts to include eclectic themes materializing as a holistic course to understand the health system with a pinch of the vitality of strengthening them. I hope to add value to ikigaiHealth.org with the insights gained through this course and the specialization. You can connect with me at https://www.linkedin.com/in/raj-urvish-shah-8a8944146/

교육 기관: Nifemi O

2020년 4월 4일

Thank you for a wonderful learning experience. It was worth it.

The only thing I seem to have an issue with is the peer grading process where you sometimes have to wait for days before you are graded by your fellow course mates.

I don't know if this can be looked into and modified. Thank you!

교육 기관: James D

2021년 4월 2일

Good survey of topic, but quizzes and assessments should be improved. The first quiz had typos and misspelled words. I had to search-out peer assignments to review through the discussion forums, and certain of those who reviewed my assignment did not provide feedback.

교육 기관: María P F V

2019년 8월 16일

Classes were always interesting. However, they could include more videos and interactive participation. More analysis of real cases.

Also there was a big issue on week 2 and 3 with impaired audio and video and it was very difficult to complete those weeks.

교육 기관: Bernardita B

2021년 9월 24일

Aunque la parte teórica está bien desarrollada está demadiado enfocado a la situación de Africa. Habría deseado una vixión más amplia sobre la realidad de otros continentes que tambíén enfrentan serios problemas en materia de agención primaria de salud

교육 기관: Mary D

2020년 2월 27일

Informative and well curated. The information is extremely helpful but I do feel that relying so much on previous case studies or programs puts people at a disadvantage if they are not familiar with those studies/programs.

교육 기관: Ekundayo A A

2019년 1월 22일

Very excellent course, comprehensive and easy to follow. I am just not a big fan of the peer-reviewed assignment being compulsory.

Thank you, Madam Brieger for your work. Thank you John Hopkins and Coursera

교육 기관: Lucile L

2020년 4월 17일

Very interesting and broad course with also clear examples

Sometimes I wished less repetition

Some technical problems still there (slides/speech matching) but not too impairing for the learning process

교육 기관: Michael D

2021년 2월 9일

I feel the structure was set up very well, and it did flow. I am hoping to never hear the word guinea worm ever again though. Looking forward to the next course.

교육 기관: Zuzana H

2019년 11월 1일

This course provided useful overview. Though slides in presentations in Module 2 were in wrong order. Otherwise, I would recommend the course.

교육 기관: Fredrik H

2019년 12월 30일

Sadly the PowerPoint in Module 2 (part of week 2) is totally messed up. However, great course with good examples

교육 기관: Marc S O

2018년 12월 21일

A very useful and practical course. It delivers practical examples in real life situations.

교육 기관: Maria L P

2020년 5월 30일

Some weeks are disproportionately heavy with regards to other. Very interesting.

교육 기관: Hafiz M W

2020년 5월 18일

It is really good course.

교육 기관: Gil C

2019년 10월 14일

Very good.

교육 기관: Nonna T

2020년 11월 6일

I am grateful to the course organizers for putting it out there.

As a general introduction, the course needs a better explanation of how its different parts come together. For instance, Part 1 sessions on organisations and change does not link up with the last few sessions which introduce Health Systems. The presentation of the sessions on organisations and change is overloaded with detailed personal experiences of the lecturer, there are no references to where the models come from, and the models themselves don’t seem thought through.

Week 2 is much better than Week 1. I think the view of the PHC is obsolete, same as the WHO’s view of it. Nowhere in the world does PHC fulfill all the roles expected of it, including education and social mobilization, or “fixing the local markets” example. With the amount of money allocated to PHC in M/LICs it’s not realistic to expect all that. I did like the HS building blocks explained on the example of the malaria program, I found malaria more relatable than the example in Week 1. The “last mile” session is informative and the one on private vendors is interesting, although a bit repetitive, and there’s a mismatch between the voice-over and the slides in a number of videos. What I really liked in Week 2 is the matrix of the Global Fund CSS blocks and the community systems.

Week 3 seems an improvement in setting the stage and good overview at the start of the lecture covering the main elements. I do not understand why, while the course is on health systems, the practical assignment is not on health systems, but on organizational change.

Week 4 material on policy making makes an important highlight of the responsibility of policy administrators, and I liked the comparison between the different policy formation models. The lecturer is spot on about the detrimental impact of WTO/patents. The lecturer’s accounts of advocacy implementation are a clear value-add.

Generally I think it would be best to have a separate course on organizational change and on health systems/community systems. I do not think the health systems and the organizational change parts of this course blended well together.

Some detailed observations are: the course could benefit from mentioning sources/providing reference links. Also it would be great if there was a possibility to fast-forward/rewind by 10 seconds, like on Netflix 😊 I personally find many of the illustrations/pictures used to be a bit dated, and more diversity in the images would be welcome. The image on slide 10 of Week 2 struck me, it’s about nutrition, on the image there are two smiling men who are at a table with food in front of them, and there is a seemingly sidelined woman holding a child who sits at the edge. It would be good to mention something about the role of gender or intra-family food security! I think sometimes the lecturer goes in too much details on the clinical aspects of different tropical diseases. I do appreciate the time, effort and resources that were put to produce this course, with a few changes the course can improve.