Chevron Left
Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.5
316개의 평가
66개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

A unique and exciting introduction to the genre and craft of historical fiction, for curious students, aspiring authors--anyone with a passion for the past. Read classics of the genre, encounter bestselling writers of historical fiction, and discover your own historical archive while interacting with a global community of interested readers....

최상위 리뷰

DG

Nov 13, 2015

Exceptional experience. I enjoyed the entire course. This was my first real sojourn into the genre and now I'm hooked. Thank you, very much, for sharing this quality education. Be Well.

RH

May 30, 2016

Super wonderful class. Very educational and enjoyable. I collected more books after this class and re-read many of them. Recommend The Love Artist featured in one of the sessions.

필터링 기준:

Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction의 65개 리뷰 중 1~25

대학: Kage G

May 09, 2017

This course is a poor transfer from one of their online or hybrid courses. The professor constantly mentions readings that were never put in the Coursera lessons, and the quizzes are on those readings. DO NOT TAKE!!!

대학: Samuel T M

May 04, 2017

All the guests were women. Imagen if all the guests had been men!!!

대학: Ana O

Aug 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. It was my first one in Coursera and it was very helpful to do it at my own pace. I found very useful advice regarding sources and research strategies. The seminars were very good and also the conversations. The sound could be improved but having subtitles helps to overcome the technical issues. Thank you.

대학: Carol G

Feb 03, 2019

This course is brilliant. Prof Bruce is a terrific teacher and guide through a mountain of fascinating resources.

The visiting writers are charismatic and so willing to answer questions about their writing, the students are engaged in discussion and ask excellent questions

Terrific links to as much core and supplementary reading as you would want,

Thank you so much

대학: Stephanie

Feb 28, 2018

I managed to suffer through 2 weeks and finally gave up. I adore historical fiction and this course drained the life from it.

대학: Vincent L

Feb 19, 2018

The content was very interesting.

대학: Marianne P

Jan 10, 2018

Great class! I particularly enjoyed the author's talks. Hearing about the writing process was fascinating. I learned so much about the evolution of the historical fiction genre, which is my personal favorite. More books have been added to my lengthy list of books that Must Be Read.

대학: Carlen H

Dec 28, 2017

Learned so much, I might take this course again! It prompted me to read several books I had not read before as well as learn much about my own writing. Thanks!

대학: Margaret L B

Nov 09, 2017

This course was unique in presentation as well as content. Professor Holsinger's videos were rich and focused. The author videos provided valuable insight into research and character development. I expected there to be writing assignments (having completed the Creative Writing specialization), but I now know that was not the purpose of the course. From a research standpoint, this course was outstanding. Thank you, Professor Holsinger. -Margaret (Peggy) Barnes, Mentor, Creative Writing, The Craft of Style

대학: Jennifer D

Oct 22, 2017

I actually loved this course!!

I also loved how many female writers and their novels were included in the course! Such a refreshing change.

대학: Melissa ( C

Aug 10, 2017

Very enjoyable

대학: Johnathan A

Jul 10, 2017

Loads of problems with old assignments getting lost, and now there isn't even a creative outlet for students. Disappointing in that respect.

대학: Madeleine W

May 11, 2017

Really interesting course. I loved the interviews with all the different writers.

대학: Kathleen F

Apr 29, 2017

It is such a good course to understand about the different areas of Historical Fiction

대학: Ana M O

Apr 04, 2017

Excellent videos and reading material! Now I have more historical novels based on the recommendations done by the scholars! I hope a similar course is prepared presenting more authors!

대학: Kristen M

Mar 14, 2017

This was a fantastic class. I learned a lot about writing historical fiction, and I was able to add several books to my already teetering TBR pile. Dr. Holsinger was an interesting professor and obviously loves the material. I would recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in history or historical fiction.

대학: Olga R

Mar 06, 2017

I loved to hear from the writers their own experience when writing a novel. So enlighting!

대학: Lorenzo A

Feb 26, 2017

Excellent course for those taking the first steps into hi

대학: Valeria M

Jan 09, 2017

Loved this course!

대학: Joy S

Jan 07, 2017

Enjoyed this. Lots of lectures by guest authors.

대학: Luiggy R A I

Nov 17, 2016

Amazing!

대학: Peter C

Oct 10, 2016

This was a carefully planned course that was very well taught and thoroughly enjoyable to study. I learned a great deal about historical fiction and it inspired me to carry on studying the genre once I had completed the course.

대학: Virginia S

Oct 03, 2016

This course has a lot of extras in it and a lot of food for future thought. The teacher is fun to learn from and I enjoyed his enthusiasm and the joy he expressed in the subject.

대학: Maria d S B B

Sep 12, 2016

I just loved it!

대학: Marrissa L

Sep 03, 2016

A very interesting course with a fascinating subject I've been intrigued by for a while. It gave me many skills and techniques to think about as I attempt to eventually become a historical fiction writer myself someday. My only negative critique is that I wish it dealt with the witches and medieval aspects of the course in the beginning rather than towards the end.