Chevron Left
The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
304개의 평가
81개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

최상위 리뷰

AJ
2020년 10월 29일

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

RM
2020년 7월 22일

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

필터링 기준:

The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state의 80개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: hunglun o

2021년 3월 16일

In the second part of the History of Modern Israel, I see that Israel becomes a developed country economically and improved its border security with its neighbors. However, internal fragmentation and weak leadership limits Israel's potential to improving the quality of lives of its citizens.

There is vigorous debate about the inherent contradiction between a Jewish State and Democracy. I am sympathetic towards the position of the Left, that Israel moves towards a fully democratic state, granting equal right to its citizen regardless of ethnicity. It would be a bold move, a departure from what has been attempted in the past 2000 years of Jewish history.

When the occupied Palestinians, Arab minority, Orthodox Jews and other underprivileged segments of Israeli society can also share the prosperity ushered in by economic and military achievement of modern Israel, the future of Israel will be secure and also an inspiration for other countries near and far.

교육 기관: Rodrigo S M M

2020년 12월 10일

I want to kindly THANK the tutors for this MASTERFUL course. Admittedly I had some reservations at first about some notion of bias that I feared could permeate the course, yet after having done it I cannot express just how unbiased and critical its content was. As someone who has visited Israel and the Middle East (having loved both the country and the region) I earnestly recommend this as a magnificent course to introduce you to the various issues that shape modern-day politics, culture and society in Israel.

교육 기관: Maria I F

2020년 10월 15일

I was very happy taking the courses about The Fall and Rise of Jerusalem and The History of Modern Israel part I and part II. The professors and their guests were all of them just great.Now I have a better and wieder view of Israel and its sourrandings and problems.

I just hope I can visit your beautiful and interested country, as I have planned, next year.

Best regards and once again thamk you very much

Maria Isabel Fajardo

교육 기관: Adan D M T

2021년 2월 3일

it is a really good course with excellent teachers who have a neutral point of view and it is good that they work with facts. It is very interesting all the topics of Israel history, I really recomend you this course.

교육 기관: Annie J

2020년 10월 30일

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

교육 기관: Raffaele P

2020년 11월 27일

Thanks to this course I know much better what Israel is, their history, their politics, their social and economic problems. An interesting course, with well-developed and complete topics.

교육 기관: RUTVIK M

2020년 7월 23일

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

교육 기관: Sonia C

2021년 12월 13일

I​t improved my analytical competences, clarifying a lot of Israel history, politics and social-cultural debates. I really enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Beatriz m d

2021년 1월 13일

It has been great to study the 2 parts of the course.Israel is more complex than is discussed here.Adiós profesores.Saludos,Bea.

교육 기관: Chris N

2020년 10월 22일

Very informative and the discussions give great insights to different aspects of the challenges of a modern jewish state.

교육 기관: Rico B

2020년 9월 7일

Super interesting course! Loved taking it and I gained lots of new knowledge and perspectives! Thank you so much!!

교육 기관: Norm L

2021년 9월 1일

Excellent course. Critical perspective. The last session was particularly helpful in understanding Israel.

교육 기관: Glenn R

2021년 3월 11일

This is an excellent course. The presenters were very knowledgeable and the material well presented

교육 기관: 曾蘭淑

2020년 9월 1일

It provides detailed and valuable insights to know Israel and the conflicts in the Middle East.

교육 기관: Tom B

2018년 11월 11일

Outstanding presentation of the State of Israel's struggle for independence!

교육 기관: keren K

2017년 12월 5일

Interesting and summerise differet points of view and not taking any side.

교육 기관: Romeo T

2017년 7월 10일

Factual Based. Without the bias usually found in course of this subject

교육 기관: Sven S

2017년 11월 15일

Very interesting course, I learned a lot and the teachers are great

교육 기관: Bartlomiej R

2016년 10월 14일

I wholeheartedly recommend this course. It was very interesting!

교육 기관: Bryant C E A

2017년 5월 9일

Very important course for those who want to learn about Israel

교육 기관: Denise I

2019년 3월 13일

Excelente curso a respeito da cultura e conflitos israelenses

교육 기관: Paul M

2017년 7월 2일

I really enjoyed this course do keep up the good work.

תודה!

교육 기관: Ekaterina B

2020년 10월 25일

Good course, learned a lot about nowadays Israel

교육 기관: Miguel A J M

2019년 11월 23일

Una visión muy objetiva del Israel moderno.

교육 기관: Maria J O

2021년 3월 13일

Curso maravilhoso, recomendo para todos!