Chevron Left
The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
667개의 평가
194개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

최상위 리뷰

TA
2019년 9월 26일

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS
2020년 9월 29일

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

필터링 기준:

The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State의 193개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Eden H

2015년 12월 27일

Great course!!

교육 기관: Koh, Y H

2018년 5월 7일

Great course.

교육 기관: Tal B

2017년 5월 6일

great course!

교육 기관: Sarah M

2016년 2월 12일

Useful course

교육 기관: Ryan S

2020년 1월 4일

well done!

교육 기관: Poliane m a

2020년 12월 1일

thank you

교육 기관: Gunay R S

2020년 7월 2일

Excellent

교육 기관: Walter R K N

2016년 6월 21일

AMAZING!

교육 기관: BILAL A A

2017년 7월 18일

so hard

교육 기관: Kleber L d S

2020년 6월 17일

Ótimo.

교육 기관: Kausthubh T

2019년 5월 29일

goodd

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

2018년 8월 24일

good

교육 기관: John W B

2017년 1월 16일

I

교육 기관: Daniela N T

2016년 2월 19일

T

교육 기관: Saphir B D

2016년 9월 6일

The course was extremely informative and managed to explain complex circumstances very simple.

I highly recommend this course therefore. I was able to learn new things about the history of Israel which were never brought to me like that by history teachers. Great opportunity to broaden knowledge.

Suggestions:

Although the course was very good structured sometimes sophisticated history terms in the context of Israel and Palestine occurred in a video and were explained properly one video later. But because they were explained shortly after and it happened only like three times I would suggest to have a little box with terms like Lechi or Palmach, White Paper from thetime they occur first right beneath every video.

The interviews with the experts of each fields had sometimes an odd audio recording and one person therefore spoke louder then the other and I had to turn my speakers on full volume sometimes. If the course gets rerecorded one day I suggest to look into those samples in particular.

Thanks for this great course.

교육 기관: Alec K

2015년 11월 12일

I found this course to be very interesting. I took this course simultaneously with the one from UCSD on the Holocaust so they enhanced each other. I especially appreciated having a lecture in which Anita Shapira participated - I had already read 'Israel: A History' so it added an extra dimension to that. A couple of small niggles - a) I think a warning for those that don't speak Hebrew that they need to use the subtitles facility(something I've never used before) b) I think some of the English spellings may be ambiguous when translating from Hebrew because of the special use of vowels.

All in all I enjoyed this and hope you provide more courses relating to the Israeli/Palestinian situation. Many ordinary people are very uninformed and vulnerable to misleading propaganda. Courses like this are vital in informing non-Jews.

교육 기관: Nikola D

2018년 4월 23일

The professor was great, I really enjoyed listening to him. What I found confusing was the questions on the tests, it didn't seem to me that they reflected the lectures previously given, nor I thought they could measure the level of acquired knowledge.

It would be also nice if professor suggested some literature or, why not, movies and documentaries about certain events mentioned in the lectures, so students can research deeper into the subject and gain better understanding of how modern Israel came to be.

교육 기관: Sarah E P

2015년 11월 12일

This is a great introduction to Israel and Middle Eastern politics. It's not too tough- everything is broken down into very manageable 7 or 8 minute lessons, so it's easy to acquire a general understanding of the factors that led to the formation of Israel. Students looking for an in-depth examination may be disappointed, but if you're curious about this fascinating and very relevant chapter of history, this course will give you a good overview, and leave you hungry to learn more.

교육 기관: Rachel K

2018년 8월 21일

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

교육 기관: Mark W

2016년 11월 18일

An excellent course - as an introduction, it covers the material in a logical way, and presents critical views on actions of parties on all sides. Has whetted my appetite to know more about the history of creation of Israel and to explore particular avenues that couldn't be covered in detail due to introductory nature of course.

교육 기관: Sophie B

2017년 12월 6일

VERY INTERESTING - Sometime the accent and speed of the lecturers, however enthralling, it hard to follow. The use of the script and rewatching is then essential! but all in all great course. Has not helped in forming an opinion on current climate, as expected, but has increased dramatically the understa

교육 기관: Brandon L V

2016년 11월 23일

Amazing course, this really amplifies the roots and causes of the origin of the creation of the state of Israel. A little bit too much information that I belief can be sintetized, but overall still great to give the student a really solid overview on the context of the British Mandate of Palestine.

교육 기관: Jide O

2020년 2월 6일

Through this course, I now have a better understanding of how the State of Israel came to be, as well as the genesis of the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. I want to particularly commend the instructors for demonstrating a high level of objectivity and sound knowledge in delivering the course.

교육 기관: Mudit A

2018년 11월 9일

Well constructed course. Provided a good understanding of the basis of the Zionist experiment, and the fundamental causes of the Arab-Israeli conflict. Explanations by both professors were lucid and engaging. Inputs from auxiliary professors brought about nuanced perspectives

교육 기관: Simi V

2018년 5월 17일

There are errors in the transcripts of the lectures (one example: the word "pogrom" is written as "program." I am not going to stay with the course but if anyone wants me to, I can clean up those transcripts (I am a professional editor).