Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part Two(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 History of Rock, Part Two 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
402개의 평가
103개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

최상위 리뷰

SH
2020년 9월 29일

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

AP
2021년 2월 12일

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

필터링 기준:

History of Rock, Part Two의 103개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: susan.hayday@btinternet.com

2020년 9월 30일

Fascinating - really filled out my knowledge and understanding and introduced me to new music - despite having lived through much of the history. Enjoyed the laid back but informed videos.

교육 기관: Gustavo N S

2019년 12월 26일

I really enjoy with this course, the topics were very informative and interesting, with a lot of good examples and information about bands, styles and ages. I recommend the course 100%.

교육 기관: Adithya P

2021년 2월 13일

Continuing from Part One, the History of Rock course segues into the music scene of 70s and beyond. A thoroughly enjoyable course for anyone interested in any form of music in general.

교육 기관: Ammar M H

2015년 12월 19일

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

교육 기관: Ray W

2018년 8월 16일

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

교육 기관: JR L

2020년 6월 2일

This was a fun course and motivates to seek out Part One of the History of Rock. The instructor did a great job to take us on this historical journey.

교육 기관: Ferdinand P

2018년 3월 18일

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

교육 기관: Randall L

2015년 10월 7일

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

교육 기관: jim t

2020년 4월 21일

this is a great course. i learned a great deal about the history and gained a better understanding of the music i enjoy.

thank you

교육 기관: Gregg H

2016년 6월 24일

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

교육 기관: Christos N

2020년 7월 7일

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

교육 기관: Saeideh A

2017년 3월 10일

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.

교육 기관: Shirley K

2020년 7월 13일

what a fun course! brought me back to the birth of metal and hair bands . thank you so much for doing this course!!

교육 기관: Carlos

2021년 9월 24일

It was really fun to know all the faces of Rock and Roll, very interesting and amazing

교육 기관: Koos J

2017년 9월 20일

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

교육 기관: Melanie L

2020년 12월 1일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much. The professor is excellent.

교육 기관: Andrew G

2015년 8월 29일

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

교육 기관: Travis W

2017년 7월 24일

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

교육 기관: 동현 김

2017년 12월 23일

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

교육 기관: Kseniia I

2017년 5월 5일

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

교육 기관: Joy S

2016년 3월 9일

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

교육 기관: Emilio V

2019년 2월 3일

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

교육 기관: Riffka S

2021년 10월 17일

This was perfect, I strongly recommend this course to everyone!

교육 기관: Holly H

2017년 3월 13일

Great Professor, interesting enhancement to my knowledge!

교육 기관: Bill W

2016년 3월 8일

well researched and presented in a very informative way.