Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 History of Rock, Part One 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
718개의 평가
190개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

최상위 리뷰

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

필터링 기준:

History of Rock, Part One의 188개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: 渐晨

Dec 31, 2018

nice!I have learned a lot of knowledge which I did not know before,I really appreciate this lessons and the teacher,John

Covach. During the study period,I also collected many beautiful songs.

교육 기관: Ivan H T V

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting and useful traversy

교육 기관: Brendan C

Nov 14, 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

교육 기관: a g

Jan 05, 2019

Thanks a lot for this course!

교육 기관: Nazarov R

Feb 14, 2019

Interesting material and great tutor indeed. Definitely the course is worth time spent and it is for everyone who’s interested in rock music history.

교육 기관: Dr. J S

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent

교육 기관: Ajit S G

Mar 14, 2019

ghghgh

교육 기관: Bhupendra S R

Mar 14, 2019

good question

교육 기관: Kris G

Mar 14, 2019

Great course. Thanks.

교육 기관: ANKIT S G

Mar 14, 2019

Music is very important

교육 기관: Brittani G

Jan 15, 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

교육 기관: John C

Jan 15, 2019

Very entertaining and insightful, loved it.

교육 기관: Carolina A V S

Aug 18, 2018

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

교육 기관: Marco A C

Sep 23, 2018

Excelent!

교육 기관: IOANNIS B

Nov 03, 2018

Great course.I am going to study History of Rock Part 2 in the future!

교육 기관: Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

These two courses we're very fun compared to most.They we're very informative but important for anyone working in the music business.thanks

교육 기관: Zofia D

Mar 19, 2016

You can clearly see that the professor is a passionate and has got a huge knowledge about the topic he is talking about. What he says is interesting and valuable, I also liked to learn facts about historical facts and anecdotes accompanying the lectures. I learnt a lot and listened to a lot new music.

It takes quite a lot of time to watch all the videos, take notes (the exams are not that easy :) ) and listen to all of the examples, but it was definitely worth it.

교육 기관: Jeff M

Aug 16, 2016

John Covach really knows his stuff, I would like to take part 2 now.

교육 기관: Vincent A

Jul 02, 2016

This course is just packed with so much information. I mean that in a good way too. John pieces the whole history of rock in a way the is digestible, engaging and interesting. I primarily watch the videos. I'm a music fan and just love learning more about rock's trajectory. Didn't know that there was so much history to it. And in case this wasn't enough, be sure to check out part 2. Thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the history of rock and music.

교육 기관: Jesus A B S

May 16, 2017

Fantastic course.

교육 기관: Aline D

Mar 03, 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

교육 기관: Daniel B P

Jan 31, 2017

Keep on rockin´!

교육 기관: Linda B

Sep 03, 2017

This course presents a comprehensive history of rock with many compelling examples of music. The instructor is engaging and highly knowledgeable in his field. i enjoyed the class and would definitely recommend it to others.

교육 기관: Ximena O D A

Nov 02, 2015

I love professor Covach's lectures. He is passionate about the topic and you learn so much in every single video. I have taken both History of Rock courses and would do it all over again in a heartbeat.