Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 History of Rock, Part One 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,036개의 평가
300개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

최상위 리뷰

BL
2018년 3월 12일

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM
2016년 10월 1일

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

필터링 기준:

History of Rock, Part One의 301개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Maris

2017년 8월 12일

Excelent

교육 기관: zfan

2016년 1월 9일

Amazing!

교육 기관: Javier G

2015년 12월 11일

Excelent

교육 기관: Pat

2020년 5월 7일

Awesome

교육 기관: Akshay M

2019년 3월 29일

awasome

교육 기관: Mario M

2017년 5월 18일

Great!!

교육 기관: James B

2021년 8월 28일

g​reat

교육 기관: Ajit S G

2019년 3월 14일

ghghgh

교육 기관: Ricky T

2017년 11월 29일

Great.

교육 기관: Greg P

2020년 4월 11일

great

교육 기관: Ricardo T G S

2019년 4월 14일

Good.

교육 기관: Jhoan S B A

2020년 4월 22일

Good

교육 기관: SONU K

2019년 5월 7일

NICE

교육 기관: Kiyotake S

2016년 6월 3일

Very

교육 기관: 米勒

2016년 9월 16일

u

교육 기관: Jeanie S

2016년 6월 21일

I

교육 기관: James G R

2015년 11월 5일

A

교육 기관: Denise M

2017년 12월 3일

This course is a great overview of modern rock music. I think it is greatly enhanced by using the text which is a nice reference to have on its own. One thing that really needs to be improved are the written transcripts for the videos. Sometimes I preferred reading the transcript as opposed to listening to the video but I found that the transcripts were at times very garbled, inaccurate to what was actually being discussed by Professor Covach (names, places, etc.), and need general editing for grammar. I know that transcription has probably been done on a very basic volunteer basis but it should be reviewed again in comparison to the actual video discussion because frequently, the two media are not aligned.

교육 기관: Jan-Willem J

2015년 8월 27일

This is a great course that is very informative. It brought many performers to my attention that I had not heard of before or that I had not appreciated before and has enriched my appreciation of music. The course focuses mainly on the history and development of rock music, rather than the technical side of the music itself. It is a pity that the course itself only discusses the music, but does not feature the music itself. I suggest that you keep a streaming service, such as Spotify or Deezer, open in a separate window on your browser, so you can pause the lectures and listen to the music as you go along.

교육 기관: Debra M

2021년 9월 4일

The quiz questions could use some work; many are based on obscure details rather than conceptual learning. The professor seemed genuine and was very informative. His love for music showed through his presentation of information. If any criticism could be offered on delivery, it would be to have the professor SLOW DOWN his delivery a bit. He "gets going" and goes faster and faster. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone who might be interested in American rock history, the British Invasion, and Psychedelia.

교육 기관: Marcelo F

2020년 7월 9일

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

교육 기관: Angelina W

2016년 2월 4일

Excellent general course about the history of Rock in the Western World. Lots of names of musicians, companies, and music make the course seem to revolve around memorization. Even so, the professor does describe the historical element in logical chains of events and biographies.

The quizzes could have been offered every week. There's no need to clump the quiz material.

교육 기관: Bertha L D G

2021년 11월 11일

El curso es excepcional. No solo aprendí más sobre musica tambien aprendi un poco de la cultura social que se vivía a la par. Fue muy interesante conocer la sociedad de esos tiempos. Únicamente coloco 4 estrellas porque -segun desde mi perspectiva- siento que falto hablar de los grandes exponentes del Jazz. Despues de eso, el curso es excelente y critico.

교육 기관: Sam A

2015년 12월 4일

Really enjoying this course (nearly done).

The subject is perfect for my age (about 50) as I grew on much of this music and play guitar.

Wish there was a way to incorporate the music.

I am pausing, going to youtube and back constantly but it is worth it.

교육 기관: Albert M V

2017년 4월 21일

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.