Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One(으)로 돌아가기

로체스터 대학교의 History of Rock, Part One 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,037개의 평가
300개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

최상위 리뷰

SM
2016년 10월 1일

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL
2018년 3월 12일

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

필터링 기준:

History of Rock, Part One의 301개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Carrie F

2017년 6월 26일

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

교육 기관: Cathy G

2017년 1월 24일

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

교육 기관: Andrew G

2016년 6월 30일

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Michael V

2015년 11월 8일

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

교육 기관: Geert P

2016년 10월 8일

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

교육 기관: Huang K

2016년 1월 15일

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

교육 기관: Steve M

2020년 4월 13일

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

교육 기관: Ferdinand P

2018년 1월 26일

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

교육 기관: 任欣雨

2016년 12월 4일

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

교육 기관: Aline D

2016년 3월 2일

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

교육 기관: Brendan C

2018년 11월 14일

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

교육 기관: luis g

2017년 8월 13일

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

교육 기관: Christine H

2021년 1월 3일

Fascinating. I used the textbook to accompany the lectures and it was of great value

교육 기관: Joanne P

2020년 6월 5일

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

교육 기관: Phyllis S

2016년 7월 31일

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

교육 기관: Zillah K

2015년 8월 28일

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

교육 기관: Kathy P

2020년 3월 22일

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

교육 기관: Gregg H

2016년 4월 12일

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

교육 기관: Marcos L R G

2016년 2월 24일

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

교육 기관: Brittani G

2019년 1월 15일

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

교육 기관: Cristina S

2017년 9월 14일

A good fun way to learn about the history of ronck. Can't wait to start second p

교육 기관: Josefin

2015년 10월 31일

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.

교육 기관: Marco L

2015년 10월 5일

Simply great, if you like music you can't miss it. Amazing teaching and contents

교육 기관: Michel L

2020년 8월 20일

i learnt a lot in this course, I higly recommend for musicians or fans of music