Chevron Left
The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
634개의 평가
154개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

최상위 리뷰

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

필터링 기준:

The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World의 152개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Lourdes N M

Nov 25, 2018

excelente

교육 기관: Yahli K

Feb 27, 2019

Great!

교육 기관: Elizabeth N C

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent and in depth introduction to the Holocaust, explaining much of the background, history, and events of the first part of WWII for European Jews and the years just prior to it. If you have ever asked yourself "How could this horrific event have happened? What were people doing that it wasn't stopped?" then this course is for you. This is a course I think everyone should take so that we truly learn from history.

교육 기관: Shalom E B D

Jan 30, 2019

Excelent!!!

교육 기관: Phillip H

Mar 16, 2019

This is an excellent class. Professor Dreifuss' lectures were well organized and presented. Being able to hear the lecture and then read the transcript is an excellent learning approach, especially for a poor note taker like me. The topic sequence was logical and led me from the rise of Hitler to the preparation for his final solution. I have read a small number of books on the Holocaust but I found much information that I didn't know I didn't know. I am enrolled in Part II and looking forward to the class. I must also mention the mentor Lilian Zihni. Her critiques of our writing assignments were in many cases detailed additional relevant information.

Most Sincerely, Phil Hawkes Ph.D

교육 기관: Kristina G

Nov 23, 2018

Great tutors. Thanks.

교육 기관: Geoffrey P

Sep 08, 2018

I have learned so much from this insightful and thought provoking series. Thank you!

교육 기관: Jean-Christophe H

Oct 04, 2018

Une excellente première introduction à la Shoah. C'est une occasion de reprendre ce que l'on croyait savoir sur le sujet, connaissances souvent passablement partielles en raison de la masse de ce que l'on est supposé étudier en première/terminale. Les vidéos sont courtes, chaque sujet abordé en profondeur, des compléments sont fournis. Les mentors sont très réactifs ce qui se comprend étant donné le sujet et les individus qui pourraient profiter de failles pour se lancer dans une surenchère dans l'abject. Là, rien de tel.

교육 기관: P.Deepak

Nov 18, 2018

A life changing experience

교육 기관: Angela T

Jul 28, 2017

A really interesting course. The presentation and visuals are particularly good and it is very professionally put together. I am now looking forward to part II.

교육 기관: joe c

Aug 14, 2016

The information was excellent, as the instructors made me feel like I was part of history. Thank you kindly,

Prof.Joseph Camiolo

TCNJ

Sociology and Anthropology

교육 기관: Rayya I

May 04, 2018

An eye opener.

교육 기관: Rodrigo S M M

Sep 12, 2017

A deeply moving course, which offers any and all that may wish to partake of it, valuable insight and information about one of the greatest calamities ever to befall mankind - The Holocaust.

교육 기관: Judith B

May 27, 2017

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Oscar A R B

Jan 07, 2017

Awesome

교육 기관: MRMC

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent historical accounts of the excesses of the hitler regime that hopefully will serve as silent witnesses of history may not reitself.

교육 기관: Guilherme B

Feb 16, 2016

Ótimo curso introdutório!

교육 기관: Andrea E S

Jun 29, 2016

A good compliment for the course of the modern jewish state. It cleared up many doubts. thank you

교육 기관: Dee F

Jun 22, 2016

excellent course very thought provoking thank you

교육 기관: Shagaret

Apr 13, 2016

very interesting and well lead.

교육 기관: Roy S I

Jul 17, 2016

An in-depth survey of the beginnings of the Holocaust, pre-war Jewry, and the sociopolitical atmosphere of the war. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Mar 22, 2018

A very informative course, presented in such a manner that all and everybody will understand the horrors of WW2, and in particular the savage treatment, inflicted by the Nazi's and others, suffered by the Jewish population of Europe. Whilst I was born a Christian I due not practice any form of religion, but I respect all other peoples faith. ~ Steve Winter

교육 기관: Thomas W S

Jan 14, 2018

Excellent class with excellent instruction. Highly recommended to all.

교육 기관: Rocío M E L

Feb 11, 2016

Muchas gracias por darme la oportunidad de tan fabuloso curso. En verdad aprendí nuevas cosas. Espero que pronto puedan abrir el curso con subtitulos en español. Será muy reconfortante para los hispanoparlantes que no dominamos muy bien el inglés. Felicidades!!!! Ah, y abran más cursos sobre la cultura judía, en verdad es muy interesante. Quizá podría haber un curso para aprender algo de

교육 기관: Manfred S

Mar 25, 2016

It is not easy to prepare and present this part of German History without any emotive stance and without condemnation. But you did it brilliant and it was well prepared. I learned a lot and what is most important for me new perspectives with unknown or partial unknown materials. Thank you very much for being a part of this course.