Chevron Left
The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
624개의 평가
151개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

최상위 리뷰

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

필터링 기준:

The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World의 149개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Zully M T

Dec 01, 2017

Excelente

교육 기관: Shirel S

Nov 18, 2017

Wonderful and interesting course, It helped me understand a lot of things about the Holocaust and expended my knowledge significantly.

교육 기관: mansi g

Jul 01, 2018

thanks it is very easy to get high marks

교육 기관: Rodrigo S M M

Sep 12, 2017

A deeply moving course, which offers any and all that may wish to partake of it, valuable insight and information about one of the greatest calamities ever to befall mankind - The Holocaust.

교육 기관: Judith B

May 27, 2017

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Oscar A R B

Jan 07, 2017

Awesome

교육 기관: MRMC

Feb 13, 2016

Excellent historical accounts of the excesses of the hitler regime that hopefully will serve as silent witnesses of history may not reitself.

교육 기관: Rayya I

May 04, 2018

An eye opener.

교육 기관: Andrea E S

Jun 29, 2016

A good compliment for the course of the modern jewish state. It cleared up many doubts. thank you

교육 기관: Shagaret

Apr 13, 2016

very interesting and well lead.

교육 기관: Roy S I

Jul 17, 2016

An in-depth survey of the beginnings of the Holocaust, pre-war Jewry, and the sociopolitical atmosphere of the war. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Miryana V

Apr 27, 2018

This course should be taken by anyone who's interesting in learning about history and cultural beliefs as well as the Holocaust. This is a captivating subject and there's so much to learn about it that one course most definitely wont cover all aspects, but this gives you a lot of insight about how it all started and why it might have taken so long to be stopped. Hopefully, this helps us realize that things like this cannot ever happen again, we need to learn from out past.

교육 기관: Caroline P

Jun 02, 2017

I love this class and cant wait to begin part 2

교육 기관: Pranab B

Jun 14, 2017

I always week when I read or study about the Holocaust but I am happy it got over once for all. Learned so much about how the world shunned them away into darkness. Thank you.

교육 기관: Ricardo P M A

Sep 26, 2017

Excelente curso. Las referencias, los datos, los testimonios, extraordinaria profesora. Un curso totalmente profesional.

교육 기관: Gemma R

May 23, 2018

Essential course for everyone who is learning about the Holocaust.

교육 기관: María J U

Jun 29, 2018

This is an excellent course, which provides the students with interesting and profound analysis of Jewish life before, during and after the Holocaust. What I liked the most, is that each part of the course is viewed in a unique perspective, so it provides a wide range of possibilities of how to approach the different aspects of this terrible time in human history. The discussion prompts encourage the exchange of ideas and are guided by excellent mentors with deep knowledge of the Jewish life, Nazi Germany and the Holocaust.

교육 기관: Dee F

Jun 22, 2016

excellent course very thought provoking thank you

교육 기관: Barbara K A

Sep 05, 2017

Excellent

교육 기관: Reyna G

Oct 29, 2017

Muchas gracias, mi habla natal es el español, sin embargo es un gusto que cuenten con la traducción en mi idioma, sin ello, me hubiera sido imposible estudiar este curso y terminarlo. Felicidades por el gran trabajo que hacen en Coursera. Saludos!

교육 기관: Fion S

Sep 08, 2016

The lecturers are fantastic in explaining the details and information. Really loved it right from the start of the video lectures.

교육 기관: Mei-Ling F

Jan 07, 2017

Pretty amazing course that flipped my cognition towards Nazi and Holocaust!

교육 기관: Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

교육 기관: Antonia T B

May 02, 2018

An excellent course. Very hard and really heart-breaking, like everything related to the Holocaust, but crucial. I read a lot about the Holocaust and I learnt a lot of new things in this course. This course should be compulsory in High School (racism and antisemitism are rampant today). All sufferings are terrible, but never was in the History of Mankind a killing machine so well planned and so supported by the common population that brought millions of men, women, and children to die in gas chambers like in the Holocaust. The Holocaust is an event that has no precedent in History. The genocide was not carried our for reason of territory or even religion. But because of the most irrational antisemitism (that combined Christian antisemitism, racial antisemitism, "conspiracy-paranoia" antisemitism, and redemptive antisemitism). Yehuda Bauer writes: "The Holocaust … is a unique genocide, with unprecedented –and, so far, unrepeated– characteristics (…) The Holocaust has … become the symbol for genocide, racism, for hatred of foreigners, and, of course, for antisemitism”, pp. x–xi / “I think that the planned total murder of a people was an unprecedented catastrophe in human civilization. It happened because it could happen; if it could not have happened, it would not have done so. And because it happened once, it can happen again”, p. 2 (Rethinking the Holocaust). WE REMEMBER.

교육 기관: Guilherme B

Feb 16, 2016

Ótimo curso introdutório!