Chevron Left
The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World(으)로 돌아가기

텔 아비브 대학교의 The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
661개의 평가
160개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

최상위 리뷰

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

필터링 기준:

The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World의 158개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Celia M

Aug 11, 2016

An excellent, thought-provoking course - it has changed the way I think about human beings.

교육 기관: Damon T R

Apr 15, 2018

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I learned from this short course. I originally was just taking it to refresh my memory on the Holocaust due to my wife's German and Jewish heritage. I came away with a fresh perspective that will stay with me for the rest of my life.

교육 기관: Anna N

May 28, 2017

I don't regret taking this course. Shalom.

교육 기관: Thảo P

Jun 08, 2016

Excellent! Very detailed insights

교육 기관: Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

교육 기관: Sharath B R C

Jul 21, 2017

Must for everyone who wishes to understand the destructive capabilities of human mind and the bad old days.

교육 기관: Erika F

Nov 27, 2016

Thank you!

교육 기관: Vanessa C

Feb 13, 2017

The course lets you access a wide range of resources that help you build a deeper understanding of the mass murder of European Jews. The questions in between videos (lessons) are helpful in processing and synthesizing socio-political events and ideologies that led to the holocaust. Two weeks into the lesson and I have never been bored - it is interesting and engaging.

교육 기관: D L Z

Mar 23, 2018

Excellent course and really well taught.

교육 기관: Samantha A

Jan 15, 2017

This course is an invaluable educating experience. I am so grateful to Yad Vashem and to all those who provided us with an extraordinary course. I learned so much in these three weeks and look forward to what I can learn in Part 2.

교육 기관: Alisa Z

Jun 03, 2017

Really enjoyed this new information

교육 기관: Anastasia X

Jan 13, 2017

A great introduction of the prevalent conditions in Europe and Jewish life in relation to the rise of Nazism. Looking forward to Part II with trepidation.

교육 기관: Bogdan P

Oct 02, 2017

Thank you!

교육 기관: Katherine A

Apr 20, 2017

Fantastic!

교육 기관: claudia v b

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic course!

교육 기관: Anwita D

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent course, very detailed!

교육 기관: Vignesh T

Oct 22, 2017

Truly a brilliant course. I recommend this course to anyone who is looking forward to study some topics related to the Jews and Israel.

교육 기관: Vangelis D

Sep 17, 2017

Its an excellent course. I ll follow with the second part for sure!

교육 기관: Robert H

Mar 04, 2016

The main lecturer is a particularly good teacher, who speaks fluently and knowledgeably about this difficult topic. Her empathy is obvious, which makes it that much more meaningful to me. Can't wait to take the second course. A great introduction to the Holocaust.

교육 기관: Shannon O

Jan 04, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Having no previous formal education about WW2 or the Holocaust I found all the topics interesting and a great introduction to the

교육 기관: Estefania A G S

Sep 24, 2017

Is always important meet and have an initial contact with our history in order to learn what we can do and what we can not. Also is important because give us, yhe joung people, tools to fight for our convictions and rights

교육 기관: Leslie C

Nov 01, 2016

Deeply moving and important.

교육 기관: Lana Y

Dec 13, 2016

Wonderful course, very informative and interesting.

교육 기관: Diane N

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

교육 기관: Deleted A

Dec 27, 2016

I'm really enjoying this course. It's teaching so much more information than I already owned about Nazism and WWII.