Chevron Left
Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists(으)로 돌아가기

콜로라도 대학교의 Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
157개의 평가
50개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Welcome to Course 1 in CS4950, Homeland Security and Cybersecruity. In this course we examine the origins of homeland security and its connection with cybersecurity. Homeland security is about safeguarding the United States from domestic catastrophic destruction. Catastrophic destruction comes in two forms: natural and man-made. For most of history the man-made variety came in the form of warfare and required the combined resources of a nation state. All that changed March 20th, 1995. On that date, members of a quasi-religious cult in Japan attacked the Tokyo subway system using Sarin gas. It was the first deployment of a weapon of mass destruction my a non-state actor. The power of destruction once reserved to nation states was now available to small groups, even individuals. The incident was a wake up call for governments around the world. Defense establishments designed to keep rogue states in check were practically useless against non-state actors. Overnight, the number of potential enemies multiplied a hundred, maybe even a thousand-fold. In response to the Tokyo Subway Attacks, the United States took measures to protect itself from WMD attack by non-state actors. Those measures were still being enacted when the nation was attacked on 9/11. On September 11, 2001, nineteen hijackers inflicted as much damage as the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941. The investigating 9/11 Commission noted the attacks for their "surpassing disproportion". The hijackers had achieved WMD effects without using WMD. They did this by subverting the nation's transportation infrastructure, turning passenger jets into guided missiles. Again, the security implications were profound. Non-state actors seeking to inflict domestic catastrophic destruction did not need to import, fabricate, or acquire WMD as the nation was surrounded by the means of its own destruction in the form of critical infrastructure. The vulnerability of critical infrastructure had not gone unnoticed. Again, in response to the Tokyo Subway attacks, which themselves had been an attack on Japanese infrastructure, President Clinton in 1996 commissioned a panel to investigate the threat to United States' infrastructure. The panel replied in 1997 that there was no immediate threat to US infrastructure, but they were concerned with the growing risk of cyber attack. The same cyber physical systems that fueled the explosive growth of the Internet were being incorporated into Industrial Control Systems that underpinned much of the nation's critical infrastructure. The panel noted that the knowledge and skills necessary to mount a cyber attack on the nation's infrastructure was growing. As a result of this observation, President Clinton in 1998 ordered the protection of US critical infrastructure, especially from cyber attack. Following 9/11, critical infrastructure protection and cybersecurity were designated core missions in the 2002 Homeland Security Act establishing the new Department of Homeland Security. They remain core missions to this day, but many don't see the connection. The connection is this: cybersecurity is essential to critical infrastructure protection, which is essential to homeland security, which is about safeguarding the United States from domestic catastrophic destruction. I look forward to working with you in the coming lessons. Best wishes and good luck! Course 1: Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection Course 2: Cybersecurity Policy for Water and Electricity Infrastructures Course 3: Cybersecurity Policy for Aviation and Internet Infrastructures Course 4: Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Future...

최상위 리뷰

AB

Oct 17, 2017

Thank You Mr. Richard White for making a hard course seems easy and enlighten us specially about the "it's all about the terrorist" notion people have when it comes to Homeland Security.

AG

Jan 20, 2019

You changed up the last question. You originally identified 16 critical infrastructures. Could you please email me the first question and solution? Thank you! I loved the course!

필터링 기준:

Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists의 49개 리뷰 중 26~49

교육 기관: Florian F

Mar 17, 2018

This course provides a well structured overview of Homeland Security, Critical Infrastructure and how Cyber Security ties into these topics.

교육 기관: Nicholas H

Jul 27, 2017

I loved the course. I learned so much about the policy documents that are in place and the continuous change in the Sector. This course definitely is great for anyone trying to get into Cyber Security to become familiarized with the material. I recommend Taking all the Practice Quizzes as well as doing the Questions on the Handouts. You still may get a little confused because there are A LOT of acronyms.

교육 기관: L B

Jul 09, 2018

Excellent course. Very clear the expositor. Among the best within Coursera.

교육 기관: Michael A L

Aug 24, 2017

This was a solid, well-composed introduction to homeland security and cybersecurity. The course presented just enough information to encourage continued learning (such as through the next three courses in the 4-course group) without being too esoteric too early.

교육 기관: OTAVIO L R M

Nov 24, 2017

excellent and innovative approach

교육 기관: Kostiantyn G

Mar 11, 2018

Very interesting course.

교육 기관: Jose I

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent learning & practice tool for my life and my job

교육 기관: Farkhondeh S

Jan 22, 2018

I like this course and the instructor, Rick White, is the best.

교육 기관: Elom

May 02, 2019

Excellent course! I learned a great deal about the background for the modern need for cyber security.

교육 기관: Kevin R C

Jun 29, 2019

As a law enforcement officer this course truly broadens my horizon and skillset and I recommend it to anyone who serves on the border.

교육 기관: Sunil M

Aug 10, 2019

Good

교육 기관: Arnon

Aug 21, 2019

A very interesting course. I have one problem. although the course is from an American University and about the U.S. students from other nations, does not need all the information of specific act or departments and their role in homeland security.

교육 기관: Ronnie L P S

Oct 27, 2019

Great course and instructor

교육 기관: Михаил В К

Jan 30, 2019

The course is done professionally and the lecturer provides information - clearly and competently. But, not all knowledge is applied in nature and have professional value.For a general presentation - I advise the course!

교육 기관: Muhammad S Z

Feb 01, 2019

Provides a good overview of Homeland Security and its connection with Cyber Security

교육 기관: Elda Z

Mar 06, 2018

interesting!

교육 기관: Joy S

Apr 03, 2018

pretty interesting

교육 기관: Eyal S

Jan 13, 2018

Basic, need more interesting scenarios

교육 기관: Carlos E M A

Dec 04, 2017

Its a good introduction course in Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists

교육 기관: John W M I

Nov 01, 2017

I only wish the course required mandatory discussions.

교육 기관: Jan S

Feb 16, 2018

Good introduction, to the specialization

교육 기관: Eduardo P

Aug 16, 2017

First question of the last project exam was pointless. It was more an opinion than a fact. It was difficult to get the last exam right because with just two questions you have to get it all right.

교육 기관: Bryan C

Apr 06, 2018

Overall this is a good course and the instructor is easy to listen to and learn from. It is more about government processes and the history that spured government actions than a cybersecurity connection but interesting and well put together. If it had been titled "Homeland Security: Protecting our Infrastrcuture" or something similar it would have gotten 4 starts from me but it seems to be trying to cash in on the high level of cybersecurity interest in the industry.

교육 기관: Andrew S

Oct 21, 2019

Truly Basic Introduction. Videos could be updated and active professor or moderator participation would be an excellent addition. I still learned quite a bit with the readings that were available throughout the course and would consider taking another course with the professor.