Chevron Left
The Brain and Space(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 The Brain and Space 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
313개의 평가
98개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course is about how the brain creates our sense of spatial location from a variety of sensory and motor sources, and how this spatial sense in turn shapes our cognitive abilities. Knowing where things are is effortless. But “under the hood,” your brain must figure out even the simplest of details about the world around you and your position in it. Recognizing your mother, finding your phone, going to the grocery store, playing the banjo – these require careful sleuthing and coordination across different sensory and motor domains. This course traces the brain’s detective work to create this sense of space and argues that the brain’s spatial focus permeates our cognitive abilities, affecting the way we think and remember. The material in this course is based on a book I've written for a general audience. The book is called "Making Space: How the Brain Knows Where Things Are", and is available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or directly from Harvard University Press. The course material overlaps with classes on perception or systems neuroscience, and can be taken either before or after such classes. Dr. Jennifer M. Groh, Ph.D. Professor Psychology & Neuroscience; Neurobiology Duke University www.duke.edu/~jmgroh Jennifer M. Groh is interested in how the brain process spatial information in different sensory systems, and how the brain's spatial codes influence other aspects of cognition. She is the author of a recent book entitled "Making Space: How the Brain Knows Where Things Are" (Harvard University Press, fall 2014). Much of her research concerns differences in how the visual and auditory systems encode location, and how vision influences hearing. Her laboratory has demonstrated that neurons in auditory brain regions are sometimes responsive not just to what we hear but also to what direction we are looking and what visual stimuli we can see. These surprising findings challenge the prevailing assumption that the brain’s sensory pathways remain separate and distinct from each other at early stages, and suggest a mechanism for such multi-sensory interactions as lip-reading and ventriloquism (the capture of perceived sound location by a plausible nearby visual stimulus). Dr. Groh has been a professor at Duke University since 2006. She received her undergraduate degree in biology from Princeton University in 1988 before studying neuroscience at the University of Michigan (Master’s, 1990), the University of Pennsylvania (Ph.D., 1993), and Stanford University (postdoctoral, 1994-1997). Dr. Groh has been teaching undergraduate classes on the neural basis of perception and memory for over fifteen years. She is presently a faculty member at the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience and the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences at Duke University. She also holds appointments in the Departments of Neurobiology and Psychology & Neuroscience at Duke. Dr. Groh’s research has been supported by a variety of sources including the John S. Guggenheim Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program, the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience, the John Merck Scholars Program, the EJLB Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the Whitehall Foundation, and the National Organization for Hearing Research....

최상위 리뷰

KS

Aug 12, 2016

Taught for beginners in a simple and concise way! I especially liked the real life examples given to help students understand the concepts being explained - made it a lot more engaging!

RC

Mar 31, 2019

Enlightening, stimulating, perfect blend of top notch content and understandable videos. Thanks Prof. Groh!!! One of my best courses ever (on/off line)

필터링 기준:

The Brain and Space의 98개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jeffrey B

Jun 08, 2016

This is an excellent MOOC. I am a PhD candidate studying human intelligence and spatial cognition specifically associated with problem solving. The content is very well structured and clearly communicated through the lectures. Having been briefly introduced to some of the concepts in my own studies prior to this course I am finding the difficulty level to be quite nice (challenging yet very manageable). The inclusion of various experiments throughout the course is a good idea as it makes it all very interesting.

교육 기관: Parul M

Jan 26, 2020

This is pretty fun and interesting course! The video lectures are full of very interesting information and if you are interested in learning how the brain works, I am sure you'll be hooked on to it. The exercises sometimes need you to remember concepts, particularly names and I am not a big fan of that. I feel the exercises can be made more interesting and engaging. Dr. Groh regularly links to books and papers to explore more if you want to!

교육 기관: D.

Apr 07, 2017

Really a well thought out course and expertly delivered! I've never had such well explained lectures, using simple terms to explain complex subjects. Our professor is a master at education as well as her subject expertise. This is a great course, a little kooky at times, but just the right amount of kooky to make it more interesting and fun. Thanks for the obvious hard work in producing the course and time expended making it!

교육 기관: Dimitrios S

Sep 27, 2017

I would put this course on the list of my top 5 courses taken in Coursera. Great teacher and great videos with the learning material. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in getting a first insight of the inner workings of the brain in terms of vision and the space perception. Thank you Dr. Jennifer M. Groh and thanks to the Duke University staff for the amazing neuroscience courses they are providing!

교육 기관: Ken W

Nov 24, 2019

Very well presented. Dr Groh is passionate in this space and easy to listen to and lean from. I work a lot with patients who have movement disorders and with other brain lesions, so this course has been very helpful for us in justifying our novel approaches to improving functionality. I have also been concerned of the effects of chronic use of IPods/Headphones on sensory integration of non auditory informations

교육 기관: Alan M

Mar 26, 2017

Fascinating insights on how one's brain orients itself in space via the senses. The lectures are loaded with useful examples, relevant research, and helpful visual aids. The class stirred in me more of an appreciation for the interrelatedness of each of the senses with each other and with memory. Dr. Groh sheds light on several of the brain's strategies for efficiently intrpreting of a complex environment.

교육 기관: Daviid K

Jul 19, 2016

Awesome course. Dr Jennifer Groh uses a wonderful methodology along the modules overlaying clear language, really funny moments, examples in drawings, laboratory and exterior experiments all of them helping to reveal for us the fascinating theme of Brain and Space. Thank you very much for this opportunity.

교육 기관: cuguilke

Apr 15, 2020

A very insightful class. Prof. Gruh has first hand experience (published papers) on the most topics.

A lot of experiments and their paper references are given to show how the neuroscience knowledge has accumulated.

Pretty good. Prettaaaay prettaaaay prettaaaay pretty good.

교육 기관: Erik B

Jul 24, 2019

I enjoyed this class. It presents a nice simple high level overview of how the brain perceives space, which is what I was looking for. After taking this class you'll have a mental "framework" which you can fill in with more detail through additional self guided studying.

교육 기관: Rahul M

Mar 04, 2018

I love courses where the instructor treats you like a smart learner instead of talking down to you, and takes you to the extent of work in the field instead of "making it easy". This course achieved its intended objective very well. Loved the course and the instructor.

교육 기관: Simonov O

May 28, 2017

An excellent course that helps to better understand the complex functions of the brain. It covers some areas which were not discussed in the Medical Neuroscience Course by Duke University. Unfortunately, this course ended very quickly. I would like to learn more.

교육 기관: Manvi j

Apr 05, 2020

This course was really fun with so many exciting elements like the Eyeballs Head Cap, interesting videos like that of VS Ramachandran, many studies were introduced, all that stuff made it really easy and pleasant. Such a teacher is a bliss. Cheers to Ms Groh!

교육 기관: Karthik S K

Jul 25, 2016

No words to describe Dr.Groh's amazing lectures. A Must do session for those people, who are not only interested in neuroscience, but had the curiosity to wonder about our brains contemplating our world and also contemplating itself contemplating the world!

교육 기관: Zeel B G

Aug 05, 2019

This course helped me understand my brain better. And being a psychology student and learning cognitive psychology it gave me answers to many of my unsolved questions. Now whenever i look at something my brain automatically traces back to these videos.

교육 기관: Poroykova K

Jan 16, 2020

Course is well structured. The information is clear and lectures from next week logically add more completeness to the understanding of the topic. I liked that the course was short, it was easier for me to find the time. Thank you all!

교육 기관: Anand R U

May 04, 2020

This course was very special to me, as a kid I always wondered how we think (thoughts). I can definetly say that I got to know the toolkit that actually happens in the Brain. Loved and enjoyed every seeison by Professor J. Groh

교육 기관: Fisico R B

Jun 06, 2017

Magnifico curso, como Físico y estudiante de Psicología me ha servido mucho y espero que resuelva mis dudas, sobre como el cerebro representa al Espacio, Gracias a la Dra. Jennifer Goth y a la Universidad de Duke.

교육 기관: marc k

Jun 01, 2020

course was very well taught, numerous references for further study, engaging by someone who conveys the passion she has for the subject. also challenged you to think (separating your brain and thoughts)

교육 기관: kiruthicka s

Aug 12, 2016

Taught for beginners in a simple and concise way! I especially liked the real life examples given to help students understand the concepts being explained - made it a lot more engaging!

교육 기관: Rodrigo F G

Jun 17, 2017

Great course !!! The information provided within the course was complete and easy to understand without oversimplifying the topics along with applicable to daily use concepts and work.

교육 기관: Rogerio d L e S

Aug 13, 2016

Great course! I recommend to all who yearn for differentiated superior knowledge, which will surely make a difference in your curriculum. Part of Pure Neurociencia. I recommend !!!

교육 기관: Roberto C

Mar 31, 2019

Enlightening, stimulating, perfect blend of top notch content and understandable videos. Thanks Prof. Groh!!! One of my best courses ever (on/off line)

교육 기관: Naokichi D

Jan 03, 2018

Brilliant! I'm taking this while reading Steven Pinker's 'How The Mind Works' and all the overlap makes the learning experience even more fun.

교육 기관: Robert T

Mar 15, 2017

Loved it. I took another class from Duke related to visual perception and was equally satisfied with the detail, and pace, of the course.

교육 기관: Renugadevi K

May 26, 2020

It was really interesting lectures. The quiz session was really a motivating task to do and make us to study in depth in future