학생용
Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,714개의 평가
502개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

최상위 리뷰

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

필터링 기준:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics의 494개 리뷰 중 451~475

교육 기관: Mustapha K

May 14, 2017

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

교육 기관: Kathleen K

May 15, 2016

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

교육 기관: Genevieve L D K

Oct 21, 2019

Very enjoyable however, I feel that Quiz Three needs to be looked over for software problems.

교육 기관: Antonella C

Nov 23, 2018

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.

교육 기관: Tianyu Z

Jun 12, 2020

It is a great introduction course, covering every aspect related to linguistics.

교육 기관: Laureen E

Sep 17, 2019

First course tried.. succeeded! Very informative and nice to work on! Thank you

교육 기관: André P

Apr 09, 2018

Interesting course, I've learned a lot of things about studying languages.

교육 기관: Jia W

Jun 21, 2016

some problems in quiz part are confusing... but nice course in general

교육 기관: Gautam M

Oct 03, 2020

An eye-opener and a game changer course to understand humanity.

교육 기관: Nathalie v L

Nov 05, 2019

great course. Great refresher 30 years after college.

교육 기관: Mohammed A A A

May 21, 2020

One of the most brilliant courses I have ever taken!

교육 기관: Osnat B

Apr 05, 2019

Wide-angle, general introductory course. Engaging.

교육 기관: Ruben A M d C

Jan 28, 2017

Interesting content, but still a bit buggy...

교육 기관: Fernando C M

Jan 02, 2020

Good course, nice teachers, good material

교육 기관: Dorothy H

Sep 26, 2016

The interview with Chomsky a real treat.

교육 기관: Cecilia C

Jun 26, 2017

Very interesting course! Thank you!

교육 기관: Dennis M

May 21, 2020

Great introduction to linguistics.

교육 기관: Rizky A D

Nov 06, 2016

101 linguistics

교육 기관: Wang x

Feb 09, 2017

great course!

교육 기관: Warren C

Sep 22, 2019

Too difficult for an introductory course. Ambiguous information. Time estimates are way off. Not what I expected. Rather provincial in its approach. Guess I'm just not cut out to be a linguist. Answers to the tests are not available or derivable from the lectures and required readings. I've read a lot of articles and books, particularly about neurolinguistics and the intersection between linguistics and genomics and the information in the course does not really assist with understanding what I've been reading, though I can sort of see how the authors might have made use of some of the things presented here. The interview with Chomsky was particularly useless.

교육 기관: Nina F

Feb 29, 2020

This course was interesting. It was interesting learning about linguistics and the various things related to languages. The only problem was that the quizzes were too hard. I feel like the quizzes were too hard for an introductory course to Linguistics. Many times, it was frustrating because it took me two or three tries just to pass them. I feel like this had a lot to do with how the questions were set up and through how it seemed like the answers to those questions weren't in the source material. My one recommendation would be to improve the quizzes.

교육 기관: Laura J

Aug 22, 2019

The content was very interesting and offered in coherent ways. The quizzes, however, were more challenging than they needed to be. A lot of the questions were asked in unusual and unclear ways which made answering it very difficult because I wasn't always sure what exactly they were asking. I also found it difficult to know what exactly the answers meant as they often didn't correspond exactly to the way things were said in the lectures and readings, so even if you followed the content closely the answers didn't always make sense.

교육 기관: Nobuko H

May 24, 2020

This course is good for those who are interested in linguistics and thinking of starting a professional linguistic studies. The course introduces some major linguistic subfields: linguistic typologist, neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, phonologist, etc., but it's only introductions. You need to delve into the subfield you've got interested in if you want to really know about the specifics. A variety of reading materials are offered, and you can explore miracles of languages as much as you like!

교육 기관: María P S

Jul 12, 2019

The ethnologue is a mess, and I don't think a linguistics course should depend on a website to pass not only some questions, but almost half of a module, because you can understand perfectly what people is saying about their languages and you can formulate accurate questions that can be answered with the information given, and not researching in a web that has different content than the course provides, or changes the numbers, or absolutely ignore some important facts of languages searched.

교육 기관: Jeremy S

Jan 31, 2020

It is a decent course that teaches the very basics of linguistics. It covers the topics of a Linguistics 101 course but no topic is explored in depth. It seems that some of the topics mentioned are barely even touched (e.g., Week 5 - Language in the Brain). Professor Oostendorp is a good lecturer but the lectures are not presented for easy notetaking. You should be prepared to make your own notes from the video lectures given few summaries/bulleted lists/etc.