학생용
Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,888개의 평가
569개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

최상위 리뷰

DC
2017년 9월 23일

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
2019년 3월 21일

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

필터링 기준:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics의 561개 리뷰 중 426~450

교육 기관: Matheus A

2017년 8월 14일

Awesome course!

교육 기관: Linda K

2017년 2월 8일

Great course!!

교육 기관: Evgeniya V

2019년 12월 15일

Great Course!

교육 기관: Charles M

2018년 10월 9일

really worthy

교육 기관: Sayar G R

2017년 8월 6일

It was great.

교육 기관: ABDUR R

2020년 5월 6일

Nice course

교육 기관: Abdadiam A

2017년 6월 17일

Great !!!!!

교육 기관: Jee Y K

2017년 1월 28일

fascinating

교육 기관: Juliana

2017년 1월 1일

Thank you!

교육 기관: John W

2020년 9월 26일

Loved it!

교육 기관: daniel d

2020년 3월 4일

Excellent

교육 기관: petya

2018년 12월 17일

brilliant

교육 기관: adriano m

2017년 11월 22일

very good

교육 기관: Géraldine G

2017년 7월 28일

Excellent

교육 기관: Daniel V

2017년 5월 26일

muy bueno

교육 기관: Pham V C

2020년 6월 15일

Good !

교육 기관: Theodoro C F

2017년 10월 9일

Great!

교육 기관: Ken

2017년 8월 7일

非常好的课程

교육 기관: Le T T H

2020년 7월 4일

good

교육 기관: Quan T P

2020년 6월 15일

good

교육 기관: Yao M

2019년 9월 24일

Fun!

교육 기관: Tran T H N ( H

2021년 3월 11일

no

교육 기관: Lorena R d l M

2020년 3월 23일

.

교육 기관: Christopher B

2017년 8월 14일

Overall, I really enjoyed this class. It gave me an excellent overview of linguistics as the scientific study of language. The presentation style was really engaging as Maarten interacts with Martin, Inge and guests. The downloadable lecture transcripts were fantastic. That said, I have a few suggestions:

1) Include more free online resources. Most the background reading material were Amazon books, which are expensive if you come from a country with a weak currency. On the practical note, most telelearners like myself don't have time to read an entire book. It would have been far better to include journeys.

2) If students want to do the honours course, allow them to study on a different academic schedule. I found it impossible to complete research assignments and tests at the same.

3) A few assessment questions were poorly phrased and this leads to confusion on the single and multiple select quizzes.

4) Commenting and replying to questions wasn't that interactive. Hoping that somebody would randomly reply or comment to your answer was frustrating. If we were paired up with online study partners, we could discuss topics together.

5)Lastly, fix for typos on course material and tests.

MOOC's are definitely the future of education in an increasing globalized and connected world. Thank you for a great module.

교육 기관: Ralitsa N

2018년 10월 14일

The course is interesting and offers a theoretical basis together with real language examples, that is a good combination when trying to put some of the theory in practice. The interviews with researchers also offer different perspective into interesting topics. What I consider not quite well accomplished are the tests: some offer incorrect answers to questions that already have been pointed out, as mentioned by the staff, in previous editions. Not having them corrected rests credibility to the entire course material. The final test includes some questions that although having relationship with a particular module, are hardly something relevant to take away from this course (e.g. in what sentence did a language informant repeat a nasal sound as a result of a speech error). If we consider tests as a learning tool, as they should be, the way they are designed should be more careful and meaningful to the learner. Despite the parts that to me need improvement, I want to thank to everybody involved in preparing and offering this MOOC, as I know from personal experience how challenging this can be.