Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,764개의 평가
527개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

최상위 리뷰

DC
2017년 9월 23일

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP
2017년 1월 2일

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

필터링 기준:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics의 519개 리뷰 중 451~475

교육 기관: Elena A

2017년 5월 2일

It is a nice course, very well organized for those you are eager to learn about the theoritical aspects of linguistics, such as semantics, morphology. Every video has several quizes, just like every module. I would surely recommend it to anyone.

교육 기관: Serhii M

2020년 8월 27일

Very interesting and useful course albeit not too deep. It would be great to deepen the covered topics (not to make the course longer!) by adding additional materials for reading and viewing and by making the quizes bigger. Thank you!

교육 기관: Gustavo C d M

2016년 6월 26일

VERY good content and classes! Some questions in the quizzes are confusing, and there was the trouble with the required reading for Week 3. The first Honors assignment is confusing - specially its very last input question.

교육 기관: Lucy S

2017년 8월 29일

It's an excellent introduction to linguistics! This course gives learners a general picture of how the field of linguistics look like. Assignments and assessments are of moderate difficulty. Definitely worth taking it!

교육 기관: Elisabet S

2016년 11월 11일

Sometimes it was hard to understand the concept the professor was trying to make, because some grammatical forms were wrong and therefore the whole concept misleading. Otherwise very interesting course and thank you!

교육 기관: J. E

2019년 10월 11일

The course is excellent and the videos are very entertaining and engaging. The only problem I had was that the test questions were sometimes confusing and several of their answers could be considered true.

교육 기관: Yaroslava F

2017년 6월 22일

This was an interesting but challenging course. What I would recommend as an improvements is that the quizzes included comments for wrong answers and suggestions what material to re-read or listen.

교육 기관: Juan A M O

2020년 6월 30일

It is a great course. With truly interesting guests, well organized, with helpful complementary material (Ethnologue and papers). The only thing to fix are some quizzes (specially, the first one).

교육 기관: Pascal W

2019년 7월 21일

I am essentially learning languages for work or for fun but this course gave me an opportunity to consolidate some knowledge / understanding about languages and across many languages. Excellent!

교육 기관: SUZANNE R

2017년 8월 13일

Good introduction to linguistics led by a charming Professor with great enthusiasm for his subject. It was certainly enough to convince me that the study of linguistics is not for me

교육 기관: Zhibiao Z

2017년 4월 7일

It's fantastic to have a brief look into the intriguing Linguistics. There's so much to learn. But some of the readings and test might be too difficult and improper for a beginner.

교육 기관: Sara M A

2018년 3월 25일

There's just one problem: the exams. The questions and logic behind the answers are not clear enough. It's an excellent course and certainly, it would be relevant to my career.

교육 기관: Naija1

2020년 4월 27일

The course was a nice introduction to linguistics, many topics were covered, but not in a very detailed way. I was expecting more examples from different languages.

교육 기관: Ewa P

2016년 8월 13일

Interesting way of presenting the basics of linguistics. Helps a lot to organise crucial informatinon in one's memory. Lessons, however, are too similar.

교육 기관: Jianqiu C

2020년 11월 17일

Good introduction course for linguistics, although some quiz questions are asked ambiguously and no choises looks right, and no one knows the answer.

교육 기관: Nata S

2017년 11월 12일

A very nice introduction, covers a variety of topics that different branches of linguistics study, is not theory-heavy and is quite entertaining.

교육 기관: William F

2017년 6월 10일

This is a decent introduction to the field of linguistics that is easy to understand and accessible to those without previous content knowledge.

교육 기관: Mel

2018년 6월 25일

A comprehensive introductory course to the study of linguistics. Would be even better if it covers more applied linguistics topics.

교육 기관: Daniele C R

2016년 10월 9일

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

교육 기관: Liz J

2016년 9월 11일

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I wish there had been more interaction in the discussions, though.

교육 기관: Xiaoyun Y

2019년 3월 12일

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

교육 기관: Mustapha K

2017년 5월 14일

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

교육 기관: Kathleen K

2016년 5월 15일

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

교육 기관: Genevieve L D K

2019년 10월 21일

Very enjoyable however, I feel that Quiz Three needs to be looked over for software problems.

교육 기관: Antonella C

2018년 11월 23일

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.