Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,974개의 평가
597개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

최상위 리뷰

DC
2017년 9월 23일

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
2019년 3월 21일

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

필터링 기준:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics의 596개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Dana K

2019년 9월 16일

Loved this course. The teaching was very well done and kept me interested. After this course I applied to University to begin my studies in LInguistics. Thank you all for this wonderful course. Would recommend

교육 기관: Ryan T M

2018년 10월 15일

Very interestding course. Covers just enough to make it achievable, but also opens the door to a lot in terms of linguistic study. Definitely recommended to anybody who is interested in language and culture.

교육 기관: Lucrecia F

2016년 12월 4일

Good course for beginners. It's very basic if you already have some background in language studies. I would recommend this course to people who are considering studying Language or Linguistics at university.

교육 기관: Darsving O E M

2016년 11월 8일

This course is really great and very enriching, specially when you want to have a general view about Linguistics, and at the same time, you get the tools to make a simple but precise analysis of languages.

교육 기관: Marian B G

2017년 2월 24일

Simply GREAT! I can't even express how thankful I am for the amazing information presented in such an understandable way, yet it was challenging. My highest respect to the team in charge of this course!!!

교육 기관: Lindsey N

2017년 5월 1일

I'm only on the first lesson and feel I have learned so much! Thank you for making the course materials free for those of us not going for the certificate but are just learning because it's interesting.

교육 기관: John C

2019년 3월 28일

I found this course extremely challenging. Which I love. I now have a whole know respect for the learners of languages, and the people who study linguistics. I am glad I took part in this program.

교육 기관: Silvana H O

2020년 8월 26일

Es una gran herramienta para introducirse en el estudio de la linguistica, a mi me ha sido muy util, los conceptos son muchas veces más profundos que básicos. la enseñanza es divertida y amigable.

교육 기관: Erik J

2019년 4월 19일

A very good course; but maybe I'm prejudiced because Leiden is my favourite University.:)

Een zeer goede cursus; maar misschien ben ik bevooroordeeld omdat Leiden mijn favoriete universiteit is. :)

교육 기관: Laurie K

2018년 11월 2일

Very interesting course, well-made videos, interesting interviews and reading materials. Would definitely recommend this course to people who want to know more about different aspects of language.

교육 기관: Abhinav S

2017년 3월 21일

This is one of the best MOOCs I've participated in. The lectures are engaging and the student community is vibrant! If you plan to improve your knowledge about the beauty of Languages - Go for it!

교육 기관: Daniel M D

2020년 8월 14일

A great introductory course with solid theoretical knowledge and practical exercises to implement the acquired information. I would recommend this course to any language enthusiast! Dank je wel!

교육 기관: asokan

2020년 11월 29일

I knew nothing about linguistics and wanted a basic, but rigorous, introduction. This course did just that. My only wish is that the course had some exercises that would have made me learn IPA!

교육 기관: Stylianos F

2017년 10월 8일

I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in Linguistics and languages, especially beginners. I enjoyed it and learned very much and I feel ready to continue my studies in this field.

교육 기관: Katie E

2020년 3월 24일

This course was fascinating, and the professor and his students were very personable. You can tell that they love the subject they're teaching, and that makes the material even more palatable.

교육 기관: Bhaskar P

2018년 9월 21일

Dr. Van Oostendorp and Leiden University have created a course of outstanding quality. It far exceeded my expectations and has provided an excellent introduction to the subject of Linguistics.

교육 기관: Laurel B

2017년 3월 28일

I found this course to be not only educational but extremely interesting. It provides a great overview of the field of linguistics and does so in an engaging manner. I highly recommend it!

교육 기관: Jaume R

2020년 7월 13일

Really great course. The professor really shows his enthusiasm in teaching linguistics. The only thing that I can say is that I'd like a course as a way of continuing to learn linguistics

교육 기관: Brittany O

2017년 8월 22일

I loved this course. The professor does a fabulous job explaining the material and bringing in others to show the material's relevance.

It was very interesting and I want to learn more!

교육 기관: Maria V G R

2016년 8월 19일

It was very interesting and you get to understand a lot about Linguistics, considering the amount of time it requires. It also makes the most of the platform, so it's really well made.

교육 기관: Armas M

2019년 1월 13일

My time with this course was awesome...I learned things more than my expectations ....

thanks coursera

especially thanks to " Professor Marc Van Oostendorp",doing a great job ...

교육 기관: Santiago N

2018년 6월 25일

Wonderfully explained and made with passion, this course introduces us to some basic knowledge of linguistics in the best way possible: by making it fun and completely understandable.

교육 기관: Blade F

2016년 6월 8일

I would highly recommend this course! The instructor presents the material in a clear and effective manner, the subject is interesting, and the work fits well and is not overwhelming.

교육 기관: Tanya M

2018년 5월 14일

love this course - it's really great! Working with native speakers of different languages was difficult but fascinating. Interview with Noam Chomsky totally defeat me. I'm impressed.