Chevron Left
Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation (으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,215개의 평가
207개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Confidence intervals and Hypothesis tests are very important tools in the Business Statistics toolbox. A mastery over these topics will help enhance your business decision making and allow you to understand and measure the extent of ‘risk’ or ‘uncertainty’ in various business processes. This is the third course in the specialization "Business Statistics and Analysis" and the course advances your knowledge about Business Statistics by introducing you to Confidence Intervals and Hypothesis Testing. We first conceptually understand these tools and their business application. We then introduce various calculations to constructing confidence intervals and to conduct different kinds of Hypothesis Tests. These are done by easy to understand applications. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. Please note that earlier versions of Microsoft Excel (2007 and earlier) will not be compatible to some Excel functions covered in this course. WEEK 1 Module 1: Confidence Interval - Introduction In this module you will get to conceptually understand what a confidence interval is and how is its constructed. We will introduce the various building blocks for the confidence interval such as the t-distribution, the t-statistic, the z-statistic and their various excel formulas. We will then use these building blocks to construct confidence intervals. Topics covered include: • Introducing the t-distribution, the T.DIST and T.INV excel functions • Conceptual understanding of a Confidence Interval • The z-statistic and the t-statistic • Constructing a Confidence Interval using z-statistic and t-statistic WEEK 2 Module 2: Confidence Interval - Applications This module presents various business applications of the confidence interval including an application where we use the confidence interval to calculate an appropriate sample size. We also introduce with an application, the confidence interval for a population proportion. Towards the close of module we start introducing the concept of Hypothesis Testing. Topics covered include: • Applications of Confidence Interval • Confidence Interval for a Population Proportion • Sample Size Calculation • Hypothesis Testing, An Introduction WEEK 3 Module 3: Hypothesis Testing This module introduces Hypothesis Testing. You get to understand the logic behind hypothesis tests. The four steps for conducting a hypothesis test are introduced and you get to apply them for hypothesis tests for a population mean as well as population proportion. You will understand the difference between single tail hypothesis tests and two tail hypothesis tests and also the Type I and Type II errors associated with hypothesis tests and ways to reduce such errors. Topics covered include: • The Logic of Hypothesis Testing • The Four Steps for conducting a Hypothesis Test • Single Tail and Two Tail Hypothesis Tests • Guidelines, Formulas and an Application of Hypothesis Test • Hypothesis Test for a Population Proportion • Type I and Type II Errors in a Hypothesis WEEK 4 Module 4: Hypothesis Test - Differences in Mean In this module, you'll apply Hypothesis Tests to test the difference between two different data, such hypothesis tests are called difference in means tests. We will introduce the three kinds of difference in means test and apply them to various business applications. We will also introduce the Excel dialog box to conduct such hypothesis tests. Topics covered include: • Introducing the Difference-In-Means Hypothesis Test • Applications of the Difference-In-Means Hypothesis Test • The Equal & Unequal Variance Assumption and the Paired t-test for difference in means. • Some more applications...

최상위 리뷰

AU

2020년 5월 5일

The statistical concepts and methods are very well explained in an easy to understand manner. Good examples are given to demonstrate application of the cocepts and methods in business environment.

M

2020년 8월 20일

This course was very useful for me. We have learnt many interesting things of statistics like t statistic, t distribution, z statistics, confidence interval, sample proportion, hypothesis etc.

필터링 기준:

Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation 의 207개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Asmat u

2020년 5월 6일

The statistical concepts and methods are very well explained in an easy to understand manner. Good examples are given to demonstrate application of the cocepts and methods in business environment.

교육 기관: MADHUSHREE R

2020년 8월 21일

This course was very useful for me. We have learnt many interesting things of statistics like t statistic, t distribution, z statistics, confidence interval, sample proportion, hypothesis etc.

교육 기관: Patara K

2020년 8월 19일

Very clear explanation with short context by the lecturer and provide a very useful and usable for my professional career. Thank you so much for created this good courses and specialization.

교육 기관: Stacy K

2020년 11월 27일

I am very thankful for taking this course. Thank you for the Dr. teaching this Course. I have learnt a lot new things that I didn't know how to do in Excel, I loved hypothesis Testing !

교육 기관: Carlos J B A

2019년 6월 9일

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

교육 기관: Daniela M

2020년 6월 10일

Very useful course, before taking it I had troubles understanding some things about the t tests and with a lot of problems to formulate hypothesis. Now it is crystal clear.

교육 기관: Shady N S

2018년 11월 26일

I am from Applied Statistics background, and I used to do these tests by hands. I really have enjoyed doing them on Excel as well. Thanks for this amazing course! :)

교육 기관: Saurav K

2020년 5월 20일

IT's amazing everyone can do as it covers all the basics from scratch so i will recommend to all who wants to get a carrier in business statistics and analysis.

교육 기관: Ameya A K

2020년 7월 22일

Sharad Sir Rocks!!!

Cleared concepts about confidence interval pending from last so many years and now 99% confident to teach this topic !

Lucid Explanation!

교육 기관: Ann A o

2021년 11월 20일

i really enjoyed learning this topic. some areas might have been a bit challenging but the teacher did an excellent job at explaining everything in detail.

교육 기관: Theophilus A

2020년 8월 31일

Great knowledge received from Prof Borle. I am truly grateful for the easy and elaborate explanations to make the course really understandable. Thank you.

교육 기관: Vipul J

2020년 7월 31일

Amazing course and it covers everything about hypothesis testing that one needs to know and it has been explained without going too deep in the concept.

교육 기관: Bonnie A K

2021년 10월 4일

I felt this course was organized well and easy to follow with helpful examples and exercises. The instructor paces well and provides good explanations.

교육 기관: DEEPTI C

2019년 1월 12일

Course is very well organized and the concepts are explained in a very simple and effective way.

The weekly exercises provide a good hands on practice.

교육 기관: Saiful R

2020년 9월 29일

Saya belajar banyak tentang Hypothesis Testing dan penerapnnya dalam bisnis, materi dan praktik dengan excel disampaikan dengan baik dan terstruktur.

교육 기관: Bhavin C

2019년 11월 19일

Great job in simplifying the explanation of paired t-tests. I had studied it before but did not fully understand it till after taking this course.

교육 기관: ARVIND K S

2019년 3월 15일

Probably the best course on confidence intervals and hypothesis testing. A must for all engineering and management students and managers.

교육 기관: Mohammad R

2021년 1월 6일

Wonderful insight into the excel applications of statistics and increased my confidence. Looking forward to attending all the courses.

교육 기관: Sidhyant K U

2020년 5월 25일

This course is Well designed to know about hypothesis testing and its application in real life. But you need to have prior knowledge.

교육 기관: joash d

2021년 3월 7일

well explained well articulated, course era you are my heroes, i have been taught with the best during the lessons i just love it

교육 기관: Amit S

2020년 6월 22일

One of the best courses for learning applications of Statistics on the real-world with examples taken from real-world scenarios.

교육 기관: Gabriel A F G

2020년 9월 22일

Muy buen curso, explica de manera concisa los fundamentos de cada método aplicado y luego muestra y explica ejemplos reales.

교육 기관: Siddharth S

2018년 1월 22일

Great course to master inferential statistics. Learnt a lot in this course and will be applying the learnings in the future.

교육 기관: Oliver W

2018년 1월 28일

An incredibly good course. Having studied business statistics years ago I needed a refresher and this was just the ticket.

교육 기관: Rajat g

2020년 6월 26일

Just amazing, thoroughly enjoyed the course, the instructor explains every concept with examples and explains so nicely.