Chevron Left
Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
797개의 평가
157개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

최상위 리뷰

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

OZ

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

필터링 기준:

Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function의 158개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Ghada G H

Jul 27, 2020

Prof Dr Alma was amazing in describing and repeating each detail of the course

the questions she offered after each video were very helpful to keep your attention

the duration of the video was very appropriate not too long yo be boring or distracting

the PDF of the course was very helpful

thank you very much Dr Alma.

교육 기관: Gerissa F

Jun 07, 2020

Great course. I came into this with a basic understanding of biology and genetics but little to no background in immunology, and found the course quite easy to follow. I really like the shorter video lecture segments and the practice quizzes after each lecture to ensure the material was understood.

교육 기관: Shashi K S V

Jun 01, 2020

This course was really amazing. I can now say that I have learnt the concepts very well. Concepts in this course are taught with pictures and animation, so it becomes pretty easy to understand. Quizzes at the end of each lessons make us thorough with the concept. I Enjoyed this course.

교육 기관: Robert E K P

Jul 02, 2020

I enjoyed the class and found it an excellent way to review material that I haven't looked at in several years. I enjoyed the material on the molecular biology of the gene rearrangements that take place during Ig development. I'm looking forward to the next class.

교육 기관: Sakhile S N

Oct 20, 2019

This was an excellent course, it helped me a lot, i took it co-requisitly with my university one, i felt i gained more here than i did with my university module.

Dr Alma Moon Novotny was awesome, she recapped and spoke slow enough for me to grasp the concepts.

교육 기관: Diana B

May 26, 2020

By far, the best online course I have ever taken. It completely exceeded my expectations. The professor is inspiring and she teaches every topic thinking about better ways for you to learn (cartoons, animations, 3D models, etc). I am extremely thankful.

교육 기관: Prabin K

Sep 23, 2019

It is a nice lecture series. Helpful in understanding the concepts of immunology. Most of the concepts of immunology are clearly explain diagrammatically that helps me easily understand the things.

Lastly, thank you , professor, for such a lucid lecture

교육 기관: Sunil S

Apr 13, 2020

The best and well-organized course for beginners and also for intermediates. It was like blessing fro me to joining this course and learning and clearing the basics concepts of immunology. I am falling in love with this course.....

교육 기관: Sumitra P L

Jun 11, 2020

So far, I am thoroughly enjoying this course. I love the enthusiasm and passion that the teacher teaches with. Moreover, I love how the teacher has summarized all the major concepts into tables, making it easier to remember them.

교육 기관: Durbar S

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent! Videos are enough. may require re-watching. Professor

Alma Moon Novotny was really good. She's cute and has come up with lot of techniques to make things harder to forget. Would love to take more courses.

교육 기관: AARON L A R

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

교육 기관: Oleg Z

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

교육 기관: VISHAL R L

Aug 07, 2020

Actually I'm the person who hate immunology because of lot of complications and terminologies involved. But this course helped me to clear those concepts and learn immunology in a better way.

교육 기관: Sandy

Mar 31, 2020

Professor Novotny is one of the best teachers I have seen, she has such a good sense of humor and she makes learning fun and easy....and I love the owl T-Shirts she wears! 8-)

교육 기관: Luisa F D B

Jul 27, 2020

I really liked this course, I am a doctorate student with no medical or human biology background so this course was a really great start for me to introduce myself in immunology

교육 기관: Muhammed S K M

Jun 09, 2020

The way of teaching and the way of conducting tests are excellent. I was not much interested in immunology until I start this course but now I started loving the subject.

교육 기관: Irina S

Mar 29, 2020

This is an amazing course where all scientific materials presented in a very interesting, engaging and easily comprehensive way be the brilliant Professor A. M. Novotny

교육 기관: harshal

Dec 13, 2019

This course is an amazing introduction to immunology. It really helps to understand the basic concepts and helps to alleviate the theories and understand them better.

교육 기관: Jorge L D L C O

Dec 03, 2019

Excelente curso, Alma Moon es una profesora muy didáctica. El curso se aprovecha mejor si uno ya tiene algún acercamiento con la inmunología. Gracias Rice University.

교육 기관: Mahima D

Jul 28, 2020

A difficult course for non-biologists explained in a very simple manner. I really liked the energy which with the instructor takes these classes. Appreciate it!

교육 기관: Jorge L L S

Jul 18, 2020

It was an amazing course, In med school we don't receive enough immunology classes and It's really important for understanding each disease and their treatment.

교육 기관: Samantha L

May 11, 2020

Professor Novotny creatively engages students and makes learning interesting and understandable. I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it.

교육 기관: Dr. J M

Jul 11, 2020

I was very happy and benefitted learning this online course. Hope this has improved my basic/fundamental in immunology and will help my research as well.

교육 기관: Snega M D S

Jul 03, 2020

I really loved the course and it did meet my expectation. But if the content were organised it could have been great. My instructor was really amazing.

교육 기관: Irune I P B

May 29, 2020

Muy bueno, realmente está bien explicado. Es una materia compleja pero no se nota por como se explica. Muy dinámico y didáctico. Totalmente recomendado