Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,199개의 평가
393개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 392개 리뷰 중 376~392

교육 기관: Reagan D

Aug 21, 2019

I loved it. I'm from Alabama and work with Indigenous peoples all over Canada. This is an amazing course that we will use as we bring people in to our ministry as a first thing to complete. Thanks so much for doing this!

교육 기관: Deborah M

Oct 06, 2019

I learned quite a bit in the course. I found out that even as a metis person, I had many misconceptions about current issues and history.

교육 기관: Stefanie T

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the learning and the content, but the format became repetitive. it would have been nice to have other activities and types of presentations rather than just videos of people talking and a reading overview in each module.

교육 기관: Margaux P

Oct 03, 2019

Very interesting with good orators. Maybe a bit too long from time to time but it feels so good to have such a large view on the history and culture of Indigenous Canadians. Thanks!

교육 기관: Timothy L

Oct 20, 2019

Excellent course with broad applicability for all Canadians, especially non-Indigenous Canadians looking to learn about Canada's relationship with Indigenous peoples. Could have used more groups discussion or interactive portions.

교육 기관: Ingrid H

Nov 08, 2019

Great course, enjoyed it much! The faculty presentations could use more examples. For instance, when watching the last week on art, I would have loved to have seen pictures instead of only the descriptions of the art work!

교육 기관: Paula B

Feb 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and I feel that I learned a lot from it, but I found that the quality of the lectures and the course reading materials, as well as the quizzes, went down toward the end of the course, in particular in the last three modules, and that some of the information presented was superficial and perhaps one-sided.

교육 기관: Jillian P

Oct 25, 2018

There was a great amount of insightful information; however, I found the quizzes to be rather difficult. Many of the questions were worded in a way that made it nearly impossible to be 100% sure about your answers.

교육 기관: Caelyn M

Aug 18, 2017

Some really interesting material. It changed my views on things like the economy of Canada in its earliest days and the relationship between resource extraction and colonialism. I really appreciated the inclusion of first nations feminists and of queer indigenous people. It felt a bit shallow though, and I would have appreciate greater depth. I hope there will more MOOCs on indigenous issues.

교육 기관: Karen L C

Jun 17, 2018

Good info on the early years of contact and the fur trade. Nice imagery. I was not in agreement with some of the material, finding a fraction of it inaccurate. For example, the statement made that there was less logging since certain indigenous / provincial / federal agreements were made on the northwest coast is not accurate.

교육 기관: Jonas J

Dec 20, 2017

I'm Metis and I'm really disappointed in this course. Indian history is amazing, from the slave trading Haida navy to the cannibalistic tendencies of the Iroquois and Kwakiutl, Indians were dynamic and efficient stone age warriors, hunters, and killers. But you would never know it from this course. The politically correct presenters portray the Indians as peace loving beatniks who had their love-in trampled by land robbing immigrants.

교육 기관: DJ P

Mar 18, 2018

Lots of unnecessary material and extremely longwinded presentation. If you can make the video play back rate to 4x speed that would greatly assist.

교육 기관: Jesse G

Dec 05, 2018

This was propaganda with a major political agenda. Production values were good, but the one-sided slant of the material is inexcusable.

교육 기관: Michael G

Jun 14, 2017

This was my first experience with a MOOC and perhaps will be my last. I suspect courses like this are a large part of the reason that universities are losing both credibility and relevance in the eyes of the public and employers. The complete lack of objectivity presented in a so-called academic course was appalling. By week four the narrative had become so one sided and superficial that it became difficult to maintain any belief in the content of the following lessons. The lectures were so steeped in SJW tropes and what passes for left-leaning politics that the quiz questions could typically be answered based on the simple premise of what make Aboriginal people look the best and the Western worldview the worst. The quiz questions themselves were some of the most poorly conceived and written that I've seen across almost a decade of post-secondary education and the presenters were completely devoid of charisma and style making for dull viewing of topics that were presented in a manner that could almost be considered dishonest.

The forums appeared to be the most valuable component of the course however those quickly degraded into what looked like chorus of consent, likely because the overall narrative of the course provided little room for divergent views. My own forum comments were not responded to by the course professors despite asking for clarification and other posters were clearly here to have their own views confirmed, not challenged, and made that evident through their own posts and unwillingness to consider challenging ideas.

Overall I felt the course lacked any real academic integrity. Sitting through the lectures felt more like an indoctrination attempt that education. The content was so shallow that the course was more akin to propaganda than coursework. The only factor that would allow me to give even one star was the somewhat improved quality of the guest presenters, some who gave a more even handed approach to the material. This was perhaps the least critical course I have ever taken part in. Even critical theory and methodology needs to be critiqued to have any intellectual value and that did not occur here. Fortunately my employer has covered the small cost of the certification.

As someone who works directly with Aboriginal people, and has for a decade, and educates others on Aboriginal topics, worldview, and culture, I am disappointed to say that this course actually lowered my interest in Aboriginal issues and being a so-called ally. This course seemed determined to undermine Canadian values and instil a sense of unwarranted guilt in the participants, likely justified as "unsettling" the settler. The process was so heavy handed and obvious however that any possible positive outcome from the message was distorted. I could not in good conscience recommend this course to anyone, and by extension, could not recommend Coursera itself.

교육 기관: Renato D L

Mar 31, 2019

it was bad.