Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,198개의 평가
392개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 392개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Stephanie W

Sep 05, 2017

This is the most comprehensive course on Indigenous history and culture I have ever taken. I feel far more educated as to the experience of Canadian Indigenous persons.

교육 기관: Mary R S

Apr 30, 2017

This is an essential course for all Canadians and even Americans. We settler descendants need this course.

교육 기관: Amy B

Aug 22, 2017

I learned so much in this course! It was so very valuable. I knew I had room to improve on my knowledge of Indigenous Canadians but I hadn't realized how much I was missing. Thank you for this wonderful course!

교육 기관: Lori T

Jun 20, 2017

Everyone should take this course - it was amazing.

교육 기관: Jonathan G

Feb 26, 2018

I learned a lot. It almost made me ashamed to be white! But I see things through a whole different perspective now.

교육 기관: Judy J

Apr 24, 2017

I loved that this course offered WRITTEN and VIDEO lessons. I find it difficult to learn by just watching a video. By doing some of the learning by reading and re-reading, I absorbed more.

Quizes are also another modality that works well. Quick to do, easy to score, inexpensive to administer, both teacher and learner can assess student learning very quickly.

I wish all Coursera programs included more than one methodology for learning. Video is fine, but it isn't the best for everyone, and it isn't the only way to teach things. Many Coursera program rely too heavily on video as their only teaching tool. There are something like 12 or 14 modalities for teaching students. Thank you for using more than one way. I especially liked your reading materials.

교육 기관: Matteo C F

Jun 18, 2017

Learnt a great deal that I only wish had been covered through out my formal education. Thank you so much for this. I hope to find additional ones I can take to keep on expanding my knowledge. Thank you for the intersectional approach through out the course, the guest speakers, integrating different modalities of learning through out, and really just all of it.

교육 기관: janice m

Jul 09, 2017

loved this course!

교육 기관: Annette T

Jun 10, 2017

This was a great course full of information and insights. Highly recommend.

교육 기관: Shaila H

Sep 20, 2017

This is the best course I have come across in terms of reflecting the indigenous experience in a forward thinking/reconciliatory way.

In my degree we had a course with a similar objective but the course providers were filled with pain and anger that made the course unbearable for the majority of my classmate indigenous and not.

교육 기관: Rachel T

Mar 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. As a white settler, you only really hear about some of these issues in passing and I'm really disapointed in our school system that still hasn't been changed to teach EVERYONE about our terrible history. This course really helped open my eyes to the issues I only ever hear in passing. It was nice to have some more context for things, and although I understand that this is an introductory course I found some of the information given too shallow, vague, or simplified. I would really love even more information, examples, and history to be given in each lesson.

I would also love more information to be provided on reconciliation and how white settlers can help achieve this. A main sentiment that comes up in conversation is that we would like to do our part to be allies and to help right wrongs and move towards reconciliation, but how to do that is always vague. Questions about whether or not it's proper for us to continue doing something are never answered, and I understand we need to consult elders to gain their insight and perspectives on how to do that, but most of us have no clue how to reach out to elders to begin that process or in some cases, even us reaching out and asking those questions is not wanted.

Overall I enjoyed the course, it was a great starting point to begin delving further into this topic. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Christina R

Jul 26, 2017

Fantastic and informative course! Would definitely recommend.

교육 기관: Colette P

Jan 03, 2018

E

교육 기관: Tammy E

Mar 13, 2018

This course is thorough, provides a great deal of information, but most importantly, it encourages self-reflection.

교육 기관: Claudette D

Apr 09, 2017

Thank you to all our SUPERB PROFESSORS.

This class is so very unique & so moving.

Just fell in love with our FIRST NATION.

교육 기관: Anne-Sophie M

Oct 28, 2017

Great course, very thorough. Definitely a must take if you live in Canada.

교육 기관: Paul P

May 22, 2018

This was probably the most important and interesting MOOC I've ever had the pleasure of taking!

교육 기관: Christine B

Jan 28, 2018

In depth general yet well-informed, documented, and presented materials, and mandatory knowledge on Indigenous Canada. Thank you for speaking slowly! And brava to Leah Dorion for her painted stories! This was a wonderful course, Dr. Tracy Bear, Dr. Paul Gareau, and every invited presenter guests!

교육 기관: Gabrielle D

Jul 05, 2017

In June 2017, I was extermely lucky to visit Mashteuiatsh, a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada. It was a life-changing experience and upon my return to San Francisco, CA I came across this course. I really wanted to understand more and this course has met my expectations beyond my wildest dreams. It's very well done, both intellectually challenging and emotionally powerful. I look forward every week to the new content. I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the Americas and like me is Caucasian and "had no idea". There is another reason why I really enjoy this course : I have been many times to Canada and some of my best friends are Canadians. This course is an excellent introduction to the history of their country. As a conclusion, this is one of the most interesting classes I have ever taken on line.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Jun 04, 2017

Interesting Course. Thanks so much.

교육 기관: Susan J

Apr 07, 2018

A well organized and insightful course.

교육 기관: Michael H

Jun 12, 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

교육 기관: Paccelli J M Z

Apr 23, 2018

Excellent!

교육 기관: Judy G

May 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Very much the opinion of the narrators - much is true but being a non-indigenous person made me feel as if I was the direct cause of all the indigenous problems, which I am quite sure is not the case. I liked learning more about the history.

교육 기관: Ross Y A

Jul 27, 2017

I found this course to be an excellent survey packaging of past and current issues that Indigenous Canadians are facing.