Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,883개의 평가
638개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 642개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Talia T

Sep 05, 2019

This is a fantastic course to get you more familiarized with Indigenous Canada! Whether you have some background knowledge or are a novice, this laid back approach to learning is innovative and fun. Thank you for inspiring me to take more courses relating to Indigenous history!

교육 기관: Diane C K

May 29, 2017

This course is one of the best courses I have ever taken on or off line. congratulations to the University of Alberta and to Tracey bear et al. Thank you so much for this outstanding course. And thank you for including Metis. It is hard sometimes to find ourselves. Thank you.

교육 기관: Omar S

Mar 15, 2020

The best course I've ever taken in a MOOC format. It open my eyes to think differently and dig deeper. It even inspired me to write about it back home, because the biggest shock for me, as a new immigrant was.... How do we not hear about any of this in the rest of the world?

교육 기관: Melanie D

Aug 09, 2017

The course was really the perfect balance of introductory material and more in-depth examples. I really appreciated the Indigenous-led content, the respect for context, and the different formats for learning. I will definitely be keeping the course notes to look back over!

교육 기관: Marina S

Jun 08, 2020

I think everyone in Canada should be required to take this course. I have learnt so much, and am so blessed to have had this opportunity. This course has really opened my eyes, and this content should be seen as mandatory in all school curriculums. Thank you so much truly !

교육 기관: Michelle B

Dec 11, 2018

Took this training along with several of my colleagues at the Justice Institute of BC. The material is presented in a very neutral way and invites the learner to draw their own conclusions about the information. Overall, this was a tremendous learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Joyce N

Sep 03, 2017

Such an informative course! I recommend that every Canadian take this course. It is truly shameful that so little is taught in our school's curriculum about this country's history. We as a nation have a long way to go before the wrongs of the past will ever be righted.

교육 기관: Heather D

Apr 23, 2020

The final week on the arts was very inspirational. I am inspired to continue learning and discovering First Nations art, and lands in Canada as a destination to discover with my family. I am so glad to have the experience to learn more about Canada and Indigenous people,

교육 기관: Judy G

May 24, 2017

Very interesting course. Very much the opinion of the narrators - much is true but being a non-indigenous person made me feel as if I was the direct cause of all the indigenous problems, which I am quite sure is not the case. I liked learning more about the history.

교육 기관: Katelyn R

Feb 29, 2020

This course was incredibly well done and eye-opening. The information provided in each topic was fitting to the goal and gave beneficial details creating a connection with the material and an individuals voice. I wish my Grade system Education had taught me this.

교육 기관: Andrea P

Oct 17, 2019

Excellent, thorough content. I have taken other indigenous studies courses but I found this content both engaging and accessible, and highly relevant. I think this course is a must for all settlers and is a good CE requirement for those in the public services.

교육 기관: Susan E B

Oct 22, 2017

This was a well presented, interesting and very informative course. I learned much that i did not know before and will be sharing information about this course and the programme offered at the University of Alberta with friends and colleagues. Thanks so much!

교육 기관: Scott C

Dec 08, 2019

Thank you for this course. I learned so much and will continue to educate myself as a result. I'm also goign to recommend others take this course. The instructors ended with a few hopes that they had for the course. You were entirely successful. Thanks again

교육 기관: Panchali M

Apr 11, 2020

The course 'Indigenous Canada' was extremely beneficial for me as a researcher. I built my foundation related to the history of Canada and its indigenous people. It was fun to learn. I found the course to be extremely interesting and informative. Thank you.

교육 기관: Chana M

Sep 02, 2017

What a wonderful perspective on First nations culture and identity. This was very helpful for me in my teaching and personal growth. Thank you to the Faculty of Native Studies from University of Alberta for putting this together for the teachers of Alberta.

교육 기관: Margaret R

Jun 18, 2018

This was a very informative and inclusive course. I look forward to taking more courses from U of A Faculty of Native Studies. I shared this course with many of my FN friends when I first enrolled and I will definitely continue to recommend it . Thank you.

교육 기관: Lindsay D

Nov 25, 2018

Every Canadian should take this course and classes based on it should be mandatory in every high school across the country. I'm hoping a second instalment will come where we can learn in more depth about the suffering of this country's Indigenous Peoples.

교육 기관: Vaughn M

Dec 05, 2019

I believe that everyone should take this course. If for nothing more than to gain a greater understanding of our Indigenous Peoples. The course was very well presented. The only problem I found was that the readings were strictly a rehash of the lectures

교육 기관: Ishmael V D R

Jun 26, 2020

I highly recommend this course! learnt a lot more about my culture and history of colonialization. I really enjoyed taking the course and learning. The instructors/professors are great speakers and gave lots of information that gave me food for thought

교육 기관: Maisie Y

Dec 08, 2017

This course was excellent! The spectrum it covered and the material presented was very well done and relevant. Particularly in the relatively short time span of the course which although I stated short, was perfect and easily digestible. Well Done!

교육 기관: Vanessa D

Feb 13, 2020

Thank you for creating this course. I am excited to continue expanding my Indigenous knowledge and reflecting on the ways I interact with my environment. I have learned so much from this course and wish all my friends to take time to learn this.

교육 기관: Roxann A

Aug 03, 2018

Excellent course. Videos and written information are well done. The facts are presented clearly, and the interviews and stories add context. I highly recommend this course to have more understanding of the history of Indigenous people in Canada.

교육 기관: Brigitta H

Dec 03, 2019

Amazing course, would highly recommend to anyone. This should be a course that every Canadian takes. I have a much better understanding of Indigenous history and culture - thank you so much to the University of Alberta for this amazing course!!

교육 기관: Elise N

Mar 19, 2019

Well written, very informative this course provides historical knowledge and a better understanding of the past events and how it affected generations of indigenous communities. I'm recommending this course on a personal and professional basis

교육 기관: Leanne G

Jun 02, 2020

This course was amazing and truly well organized. I feel like I walked away with a much better understanding of some of the difficulties surrounding Indigenous Peoples today and in the past. I think this is a fantastic course for all Canadians