Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,203개의 평가
394개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 395개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Gwendolyn F

Jun 05, 2017

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

교육 기관: Julie D

May 23, 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful course. I thoroughly enjoyed this experience and it has deepened my knowledge about this topic. Excellent work. Thank you.

교육 기관: Aurelija M

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic course! Even though I knew quite a bit before, some passages were still incredibly moving to learn, making me angry, reading about the atrocities committed by the settlers. The materials provided were really good, the lecturers were really good. 10/10 would take this course again if I could! Would love to see more of such courses on Coursera as it's super important to learn about the history and how to become an ally, even though being European.

교육 기관: Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

교육 기관: Shannon K

Jul 31, 2017

A rich and extremely important overview of various topics of Aboriginal history and ongoing issues. I am extremely appreciative to the Faculty of Native Studies for providing this course.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Apr 15, 2017

Excellent course! Ideal for anyone wanting a broad introduction and historiography of the people(s) indigenous to Canada.

교육 기관: Natalie M

Nov 18, 2017

Terrific and informative. Well organized.

교육 기관: Natasha Y

Sep 03, 2017

Very well done. Highly recommended this course for everyone in Canada! Thank you.

교육 기관: Stephanie W

Sep 05, 2017

This is the most comprehensive course on Indigenous history and culture I have ever taken. I feel far more educated as to the experience of Canadian Indigenous persons.

교육 기관: Diane C K

May 29, 2017

This course is one of the best courses I have ever taken on or off line. congratulations to the University of Alberta and to Tracey bear et al. Thank you so much for this outstanding course. And thank you for including Metis. It is hard sometimes to find ourselves. Thank you.

교육 기관: Sonia A

Jul 06, 2017

Thanks!! It was a great course. I enjoyed and learned a lot.

교육 기관: Jeanne A C

Jul 03, 2017

This is a wonderful course! I learned a lot and will share this information with others. Thanks!

교육 기관: Ines G

Apr 19, 2018

Very informative. I liked it a lot and will look forward to learning more.

교육 기관: Talya R

Oct 26, 2017

An excellent, resource-full and all-encompassing eyeopener for anyone willing to listen and learn about the true past, present and future for Indigenous peoples in Canada. This course will positively enhance what you were taught about Canada's history, and more importantly, increase your own awareness of your personal contributions to the continued oppression and racism against indigenous peoples. Highly highly recommended.

교육 기관: Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

교육 기관: Alice Z

Feb 26, 2018

Accomplished an entwining of research and reality to give give a focused course well worth your time and effort for thinking ;)

교육 기관: Beth R

Nov 02, 2017

wonderful! I learned so much and will definitely share with colleagues and friends. All Canadians should know this information.

교육 기관: Alyssa M

Nov 13, 2017

Every Canadian should take this course. I am so thankful that I came across it. It has added to my perspective and knowledge even more than I could have imagined. I highly recommend it and already have been doing so. Thank you!

교육 기관: Nicholas K

Dec 27, 2017

Well done

교육 기관: Jonathan F B

Dec 03, 2017

excellent course, i wanted an understanding on indigenous history and culture and this course really helped me learn it in a perspective ive never heard it in. really informal. im proud i took this course.

교육 기관: Gemma R

Mar 16, 2018

I moved to Canada from the UK just over two years ago and I found myself knowing little of Canadian indigenous culture. This course has provided insight into indigenous cultures through history, politics, gender, religion and the arts. I would recommend every Canadian and non-Canadian to take this course, it is essential!

교육 기관: Marie B

Jan 03, 2018

I learned so much in this course. My formal education was woefully inadequate to inform me about Indigenous Peoples in Canada. Sad because we are all

교육 기관: Val R

Apr 29, 2018

Incredible journey through history to the present day.

교육 기관: Earlene D

Apr 17, 2018

Excellent course, would love to see more Indigenous learning courses!

교육 기관: Anastasia K

Dec 08, 2017

It was an exciting travel to Indigenous Canada! Thank you!