Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
1,200개의 평가
393개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 392개 리뷰 중 176~200

교육 기관: Edward S

Apr 02, 2018

Great introductory course to understand the history and the future for reconciliation.

교육 기관: Jaqueline Z

Jun 23, 2017

I learnt a lot. Really love the course!!!!

교육 기관: Alissandra S

Aug 16, 2017

It astounds me how much Indigenous history and culture was completely left out of my Canadian public school education. I'm so grateful to have found this course to fill in those gaps.

교육 기관: Joshua B

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

교육 기관: Claudine D

Jun 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing and very informative. Its has given me many tools to help my students learn more about First Nations, Metis, and Inuit people.

교육 기관: Nashira D

Aug 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and feel that I have started to learn much about Indigenous history, culture, and political concerns in Canada because of it. I especially loved the inclusion of Leah Dorion's art and commentary. For future iterations of this course, I would appreciate a more careful proofreading of the course notes and quizzes to eliminate typos and occasional inconsistencies. Also, including a separate long list compilation of Indigenous writers, artists, musicians, and their works would further enhance this fantastic learning experience. Thank you!

교육 기관: Sarah F

Aug 12, 2017

This course is excellent.

교육 기관: Adele M

Sep 27, 2017

A practical and thoughtful presentation of material that should be required knowledge for ALL Canadians.

교육 기관: Mikelle C

Jun 07, 2017

A great intro to Indigenous history in Canada. My only regret is that it doesn't go into as much detail as I'd like, but that's just a feature of an introduction.

교육 기관: Amy W

Jun 08, 2017

Great course. The pace was perfect and the information was invaluable.

교육 기관: Stephanie G

Jun 05, 2017

Thank you for all the work and intention you put into sharing this knowledge with us.

교육 기관: Karen M

Jul 08, 2017

This is really essential information for any Canadian Citizen. I learned so much. Thank you to all of the instructors!

교육 기관: Carolyn J D

Nov 16, 2017

Extremely well organized and engaging material on a subject it's a shame we didn't all learn more about in schools. I am very grateful that such a course is accessible to anyone who is interested in learning, at no cost!

교육 기관: Syed A

Nov 19, 2017

This is a great course! I learned a great deal from it.

교육 기관: Leesa S

Mar 29, 2018

Excellent and highly reccommended

교육 기관: Natasha L

Apr 16, 2018

I am really glad I enrolled in this course offered by the faculty! I learned so much more clarity over indigenous perspective in relation to world views, historical significance past and present and future more than I thought I knew. I enjoyed each lessons and I really loved the interviews and the art work discussions that were in each module. The teachers spoke at a great speed and with great tone that felt personal like I was sitting with my family and having a family member explain and teaching me cultural life lessons,even the very hard parts with the missing and murdered women,to enfranchisement, assimilation and residential schools,there is just so much more understanding and open learning that I only wish was a standard in schools because although some horrifying history and on going struggles,I think would really open the door for trying to see how our daily living without a thought about what it means to be living in the modern world on the lands of those who already occupied and have had an integral connection to their lands,has been impacted and how we can return to a way of mutual respect and equalitarian ways and having a good platform that opens up discussions about what this means. None of the lessons felt like one sided view point or heavily political,or like an ulterior agenda,even while discussing those very things from the indigenous perspective. It was well put together for each module and just let's you learn as best as can be explained and shared so much history,insight and understanding and respect into indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Chantal L M

Apr 26, 2018

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

교육 기관: Julie K

Jan 24, 2018

This course was thought-provoking, eye-opening and a truly excellent way to learn more about Indigenous cultures and issues in Canada. I've recommended it to many of my friends and will encourage them to take it as soon as possible.

교육 기관: Melanie D

Aug 09, 2017

The course was really the perfect balance of introductory material and more in-depth examples. I really appreciated the Indigenous-led content, the respect for context, and the different formats for learning. I will definitely be keeping the course notes to look back over!

교육 기관: Lisa T

Jan 24, 2018

Thank you for an eye-opening, thorough and informative course!

교육 기관: Stephanie R

Apr 09, 2018

Very informative as well as user-friendly. Thank you!

교육 기관: Virgil H

Nov 23, 2017

incredible course. Amazingly designed and so broad covering, yet following a continuous linear discourse. Loved it!

교육 기관: Amanda R S

Feb 24, 2018

I learned so much about the Indigenous history, experience and contemporary issues in Canada.

교육 기관: Kimberly M G

Jun 07, 2018

A wonderful starting place to get a broad sense of Canada's history, pre- and post-settler community, and understand some Indigenous worldviews. This is the most informative, detail-rich course I've taken in regards of cultural immersion and perspective. Thank you to all who contributed in making this course and delivering it!

교육 기관: Karen L D

Nov 09, 2017

This course is the best Canadian history course I have taken, This course should be a requirement for Canadian history courses, Very well done!