Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
9,308개의 평가
3,715개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS
2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

AC
2020년 2월 23일

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 3,720개 리뷰 중 3401~3425

교육 기관: Audrey O

2020년 6월 22일

It was very full of wonderful information. I did like the ability to read along instead of just listening if I wanted to. I also like that I could choose to just read instead of watching also. Adding a few more pictures and videos would have been nice also to break it up a little more. Well done, thank you!

교육 기관: Kristin C

2017년 12월 29일

Great course! There were a few quiz questions that appeared to have multiple arguably reasonable responses, but otherwise, I greatly enjoyed the material and learned a lot. Taking this course was the only thing I did to commemorate "Canada 150," and as a settler Canadian, I feel that was the right decision.

교육 기관: David B

2018년 6월 15일

Greatly informative. People speaking are reading a script and it comes off as a bit boring. I'd prefer audio without images of narrator and more visuals of what is being discussed. Even if narration is scripted and read, it can be executed in a more dynamic way. Kudos for the rich content. I learned a lot.

교육 기관: Steffen P

2020년 8월 18일

Having learned Canadian history in high school, it was refreshing to see this 'history' told from a the perspective of the First Nations. For example, the discussions about the role of the Hudsons Bay Trading company portrayed the complexities of the relationship between First Nations and settlers.

Thanks!

교육 기관: Jennifer

2020년 7월 10일

I really appreciated this course, I will certainly be striving to learn more and share what I have learned. It would be helpful if some things were updated and if there were more interactive questions within the units. Also having recommendations for further study would be Amazing.

Thank you so much

교육 기관: Amanda B

2017년 6월 2일

Some of the quizzes felt as if they were trying to trick you with the options. I felt the tests could have asked better questions that were designed to teach rather than push memorization. It also would have been helpful to see where you went wrong rather than just being told to re-watch a module.

교육 기관: Susan A D

2017년 8월 20일

This series has brought me a much clearer understanding of the generational harms that we impose on each other from a root of preconceived decisions about who we think we are, who you think we are, who I think I am, who I am and the who I want to be. I am grateful to have taken this course.

교육 기관: Miranda T

2021년 1월 22일

Really easy to follow along with. Great overview of first nations in Canada. I am so glad I decided to take this course. I would recommend putting even more multiple choice questions throughout the videos they really helped me stay engaged and think more critically about the materials.

교육 기관: Bobby S

2020년 10월 31일

Excellent study of Indigenous history and culture which should be mandatory learning for our school systems in Canada at all levels starting at a very young age and increasing in detail and study throughout high school as a integral part of the 'history' programs taught now. Thank you.

교육 기관: Morgan G

2020년 12월 23일

The course material is wonderful. The videos are well done and informative and I enjoyed them immensely. Unfortunately the required quizzes are not put together quite as well. Many questions are ambiguous, misleading, or have more than one correct answer given in the multiple choice.

교육 기관: Neil M

2020년 12월 31일

Great course. Presents an indigenous point of view of Canadian history not taught in school . I think there needs to be more content included in the Canadian school curriculum about the original Canadian peoples and how important their contribution has been to this great country.

교육 기관: Scott C

2020년 11월 6일

A good introductory course covering a wide variety of topics. There are a spelling errors in the 'subtitles' and reading documents. A few of the questions could do with being reviewed and/or be worded better. Overall though I enjoyed the course and found it very informative.

교육 기관: Adele M

2020년 9월 28일

I feel like I've learned a lot of interesting and very helpful things about Indigenous peoples, their world views and how that impacts many aspects of their lives today. I hope I can continue learning. I feel like this has just whetted my appetite to learn more. Thank you.

교육 기관: Heather I

2020년 7월 3일

Information that all Canadians need to be aware of. Great use of various mediums. The multiple choice questions were often poorly worded, asking for what was 'not' an option. Loved the use of art forms and the commissioned pieces that were explained by the artist, Leah Dorion.

교육 기관: Gizella M

2020년 11월 7일

To be honest, I signed up for this course due to the celebrity of Dan Levy. However, I stayed because I became very surprised to see how little I knew about the plight of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. I am grateful for having had the opportunity to join in this course.

교육 기관: A/J

2020년 9월 24일

Very important information to be learning. I appreciate the knowledge and thank you for making this course available to so many people. There is still so much more to learn. It would be amazing to have courses that dive deeper into the topics that where touched on.

Thank-you

교육 기관: Larry O

2021년 1월 10일

I appreciate the efforts that have gone into creating this course. I found the multiple-choice approach to the exams a little tricky but enjoyed the challenge. I describe myself as unilingual, with English as my first language and it was challenged during the exams.

Thanks

교육 기관: Robert P

2020년 11월 14일

Well presented, mostly interesting to follow, especially the units on the fur trade and indigenous arts. Elsewhere, the tone is somewhat less critical, more advocative than informative. In some lectures, especially the one on community, the language gets rather puzzling.

교육 기관: Jaden B

2021년 2월 17일

It was a great course. Although some things I did not agree with such as the title of the course being a 'Modern Indian" because we should all know that "Indian" is .. for lack of better word.. a racist term and should be using words such as Indigenous or First Nation.

교육 기관: Carina S

2021년 2월 2일

Thank you very much, Dr. Tracy Bear and other instructors and writers, for this important course. I learned a great deal which, I trust, will build bridges as opportunities arise. I am happy to see that hundreds of thousands of people are signing up for this course.

교육 기관: Karen G

2020년 12월 23일

Very informative; appreciated content delivery format and interactive painting component of each module. Occasionally found ‘Quiz’ questions to be unclear; on-line format did not provide avenue for clarification of understanding.

Will absolutely recommend this course.

교육 기관: Sheyla K

2020년 11월 8일

This was a great introductory course to Indigenous studies. It was eye opening, and humbling to realize how little we as Canadians know about our history, the way our government, laws and treaties have been concocted to work against the progress of Indigenous people.

교육 기관: Jenny H

2020년 10월 7일

This was a broad and comprehensive review of Indigenous history and modern day culture of Canadian first nations. As an immigrant to Canada with very little exposure, background or education on this, I gained a much deeper understanding of this fascinating subject.

교육 기관: David P

2020년 1월 14일

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!

교육 기관: Emilie M B

2020년 6월 21일

Definitely an eye-opening introduction to the masked history of North America. There is so much more to learn and experience in order to truly get an authentic understanding, I believe that requires meeting people, working for them and amplifying their voice.