Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
10,070개의 평가
4,015개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

LM
2020년 10월 31일

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

BE
2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 4,023개 리뷰 중 3501~3525

교육 기관: Maximilian P

2020년 11월 9일

Again, great course, instructors and content were amazing. I really learned so much. The only reason this review isn't 5/5: absolutely awful testing. The questions are so hyper-focused on specific micro-details on reading content, it doesn't help measure or test one's understanding of the broader concepts taught in the course. And even when testing on micro-details, the details in the question are often wrong lol. There are questions where the multiple-choice options are so similar and sometimes both contained in the text. I would at least fix this as it looks slack, but more importantly, I would do a re-think on the testing to better make it align with the overall course goals as well as with what the people taking the course are looking to get out of it (ensuring they understand concepts, not annoying the crap out of them to make sure they read the random fact you're asking a super specific, possibly-not-even-matching-the-text question about)

교육 기관: Kajori D

2020년 9월 10일

I am interested in learning about the original people of this land that I have adopted - I am from India and arrived her 38years ago. While my children were growing up I did not see a lot of content related to the Indigenous peoples but they were curious and with them my curiosity also grew.

Then I met some wonderful people growing Seneca and Mohawk corn via ceremony in a park right by my house - my contact with them and learning from them piqued my interest and I was so excited to have an opportunity to learn more.

I truly enjoyed learning from this course - so much is included in a Nutshell. I would recommend this course to others (I already have). The reason I cannot give it a 5 start is because of typos, and some times the way it is presented is a bit confusing.

Thank you to the University of Alberta for this opportunity to learn the Truth of this beautiful land.

Thank you Coursera for the platform you have created .

교육 기관: Kenneth S

2021년 2월 23일

This course is a definitely a really good primer for a topic that is otherwise inadequately discussed in public school curricula. I found that there was maybe not enough time spend discussing discourse and power structures that work to maintain the status quo. The nature of the course being a primer, left me wanting more discussion of the tools of colonialism and how law was used to other, and disempower indigenous people. I felt that it did a great job at creating a perspective of indigenous resilience, but would have like to have seen more about the betrayal of indigenous people during the process of nation building. My education has involved a fairly significant delve into indigenous issues in Canada to begin with, so maybe my lens is skewed as to what the average person would take from it. Over all, I liked the course and the presenters and felt that this was a great into to Canadian Indigenous issues. Thank you!

교육 기관: LMJ

2021년 1월 18일

Thank you for this very valuable opportunity. I now have a greater understanding and appreciation for the richness of the Indigineous cultures that were highlighted. I feel some shame that my understanding of "canadian History" was from such a strong settler perspective given what I was taught in school almost forty years ago.

I loved the artwork that was commissioned and created by Leah Dorion. Her work was vibrant and compelling! This component was a lovely addion to the course work and no doubt appreciated by all of the visual learners!

I recognize that this course is now a few years old however, it would be beneficial to have some of the course content updated when time and resources allow. I noticed some material was out of date when at times I would look up certain events, resources, and people just to satisfy my own personal interest.

With graditude I thank you again for this opportunity.

교육 기관: Mike T

2020년 9월 30일

I only hesitate to give the 5th star because the course needs desperately needs to be proofread. It appears the text of the lectures has been rendered via speech recognition software and has yet to be thoroughly checked over. There wasn't a single module without mistakes; not one! The content is fantastic and I'm certain I will be re-reading the course notes and revisiting the lectures to further commit this vital information to memory. Kudos to all involved in developing the course and its execution, thank you.

I learn best (pretty much exclusively!!) by reading so the inaccuracies in transcription (unseeded instead of unceded, can instead of can't... there are many!) and spelling are very distracting but certainly not anything stopping understanding, merely adding distraction. Hopefully correcting this and integrating the changes into the package can still happen and isn't too much trouble.

교육 기관: Kristine O

2020년 6월 15일

I am metis and have been learning more about my background since I've been an adult. I found a lot of the information in this course enlightening and learned a lot from the content. I appreciated the written dialogue that went along with the videos. As an educator, I know that people learn in different ways so having the visual cues to go along with the audio is great. I can not give 5 stars though as I was extremely disappointed with all the errors in the written dialogues. I was especially disturbed by the error in the second Indigenous Art video from week 12 that says at one point - Terri began "beating" when it should have said beading. There were many errors in that particular video. I know the final words for the course mention the possibility of errors but something coming from a University should be edited a little more closely before it is offered.

교육 기관: IVAN J

2020년 11월 20일

As a student of Sociology I was fascinated to read about indigenous people of Canada and I could draw parallels to the impact of British Colonialism in India, and how it adversely affected tribal people here. At first I did not enjoy taking the Quizzes, but after about two Weeks, I began enjoying learning and relearning and attempting the quizzes several times over.

I feel the content in each week was a bit too detailed and heavy...and with too much emphasis of the historical events; esp the numerous Treaties and geographical descriptions.

It would have been more interesting to have interview-based learning components; A endless one-way narration got very heavy, sometimes intense, though interesting.

The quizzes could have been less focused on 'knowledge-type' questions.

All in all, I am glad to have learnt something totally new.

Thank you

교육 기관: Jacques A

2020년 12월 5일

Information was overwhelmingly eye opening and informative. There is so much present, it was difficult to complete the tests on my first attempts. There should be questions embedded throughout like mini quizzes to help the information absorb more readily. Also, some questions relate to such minute details, it is difficult to not want to 'cheat' and look at notes to help yourself.

Lastly, while I understand the point of view is taken from an aboriginal/Native person stand point, some phrasing comes across as equally biased as traditional colonists views, and sully's the importance of the material. It could be worded differently to have its approach more friendly, and entice more Aboriginal friendly but less knowledgeable allies to view the worldview of indigenaiety more readily.

Overall, I am pleased I selected this class.

교육 기관: Lorraine F

2021년 1월 18일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. There was so much information to process and to absorb, all of it contributing to a better understanding of , and empathy for, Indigenous Peoples and what they have, and continue, to endure. As an overview course, it provides good insight into most topics; however, there were several topics that could have used more detail or explanation., e.g., Module 10 mentioned RCAP's Community of Interest as a model, but I was unable to find it within the Report's recommendations on searching. I would have liked a definition of that model rather than a reference. Overall, and despite some contention with the quizzes, this course has taught me a lot more than the Canadian history (settler colonizer-focused) courses I took in university. Thanks to Dr. Bear and all those who contributed to this.

교육 기관: Laura B

2021년 1월 21일

Very grateful to have been taught this perspective and have my eyes opened in regards to Canadian History, as well as everything brought forward in this course. I am thankful for the time and effort that was put into this course and feel appreciative that I was able to take part in this learning experience that quite frankly should be mandatory in schools. On a different note, I found the course to be repetitive at times and found it hard to stay engaged with the material being read to me in a sometimes monotone fashion. I found it easier to be present during the interviews where the individuals seemed engaged and connected to their material. The questions (questionnaire) were also sometimes worded poorly and did not seem focused on the important material covered. Overall: thank you, I am grateful.

교육 기관: Monique F

2020년 5월 23일

I appreciate this course very much. I value the videos and the written documents available for each modules that caters to different learning styles and help with he pronunciation of words. I feel there could be a little more improvement with he information as i noticed some inconsistency in information. However, this is an excellent initiation into understand the experience of First Nation Peoples and to jump start interest and education about their experiences and histroy. The course helped me so much and heignten my sensitivity and awareness to the First Nations Peoples of Canada experience. As a newcomer to Canada and an aunt to niece and nephew who are of First Nation decent, I deeply value the access to this information and i am sincerely grateful.

Thank you !

교육 기관: Christine P

2020년 8월 3일

Thank you for making this course readily available through Coursera. This is what has always been missing from my education for as long as I can remember. It is my firm belief and wish that the contents of this course become mandatory for all Canadians from a young age until High School graduation (at a minimum). I have a much better appreciation for the history of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada and I promise to continue on my quest for more knowledge so that I can be a more effective ally. If I were to offer only one point of constructive criticism it is that I would incorporate more visuals during the presentations. Not only do people learn in different ways but visual memory is the most powerful and lasting. Again, thank you and keep up the great work!

교육 기관: Esther P

2020년 12월 30일

THANK YOU for creating a course that helps introduce/present a more accurate representation of indigenous Canada. While yes, the course videos/transcripts require revision, it does not take away from the information that is relayed in the videos. At 31 years old, I was personally embarrassed by my lack of knowledge on this, and am horrified by how little of this was taught through my public education in Canada. While i have always appreciated indigenous culture, I had no idea how little I really knew. I still have a lot to learn, but am very motivated to continue my education on this, and will make a point to spread the word about this course. Again, many thanks for making this course so accessible...I look forward to taking any future courses from your Faculty!

교육 기관: Melanie T

2020년 9월 16일

I found the course very interesting and informative. It was well presented and I appreciated that it provided a variety of learning methods - video / audio, reading, interactive painting, etc.

There were a lot of mistakes in the transcripts for videos, I would have appreciated the words being included and / or spelled correctly.

I did find that the quiz questions were often confusing and even when I went back and read over the materials to determine the correct answer for those I got wrong, I could not actually figure out what they were asking. The course would be better if the correct answers were shown upon completion of the quiz.

All in all a good course that I would recommend to anyone looking to learn more about Indigenous people in Canada.

교육 기관: Elly J

2021년 3월 27일

Thank you. I do now have a better appreciation/understanding of the Indigenous history and the issues they have faced and are facing. My ancestors were from Russia in the early 1900’s and had to endure communism and the KGB taking my grandfather away in the middle of the night - never to be seen again. My ancestors also had their land and homes taken away from them. Unjust, difficult lives have been a common thread for previous generations in many areas of the world. It is important to acknowledge and discuss this history and mutually work together to improve conditions for all.

In one module, you discuss Winnipeg’s ’ Neechi Commons. Perhaps an update would be helpful - also what was learnt from that. I good idea but not sustainable.

교육 기관: Andrew C

2021년 4월 3일

Overall I enjoyed the course. I sincerely appreciate the efforts of the instructors and particularly enjoyed the videos of witnesses and historians sprinkled throughout.

The course did what I wanted it to do, it gave me a basic foundational appreciation for the struggles indigenous peoples have faced. My education at the University level came with a perspective and bias of the white male settler. As I get older I'm searching for wider, more diverse perspectives on history and this course helped me with that.

My only critical feedback is that I found it lost a little bit of steam towards the latter half. Greater care could have been used in the crafting of a number of the multiple choice questions.

Thank you for all your hard work.

교육 기관: Ronnie E

2020년 9월 18일

It was amazing and I learned a lot about the different indigenous groups around Canada. Not only learning the basics on the different groups but also the history and what people may think are small details but are big stepping stones for indigenous people. The course was well organized and laid out and easy to navigate through. I really enjoyed the fact that even being located in western Canada that it encompassed all of the indigenous groups, even the ones out east. I live in Labrador and it connected ties over this way, which is great to see. The videos were spoken clear and concise and to see and hear of the guest speakers was amazing. Great course. I selected 4 stars, only because there is always room for improvement.

교육 기관: Laura H

2021년 3월 7일

I enjoyed the course and I am an urban metis woman born in Manitoba and raised in Alberta by a settler family I often felt I didn't fit in on either side of the spectrum as I am not classified as full blood or recognized by the Metis as I have never lived in a settlement and have been disconnected from my culture My bloodlines indicate that I am metis. Learning about how the Metis people have adapted to the urban culture has made me realize I do fit on the spectrum and that is as an urban Metis Woman. Thank you to all who put this course together as I have learned a lot about the indigenous culture and can now look at the world through different eyes Better eyes. ( Not a review but a perspective )

교육 기관: Kevin B

2020년 11월 22일

The course was relatively deep in information and provided a very good overview of the historic and current challenges facing Indigenous peoples in Canada. It also offered a look into the efforts of Indigenous peoples to gain recognition and take control of their destinies based on unique Indigenous governance models. My only criticism is that some sections attempted to provide too much information all at once and I felt that in those cases one would get loss in the breadth of coverage and detailed information presented. Otherwise I felt that this was a fantastic initiative that will certainly help non-indigenous Canadians better understand the Indigenous perspective in Canada today. Well done!

교육 기관: Rina S

2021년 1월 2일

The course was very interesting and accessible to a person who is at an introductory level on this topic. I was impressed by the diversity of topics that were covered in relatively short amount of time. The lectures and videos were well presented and engaging. The instructors spoke clearly and concisely and were easy to understand. The multiple choice evaluations at the end of each module, however, were poorly written and did not necessarily cover important material. The course notes did not always contain the answers required to complete the evaluations which lead to frustration in some instances.Overall,however, taking this as a general interest course was a very positive experience.

교육 기관: David B

2020년 11월 3일

The information in this course is excellent and very important for Canadians to learn. The overall presentation and lessons learned is very good. It does a good job of condensing thousands of years of history into a digestible package. I think the course does a good job of setting a baseline that all Canadians (especially settler descendants) can start at in their journey to understanding and cooperation with Indigenous people. I enjoyed this and learned a lot! Thanks!

Small nitpicks - there are a few modules that have some clunky delivery, but it is mostly well done. A few quiz questions also had some ambiguous answers, or addressed content not directly covered in the notes.

교육 기관: Duncan B

2020년 11월 24일

Very well organized and well thought out. Presented clearly. Slight technical problem that videos would stop when ~90% completed and had to be restarted. As a non indigenous 69 yr old I was exposed to many new ideas and people past and present. Although indigenous people have had to and are still fighting to correct many wrongs I feel the course did not acknowledge the progress that has been made or that there are many non indigenous people who are happy and helpful with this progress. Also what is the vision of indigenous and non indigenous people (including descendants of original settlers right up to immigrants and refugees) together in Canada in the future? Thank you.

교육 기관: Sarah J M

2021년 4월 11일

I am glad I took this class! It filled in and updated knowledge I already had from living on three reserves during my high school years, one in Montreal Lake, Saskatchewan, and Sunchild-O'Chiese and Morley, Alberta. When attending the U of A over 40 years ago, Canadian indigenous people were completely ignored in my education classes as if they were a marginal population, unworthy of consideration. It was refreshing to take a class about indigenous people FROM indigenous people! Unique information and concerns were shared in this course, especially regarding the arts and urban challenges. I recommend this course, and look forward to similar offerings from the U of A!