Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
10,109개의 평가
4,030개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

BE
2020년 11월 17일

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

AS
2020년 9월 6일

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 4,029개 리뷰 중 3701~3725

교육 기관: Larry O

2021년 1월 10일

I appreciate the efforts that have gone into creating this course. I found the multiple-choice approach to the exams a little tricky but enjoyed the challenge. I describe myself as unilingual, with English as my first language and it was challenged during the exams.

Thanks

교육 기관: Robert P

2020년 11월 14일

Well presented, mostly interesting to follow, especially the units on the fur trade and indigenous arts. Elsewhere, the tone is somewhat less critical, more advocative than informative. In some lectures, especially the one on community, the language gets rather puzzling.

교육 기관: Jaden B

2021년 2월 17일

It was a great course. Although some things I did not agree with such as the title of the course being a 'Modern Indian" because we should all know that "Indian" is .. for lack of better word.. a racist term and should be using words such as Indigenous or First Nation.

교육 기관: Carina S

2021년 2월 2일

Thank you very much, Dr. Tracy Bear and other instructors and writers, for this important course. I learned a great deal which, I trust, will build bridges as opportunities arise. I am happy to see that hundreds of thousands of people are signing up for this course.

교육 기관: Karen G

2020년 12월 23일

Very informative; appreciated content delivery format and interactive painting component of each module. Occasionally found ‘Quiz’ questions to be unclear; on-line format did not provide avenue for clarification of understanding.

Will absolutely recommend this course.

교육 기관: Sheyla K

2020년 11월 8일

This was a great introductory course to Indigenous studies. It was eye opening, and humbling to realize how little we as Canadians know about our history, the way our government, laws and treaties have been concocted to work against the progress of Indigenous people.

교육 기관: Jenny H

2020년 10월 7일

This was a broad and comprehensive review of Indigenous history and modern day culture of Canadian first nations. As an immigrant to Canada with very little exposure, background or education on this, I gained a much deeper understanding of this fascinating subject.

교육 기관: David P

2020년 1월 14일

Thank you for the work, the opinions and the history lesson. I learned a great deal and have much to think about after completing the course. I appreciate all the time that went into producing this course and hope to see other courses in the future. Well done!

교육 기관: Emilie M B

2020년 6월 21일

Definitely an eye-opening introduction to the masked history of North America. There is so much more to learn and experience in order to truly get an authentic understanding, I believe that requires meeting people, working for them and amplifying their voice.

교육 기관: Peter B

2020년 4월 23일

I liked the course content and the instructors. I learned a great deal. Sometimes I found the multiple choice questions to be worded in a way that was confusing. I'm not sure this approach assesses learning as much as tricking people into the wrong answer.

교육 기관: Judi Q

2020년 10월 11일

Learned a lot. Thanks. Certainly helps to include thoughts of Indigenous History and World View and I see more and more that they are claiming their rightful place. Really understand the injustice and also that there is a long way to go to correct it.

교육 기관: Colin M

2021년 1월 13일

Very informative. Did not feel the information generalized First Nations. Would find it beneficial to connect more with the modern reader (i.e Comparisons). Lots of spelling mistakes which could use fixing up. Overall beneficial course; would recommend.

교육 기관: Mark L

2020년 7월 25일

It is a good mix of things I know and those I didn't. I very much appreciated the accompanying visuals (photos and videos) and can only recommend that you increase them wherever possible as they make the learning come alive and appeal to a wider base.

교육 기관: Dwayne S

2021년 4월 12일

I learned a great deal. The presenters were knowledgeable, the information was detailed. My only critique is that sometimes the questions were a bit "trivial pursuit"... the main ideas weren't always the things being tested. But overall, very helpful.

교육 기관: Crystal B

2020년 11월 9일

I found that some of the translation from spoken to text was slightly off throughout the course; however, for an overview of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, it was very insightful. Thank you for the history lesson that I should have had in my childhood.

교육 기관: Gary

2020년 9월 13일

A very good introduction to indigenous history of Canada. My only complaint is the there was no mention of the Kelowna Accord that the Harper government abandoned it's potential benefits and the impact of the government's failure to ratify the accord.

교육 기관: Neil C

2018년 8월 16일

Great learning experience, but some of the quizzes could be improved upon. Occasionally the quizzes seem programmed incorrectly and a couple questions in a couple modules didn't seem related to the material that was presented. Otherwise, great course.

교육 기관: Joshua A

2018년 6월 30일

Ce cour m'a permis de mieux comprendre la réalité actuelle des autochtones causé par l'arrivée des européens. Les conséquences des pensionnats autochtones et des tentatives d'assimilation du gouvernement Canadien envers les Premières Nation du Canada.

교육 기관: Garry A

2017년 11월 5일

During ones education career their are a few courses that inspire, are beneficial to real world application, and are taught in a manner that makes want to gone on to the next lesson like this course. Well Done to Tracy Bear and the other presenters.

교육 기관: Michael W

2020년 12월 22일

Hello!

I found this a very well done presentation. There was a lot to learn, and I particularly appreciated the inclusion of Dorion's artwork and her interpretation. It was a lovely accessory to the didactic part of the course. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Damian N

2020년 11월 11일

Very informational. There are a handful of grammatical errors, and it's clearly a low-budget production. If you're interested in learning (even just a bit) about Indigenous people, and their shared history with Canada, this is a worthwhile course.

교육 기관: Adriana M

2017년 6월 15일

I found it educational, informative. It did move a part of me to shift my views and broaden my perspective of our First Nations, but I also felt the information provided the motivation to discover and ask questions about my own native ancestry.

교육 기관: Jeff D

2021년 2월 28일

The content and stories are great--thank you. I learned a lot.

The multiple choice questions are weakly constructed by pedagogical standards, and I'd recommend that you review their construction using best practices for multiple choice testing.

교육 기관: Patricia L S

2021년 2월 23일

I learned a lot and would have liked a bit more detail to put things into context of what else was happening in Canada at the time. I also would have liked to see some of the art that the artists are famous or when you mentioned their names.

교육 기관: Virginie D V

2020년 11월 21일

Excellent course and well done. A suggestion to improve it would be to add more imagery and photos. For example, in week 12 module, when talking about the art pieces, it would be nice to see an image of them while they are being described.