Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
10,397개의 평가
4,112개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB
2018년 1월 21일

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

VK
2021년 2월 23일

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 4,113개 리뷰 중 4026~4050

교육 기관: Sally R

2020년 10월 31일

Moving and thought provoking.

교육 기관: Ron G

2020년 9월 15일

Well organized and presented.

교육 기관: Tanya P

2020년 7월 30일

Great course, easy to learn!!

교육 기관: Ashlynn S

2021년 2월 2일

You learn a great amount!!

교육 기관: Jean-Francois B

2020년 6월 3일

really liked the history

교육 기관: William C

2020년 11월 3일

Enjoyed this course.

교육 기관: Debbie B

2021년 3월 21일

I learned so much.

교육 기관: cory

2021년 4월 4일

Very informative.

교육 기관: Janelle R

2021년 1월 2일

Very informative!

교육 기관: Dawn K

2020년 12월 5일

Very informative!

교육 기관: Wendy H

2020년 11월 14일

Excellent course!

교육 기관: shyla f

2020년 10월 4일

Very informative.

교육 기관: Barb S

2018년 4월 4일

Very informative!

교육 기관: Marguerite S

2021년 3월 14일

Very informative

교육 기관: Hannah B

2020년 3월 25일

Great content

교육 기관: Colin M

2018년 8월 18일

Informative

교육 기관: Alice H

2020년 9월 5일

Very good.

교육 기관: Lesley B

2020년 8월 10일

Thank you!

교육 기관: Michael A O

2020년 10월 26일

Engaging.

교육 기관: Dean T

2020년 12월 13일

T

교육 기관: Gerry M

2021년 2월 9일

I completed this course about two weeks ago, and have waited a while to complete this review in order to process my thoughts in a more balanced way. This is an important course, and I am glad that I took the time to complete it. I believe every curious and open-minded Canadian should take it.

I have an undergraduate degree in history, and although I haven't pursued further formal studies in that area, I have read Canadian history my entire life and consider myself a life long learner. In reviewing this course, I have tried to take a historiographical perspective, viewing it as one of many accounts and perspectives on the history of Canada, and especially western Canada. In that regard, I don't consider it a definitive account, but one to be considered in the ongoing mix of interpretations of our complex and still evolving society.

The course is decidedly one-sided, but I did not expect otherwise. As part of the so-called "settler" community, there is a clear attempt to make me feel responsible for the transgressions and unintended consequences of our forefathers, without acknowledging many of us have forefathers who were also oppressed and dispossessed by the same colonial masters in the 19th century. They arrived in Canada at the same time with less than most treaty aboriginals were provided through their treaties. Our ancestors came here to claim a new life and move forward, not to retreat backwards into a mythical idyllic lifestyle. Sorry, but this is the message I get from the course... there is no way forward other than land claims and lawsuits... that is no way to build a society.

Thanks again for providing this course, but I came away feeling a little bit sad, and not very hopeful for the future of my indigenous neighbours.

교육 기관: Keith S

2020년 11월 10일

The course is a good overview but needs some polishing to be great.

Several questions in the quizes were confusing and did not match with the readings. Some quiz questions asked something like "What was THE issue..." but when you looked at the readings there might be two or three issues raised and the answer options included versions of more than one. When you get a quiz question wrong, suggesting that you go back and look things up is not very helpful. A better quiz would have a specific reference (either for the correct answer or for the wrong options) that could then direct the student to the information. This cross linking would also ensure that quiz questions and choices matched with material in the course.

There was no clear way to go back and redo a quiz but it says we can do re-takes.

Some data is wrong, e.g., Calgary Olympics were not in 1986 they were in 1988. I didn't keep track of everything but between grammatical errors and factual errors, I suggest that someone go through the course and make corrections.

I live in Treaty 6 and 7 areas and the course was heavily weighted to Eastern Canada and not particularly strong in Western Canadian experiences.

The sections referencing the case law were probably the strongest pieces of the course in both material and clarity.

교육 기관: Nikita U

2020년 11월 15일

The course has a lot of good factual information, especially for a newcomer to Canada like me. However, it also raises more questions than it answers, as it oversimplifies multiple topics and attributes a number of societal problems which (IMHO) are "universal human experiences in modern world" to colonialism / paternalism – I myself am from a small country with exceedingly white population with no history of colonialism nor slavery nor strong paternalism, yet we do have a lot of the same societal / identity / cultural problems as the first nations peoples do – so issue attribution throughout the course feels disturbing, narrow-minded and wrong. Overall, the course somehow managed to paint indigenous peoples and culture as weak and needy, despite the best intents of course creators. I feel I'd be better off without watching the course, and following on social media the few indigenous creators I stumbled upon by chance, to learn about the problems they deal with, their culture, and how to be respectful.

교육 기관: Anne-Marie D

2020년 12월 10일

While I learned alot and am so much more aware of the history of Indigenous people in Canada, I found the format of the course quite flat. The professors, while I'm sure knowledgeable, had very flat presentation styles that made it difficult to remain engaged. Staring forward and barely moving any part of their bodies was actually distracting though that sounds incongruous. The text was therefore very helpful, though as acknowledged by you, had many grammar, spelling, sentence inconsistencies which was annoying to the reader. Improve the video clips by putting in more 'test questions'-to put one question in the odd videos seemed a bit futile i.e. use that as a method of engagement or don't use it at all. Some of these comments are perhaps nit-picky but I believe the quality of the presentation is key to the enjoyment of the learner. That all aside, I enjoyed the content, certainly adjusted some of my views and am glad I did the course.

교육 기관: Keith A

2021년 3월 24일

I enjoyed the course very much, and learned a lot, thank you to the professors and staff who put it together. I found the lectures excellent, with the small caveat that I had to listen to them at 1.5 times speed since they were spoken so slow as to be geared, I suppose, to be understandable to non native English speakers. The range of topics covered was thorough and well chosen.

My main critique is that usually in a university level class much of the learning comes from interaction with ones peers. In this context, the discussion forums are very weak. In part this is no doubt because people are taking the class at very different times. Basically There is rarely any substantive 'discussion' at all in these forums. I tried to post something a bit controversial or challenging either a new topic or a response to someone else's topic, once per week, and had almost no responses or feedback or interesting discussions arise from these posts.