Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,321개의 평가
6,537개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

GC

2021년 10월 13일

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,782개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Pam B

2020년 9월 20일

This is an excellent course. I highly recommend it. As someone who grew up on Treaty six territory, I never learned the history of the indigenous peoples who were here before my family came to Canada. I appreciate that the course creators do not present the indigenous peoples of Canada as a single homogenous group, but rather use examples from different cultures to illustrate larger points. This course changed me and gave me a perspective of indigenous history and culture I have never had before. I really believe that this, or a course like this, should be mandatory for all Canadians. And it should certainly be mandatory for anyone seeking public office.

교육 기관: Joe G

2022년 6월 22일

As an immigrant Canadian, there's not a lot of avenues to immerse in the rich culture and traditions of the indigenous people. The narrative, both corporate and scholastic is dictated by a distinctly Euro centric flavour.

A course like this helps understand the complexity of integration, the heavily underplayed pain and suffering, and the oppurtunities to participate in social movements to both bring indegenous issues to the light and to lay out a chart for a more conscientious future as a Canadian.

Thank you for bringing this course to an online platform, to the curators of the content, the artisits involved, and the three knowledgeable presenters.

Joe G

교육 기관: Gillian B

2021년 7월 13일

I have learned so much more about Indigenous peoples. This course was indeed thought provoking, sometimes I felt in awe of the culture, anger and sadness at the continuous treatment from settlers throughout the years as well as what is still happening in modern times. I had dreaded the module on Residential schools but it had to be faced and acknowledged. Truly grateful to the Faculty of Native Studies for their work in putting this course together and I sincerely hope many more will take this course. So enjoyed Leah's paintings - tied into the modules beautifully! Thank you to all who were involved in this necessary education about First Nations.

교육 기관: Heather P

2022년 1월 8일

Middle-aged white woman, beginning to learn - I can't comment on the content. The lectures and notes were easy to follow, broken into small segments for focused learning, and spaced out in an easy-to-accomplish timeline. The course introduced me to a wide variety of new information, gave me lots of links to original sources to continue learning, and (in some cases) made me feel uncomfortable about the historic and continuing problems of colonialism, without feeling too threatening to my (dammit) white fragility.

I appreciate very much that this course is available to me, and hope to find more from the same faculty, and/or on the same general subject.

교육 기관: Dwight H

2020년 11월 27일

I completely enjoyed the entire course and found each module well planned and the presenters provided a clear and concise delivery of the content. The early Canadian history from early settlers to the modern times has provided me with a new perspective on Canada s indigenous peoples.

Professor Tracy Bear was especially knowlegable and her calm and thoughtful approach to the course content was refreshing and highly appreciated. Every Canadian member of Parliament and the Senate should be required to take and pass this course , as they will be enlightened to the History, trials and tribulations , and future aspirations of Canada's Indigenous peoples..

교육 기관: Paul B

2020년 11월 26일

4.5/5. The course delivered more than my expectations. I have been stretched by information and perspectives that have increased my understanding of Canadian history in association with the First Peoples. If I had Aladdin's lamp, one rub would have every non-Indigenous Canadian, and those to come, to have the knowledge, viewpoints, history, heart and emotions ingrained in them from the teachings of this course.

The exception to full marks is the embarrassing amount of grammatical mistakes (spelling, incomplete sentences). I acknowledge "forgiveness" had been asked for in this regard, but, c'mon, it's a university course! Raise the bar and all's well.

교육 기관: Brenda B

2020년 11월 24일

I learned a ton about our Canadian history I had no idea existed. Things I learned in this course about our indigenous Canadians history, that I had no knowledge. Of course, I do recall much of the news stories, growing up regarding the treaties, the blockades, but we never heard much about what the cause or concern from the indigenous perspective. This course was enlightening and I am so grateful for the opportunity to have taken it. Thank you for the all the fantastic material. I have a much better understanding of the horrors of the residential schools, the detriment and harm caused by colonization and the importance of understanding and empathy.

교육 기관: Jessica T L

2018년 7월 24일

Although I am a Mohawk woman, I haven't been taught the right history to its full extent. This course has helped me in many ways, to guide my mind and to help me help my community in the best ways that I can. Having this knowledge has brought on many discussions and conversations about the colonization and what it means to be a modern day Onkwehonwe. We are still here, there are some of us that do practice our traditions, and many of us who still have the knowledge and language of our ancestors. As Onkwehonwe, we must act accordingly to our original ways and teach those who do not know, and fulfill the responsibilities that the Creator has given us.

교육 기관: Christa B

2020년 12월 10일

I think this FREE course is amazing! It should be required learning for all Canadian adults, since most of us did not hear most of this in school. I hope more of this perspective and information gets into schools soon. The best tool against racism is understanding, but also, I just found so much to delight in and agree with in the perspectives on nature, the world, and humanity in this course. The instruction and format are excellent, creative, and interesting -- no, better than interesting. Fascinating. This course fascinated me as no other has done in decades. Thank you to UofA and the excellent instructors from the Indigenous Studies Department.

교육 기관: Alison H

2020년 11월 15일

I learned so much about the history of Indigenous people in Canada and their ongoing contributions and resilience in the face of an incredibly long, powerful attempt to colonize, assimilate, and dismiss Indigenous voices and culture. I am able to comprehend far more about current headlines (Wetsuwe'ten pipeline resistance; Mi'kmaq Fishery/Moderate LIvelihood in Nova Scotia; my favourite artist Alex Janvier) than I had been. I appreciate the blending of past and present, history and future, and am inspired to work toward reconciliation wherever and whenever I can as a settler Canadian living on the traditional territory of the Anishnaabe in Quebec.

교육 기관: Karrie H

2022년 3월 5일

This course was very engaging. I looked forward to the time I set aside for study. The content was robust and the delivery was professional and practical. Each weekly plan was well laid out and the lectures were appropriate in length. I enjoyed hearing the interviews from those with lived experience, and I liked the written review at the end of each weekly lesson to look through before each quizz.

I learned so much about our hidden Canadian history. Impossible to look the other way after absorbing the details regarding colonization and the truth of European settlers. I look forward to being a better ally and supporter of today's Indigenous Canada.

교육 기관: Cathy K

2020년 12월 30일

I fully appreciated the opportunity to learn the actual history of Indigenous peoples in Canada and the realities of colonization. This course was well-organized and thoughtfully presented in an objective manner with information on a wide range of topics. I believe that everyone should be taught about the abhorrent, racist manner in which Indigenous people were historically, and still are today, treated by the government and dominating culture. This would provide an understanding of the intergenerational trauma that events and poor treatment by settlers has caused and of the value of Indigenous self-government. Thank you for an excellent course!

교육 기관: Freddy V

2020년 12월 19일

Born in South-America , in a country where indigenous people were massacred in colonial times, this course brought a new understanding. After 26 years in this country, now i have a new knowledge and appreciation of the indigenous struggle to keep their culture and way of life. Before this course I thought that I have some knowledge about this topic ... i was wrong ... this course open new perspectives and an appetite to know more ... it also empathize my conviction to be involve and aware of he diverse way of life that indigenous nations have. I would like and commit to be another voice and allied of the issues affecting natives communities .

교육 기관: Wendy M

2020년 9월 30일

I never really understood the true meaning of my being a "Canadian". This course opened my eyes to my great appreciation to the First Nations, Metis and Inuit Peoples, for their willingness to share this great land. It took much of the course for me to overcome my feelings of guilt, being a child descended from European colonialists. But I overcame that by choosing to reinvent what Canadian means to me: co-existing in this beautiful nation with people who understand the true meaning of strength, love, reciprocity and respect for Mother Earth: the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. Thank you for an extremely rewarding course, I am eternally grateful!!

교육 기관: Nathalie T

2020년 11월 25일

A big thank you for putting this course together. I have learned so much, and will continue to deepen my knowledge on Indigenous life and culture. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians as it helps us understand one another, create bridges and open our eyes to all the traumas of the past and even the present. Each module could be a course in itself as there is so much information. The 3 presentators really know how to maintain our attention and interest. The added interviews and testimonies show us an insight and an expression of all the pride of Indigenous people for their culture and as a Nation. Thank you again ! Merci beaucoup !

교육 기관: Ingrid S

2020년 12월 13일

As a west coast settler, my understanding (limited) of Indigenous culture, art and governance has just been from the perspective of British Columbian Indigenous Nations. The Indigenous Canada course exposed me to other Indigenous groups in Canada, to the negative impact of the first colonizers of North America as well as to the past and ongoing oppression by a succession of Canadian governments. I appreciate the introduction to contemporary Indigenous artists. I look forward to furthering my education on Indigenous issues and learning more about past and contemporary contributions of Indigenous people including artists and scholars. Thank you!

교육 기관: Trisha H

2021년 8월 2일

Thank you so much - really appreciated the Indigenous Canada course. Fortunately, I have read, appreciated the art forms of many including Bill Reid and currently, Patrick Hunter - viewed APTN & and was aware of a lot of the history. But the course gave me a great framework, new perspectives and really organized my understanding. Loved the incorporation of Leah Dorian's art - it would be nice to have a list of artists & writers to investigate - a long list, I know. Currently, reading the Buffy St. Marie biography and Fred Sasakamoose's "Call Me Indian". Are there more courses coming soon: the Arts, grassroot movements, or ? Thank you again!!

교육 기관: Maureen S

2020년 10월 16일

Excellent course. I learned a tremendous amount and now have a list of resources to pursue as I go forward learning more about Indigenous Canada. The presenters were professional and articulate and presented the material in bite sized chunks that were easy to grasp. The accountability of taking a quiz at the end of each module was an effective way to consolidate knowledge. I was able to review and retake the quizzes and noted that the questions could change making sure that I was paying attention to what was asked. This should be required viewing for every Canadian and would be an excellent resources for schools as a learning tool. Thank you.

교육 기관: Alex D

2021년 9월 14일

This was so well presented, informative and illuminating. I think all Federal and Local government employees should have this as a mandatory course as part of their training and conditions of employment. As a British settler who has lived in Canada for 30 years I knew so little, was ignorant of the real history of this country and I learned more in this 12 weeks than in 30 years of living here on Turtle Island. It was thought provoking, moving, enlightening, and full of factual data and research. I certainly felt I could carry on from this jumping off point to learn more and am highly recommending it to all my friends, colleagues and family.

교육 기관: Carolyn F

2021년 5월 17일

I truly felt a huge personal gap in understanding the history and journey of the Indigenous people in this country. This course did not disappoint. It has challenged me to think differently about my own personal actions and language and to become more of an advocate for respect and the decolonization of Indigenous life. I have already started to think differently about how this applies to my career and to my role as a parent. Thank you for making this available! I will highly recommend this course!

(PS- I am from Hamilton, ON and learned recently that Tracy Bear will be joining the faculty at McMaster University! How lucky for my hometown!)

교육 기관: Jesmina B

2021년 2월 1일

Indigenous Canada is a shocking wake-up call to its students, most specifically Canadians who were not taught about this significant history in our schools. I understand this now more than ever and hope this and other Indigenous courses become part of k-12 learning. As a Metis woman, I am honoured to be a daughter of Canada's Indigenous Peoples, as I continue to learn about my heritage. I am excited to share this course with everyone I know. It is heart breaking to see in detail how, from settlers to today's non Indigenous executives, have and continue to treat the very people who are spiritually connected to our land, water and creatures.

교육 기관: Holly W

2021년 8월 30일

The information in this course really helped me understand more about the history of colonialism and it's devastating toll on the Indigenous people. They welcomed Europeans, willing to share their knowledge, culture, and land, but instead were manipulated and decimated by white settlers. The course not only outlines the history, but also brings us up to date with how Indigenous people are reclaiming their rights, culture, and personhood. I am very grateful for the 3 First Nations people who facilitated the lectures, as well as the speakers who shared their personal insights. The course was delivered in a meaningful, thought provoking way.

교육 기관: Marsha M

2021년 6월 13일

V​ery informative course. Lots of reflect upon and process. There is a necessary level of discomfort that I and other settlers must sit with as we navigate the couse and learn about the past and present impact of colonization. This is part of our history and it should be taught. I am committed to sit with the discomfort, to do the work and to be an ally. As an educator, I wish a version of this course could be adapted for our elementary and secondary students - as our history programs remain to be told from the white-settler perspective. Thank you for making this course accessible for me and others who want to and who need to learn more.

교육 기관: Carol M

2021년 5월 13일

My only criticism of this course (which is generally excellent!) is that it states in the discussion of residential schools that there were none in PEI, NB, or Newfoundland. I can't speak to NB or PEI as I'm not familiar enough with those provinces' history, but there were in fact residential schools in NL - 1 on the island and 4 in Labrador. They weren't part of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (as the schools pre-dated NL joining Canada and the Canadian government argued they had no responsibility), but they were recognized later with an apology from the federal government to survivors and (eventually) a class-action settlement.

교육 기관: Carrie R

2021년 9월 26일

I can't thank the staff and faculty for providing this thought provoking course and allowing many of us to be educated on such an important aspect of history in our society. My mind was filled with correct facts and knowledge about the history of the Indigenous culture and how it was shaped. I looked forward each week to what new and interesting teachings I would be receiving from Scholars, speakers, video and paintings. I really appreciated Leah Dorian's paintings at the end of each weeks course lesson. Nice way to tie in the information we were hearing or reading about. To see it on canvas was amazing and brought the stories to life!!