Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
18,321개의 평가
6,537개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JS

2020년 10월 21일

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

GC

2021년 10월 13일

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 6,782개 리뷰 중 451~475

교육 기관: Jon P

2022년 3월 23일

This course is compreshensive as can be touching on the historical and modern culture of Aboriginals and their mistreatment. I appreciate they try to touch on all subjects within the time limit of this course and it will never be enough because there is so much more to learn and understand. The only thing I would like see changed would be to add more interviews of people living today and their challenges. While it is discussed, seeing those plights will hopefully give people a new understanding that continue to exist today. I recommend checking out some of the vast documentaries that can help demonstrate this.

교육 기관: Liam W

2021년 1월 9일

I have learned a considerable amount from this course. Most importantly, I became aware of how different my view of community is from the various forms of Indigenous community covered in the content. I answered many of the questions incorrectly in the multiple choice quizzes because I do not have a strong sense community as it is expressed in this course. Reviewing the notes and retaking the quizzes helped improve my understanding. I would need to live a different life to be able to know these answers right away. However, knowing the difference and understanding my lack of comprehension has improved my character.

교육 기관: Maureen P

2021년 8월 14일

This course was well structured and gave me an overview of Indigenous history in Canada. It has also given me a hunger to explore so much more of that history, such as treaties and the progress being made in areas such as land use and conservation, and of course the burgeoning Aboriginal arts communities. I am heartened that the First Peoples of Canada are gaining recognition and being celebrated for their contributions to Canada's culture. We have so much to learn from those who have inhabited this country for thousands of years. Thank you for creating this course, which has inspired me to explore so much more.

교육 기관: Brooklyn D

2022년 1월 7일

Unbelievable, yet the most believable teaching of history that I have taken. Where I thought my schooling lacked, I was astonished to learn the scope of what was missed, avoided, and continues to exist in today's teachings of Indigenous culture. This course should not be optional for anyone over the age 25. It has opened, my already open, eyes to a world so much greater than my own. All I can say is taking this course is a MUST DO. It is intriguing, heart breaking, and insightful. Thank you to the U of A, and all involved for the creation and delivery of this program. I will echo it's praises for years to come.

교육 기관: Renee C

2021년 4월 9일

Thank you, thank you, thank you for creating and offering this essential course! I learned so much and enjoyed doing so throughout these 12 weeks. I especially appreciated the course material on the Fur Trade and the Treaties. So glad Dan Levy recommended this course, as I would never have known about it otherwise! Can't recommend this course enough -- every Canadian should take this. I also liked how there were videos of the material which made it more engaging for me. Thank you again, from an Acadian living as a guest on the traditional and unceded territory of the Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet) and Mi'kmaq peoples.

교육 기관: Cheryl D

2020년 12월 2일

I found this course to be a very informative overview of the subject. Excellent instructors made the subjects accessible and easy to understand. Being non-Indigenous and in my 50s, all of my schooling took place in a white-washed environment - I learned nothing about Indigenous people or the terrible treatment meted out to them by Canada. This course has given me a firm foundation to build on as I relearn the history of this land, and more importantly the people who have been here from time immemorial. The course notes are an excellent resource that I will refer to often in the course of my continued learning.

교육 기관: Joanne D

2020년 11월 17일

Everyone should take this course. I had many misguided beliefs in regards to Indigenous people. The modules on beads and Native women marrying outside the tribe were especially revealing to me. In my childhood I had friends that had Native mothers and European fathers and I was aghast at the fact that Native mothers marrying outside the tribe were no longer members of the tribe, yet a Native man marrying outside the tribe remained a member. I could not understand how the tribe could be so cruel and hypocritical. I now know that it was the Indian Act and not the tribe that made such a devastating ruling.

교육 기관: Darlene F

2020년 11월 8일

This course was very informative on the History of the indigenous and Canada. I have asked my son to take the course as his grandparents are Metis, but my son never learned about his grandparents culture. As his father and I are divorced and his father does not have a relationship with his son, I want my son to learn more about his heritage,

So I thank you for making this course available to all, as Its very important for Canadians to learn about their history.

I have also introduced the book Indian Horse to my book club, and look forwarded to talking about it tomorrow night.

Thank you again for this course.

교육 기관: Ashley A

2021년 4월 6일

Being native myself I've grown up with a caucasian lifestyle not knowing a lot about who my people were or what they have dealt with in-depth (high school doesn't teach even close to this), this course was informative and inspiring for me to go and research more and really get to know who my people are and stand up with them against injustice. I've noticed the effects In my life I've never noticed before that are affected by the earlier settlers and it makes me sad. This course was a real eye-opener and I'm very glad I took it. Great job to the UofA for putting this on and those who helped bring it to life.

교육 기관: Debra R

2020년 12월 19일

I have lived in Canada in small communities my whole life. I have always been closely connected to the aboriginal community. I truly believed and this course has brought me a whole new understanding of aboriginal experience. Thank you. I am lucky to live on the Sunshine Coast BC where our school system is very keen on teaching Aboriginal education to all students. I have often felt a sense of relief that my children are being educated honestly on topics that are so important, and that the public school system is recognizing the importance of Indigenous education. Thank you again for offering this course.

교육 기관: Theresa P

2020년 10월 24일

This course was very instrumental to me in the aspect of assisting me gather increasing knowledge of the ongoing struggles of the Indigenous people. This should've been taught in the school curriculum when I was young, and should be taught today in schools everywhere, so that we all have a better understanding of how colonialism has deeply affected so many generations in such an abusive manner. We have so much to learn and appreciate from the Indigenous people and their ancestors when it comes to the respect of land, water, animals and most importantly each other.

Thank you for such an imformative course!!

교육 기관: Donald J W

2020년 9월 29일

As a person from down south of you in the US, I want you to know I learned a lot that I did not know about the start of Canada and how Indigenous people helped shape your landscape and culture there. Very informative and a special thanks to Tracy Bear for explaining each module there was in user friendly terms. I would recommend this to everyone!! And a VERY big thank you to Mr. Dan Levy from whom we learned about this course from because he was planning to start and invited us fans of him and Schitt's Creek along for the ride to discuss and learn. Wonderful. Whole new look at Canada for me!! Thank you all!

교육 기관: Sadielou M S

2020년 11월 4일

This is a great introduction to Indigenous history in the Canadian context. It improved my awareness of Canada's colonial past and also my awareness of how this continues to affect the sovereignty of indigenous nations across Canada. As a fairly resent settler to Canada, this really wet my appetite for a better understanding of the origins of Canada as a nation and how it has interacted with indigenous nations from a perspective that is most often left out of Canadian history books or told from a colonial white supremacist perspective. Needless to say, I have already disposed of a couple of books I owned.

교육 기관: June C

2020년 10월 6일

Exceptional in presenting a compelling but balanced look at all the history I was never taught in school (and I have a Masters degree). Has really changed my views and helped me to recognize and understand that I have no "opinion" on current issues effecting Indigenous peoples in Canada (and all Canadians( - that what I need to do is genuinely listen, reflect and learn more. Thank you so very very much. Only one suggestion for improvement... many of the references regarding current issues are becoming dated and it would be awesome to update what has happened/not happened since circa 2015. Thanks again.

교육 기관: Trevor P

2020년 6월 14일

Thank you so very much for offering this crucial course for all of us to witness. My wife and I took this course during the Co-Vid isolation and we were both amazed at how much of Canadian history we were never offered from a different more Indigenous perspective. We found ourselves being enlightened and finding so many societal and cultural connections to the truths that were discussed and revealed. Many of these topics are not covered in our textbooks and as a result, our historical perspectives are being skewed to what truths actually exist. We are so grateful that we took this course! Well done!!

교육 기관: Betty D

2020년 11월 1일

This course was simply amazing. I learned so much about the indigenous perspective. I am a retired health care professional, a grandmother and someone compelled to understand a better way to live softly on this earth. I am embarrassed that it has taken all these years to learn some of the history, values, and cultural aspects of indigenous people. Taking this course has lead to several discussions with friends and family members, and especially my three grandchildren. Thank you so much for offering this course. I would like to re-enrol if I may so that i continue to learn the material you have provided.

교육 기관: Rose

2020년 11월 22일

I found this course informative and it offers a wonderful glimpse into the atrocities committed by the Indian Act and both church and state of Canada against the Indigenous, Inuit, and Metis Peoples. I believe this course should be mandatory education for high schools across Canada. It covers a huge component of the curriculum.

My only complaint with the course is the quiz questions within the videos are sometimes placed prior to the information itself so you are left guessing what the answer could be. Beyond that, I am grateful to the organizers at the University of Alberta for offering this course.

교육 기관: Tom C

2022년 1월 20일

An excellent overview of Canada's Inuit, First Nations and Metis peoples, history, language, culture and so much more. The course also provides clear explanations of the impacts of colonialization, (by European settlers) and the injustices and discrimination indigenous people have faced, and continue to face. Highly recommended for all Canadians.

There is only one suggestion I would make to help improve the course. I believe the course would be even more powerful, and impactful, if it included more photos, illustrations, movie clips, etc. to visually support the points being made by the narrators.

교육 기관: Claudia W

2021년 7월 6일

I felt that this course gave an excellent overview of history, culture and struggles related to indigenous peoples and, therefore, all Canadians. I read criticisms concerning this course being too one-sided in its discussion of colonization and the consequences to indigenous peoples as well as being overly focussed on the positive aspects of indigenous culture. I disagree whole-heartedly. It is time that we look at the other side as we have been denied the necessary education to understand indigenous peoples. As a mother and an educator, I look forward to sharing my new knowledge with those around me.

교육 기관: Christine D

2020년 11월 8일

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course for many reasons. The narration, telling of history and stories was really impactful and made me feel connected to the people. The art pieces tying it all in at the end of each session were profound and beautiful. This course was engaging visually and auditorily. The Sunday sessions added different perspectives. There is a part of me that is angry with the learnings I was taught in school and I feel duped. This program is incredibly important to the truth of our history and I am grateful for the curriculum content your team has assembled. Thank you! Merci!

교육 기관: Kathy J

2021년 3월 28일

Very thorough, covering many areas of historical and contemporary Indigenous learning that are not presented in other courses and projects. The material is easy to follow, and has entry points for all levels of participant. There is a very honest, gracious tone throughout that does not look down upon anyone who comes into the course ignorant on any fronts. All of the material is shared in a way that welcomes reaction as well as reflection. I have no doubt that everything I have learned is accurate and I am much better informed than I was before. Thank you for building it and for making it available.

교육 기관: Jillian H

2020년 12월 28일

This was an excellent course! My politics have been in line with Indigenous resurgence & sovereignty, social justice and education, anti-racism, all of that -- but this course laid out the fundamentals in a cohesive, accessible way. I think the production content could've been a bit higher, but only to support the great work of Dr. Tracey Bear & her colleagues. I loved Leah Dorion's work running alongside the course and wrapping the course up with activism and art was very moving & inspiring. Thank you again for sharing this course for FREE-- I've encouraged all my friends and family to take it too!

교육 기관: Chet K

2020년 5월 25일

I absolutely loved this course. I actually started this course because I did not understand the issues our Indigenous people face here in Canada.

When I don't understand something my preference is to take a stance of trying to learn. I started by reading books by indigenous authors and those were very informative. Then after creating some dialogue from reading the books it was recommended that I take this course to learn about Canada's history from an Indigenous perspective.

The presenters do an excellent job, the videos are short and the reading material is provided. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Sylvia L

2021년 9월 17일

I enjoyed taking the course. In my elementary school classes in Alberta, we did cover a lot of the history outlined in this course. I had also followed the news and media with respect to protests, etc.

I was not sure why the satire of 1491 in Week 12 was in the course as I would have thought that the usual stereotype of indigenous peoples would want to be altered rather than emphasized. If a white person had created that, it would have been cited as racism and condemned. Other than that the course was excellent and I found it confirmed what I had already known with respect to indigenous peoples.

교육 기관: Kevin C

2021년 9월 11일

A profoundly compelling and enlightening study, which offered insightful learning and heart-rendering personal reflection. Being older in years, British by birth and colonial in upbringing, this study has introduced a dark awareness that provided deep and rich soul searching. There can be great blessing for one to look back seven generations and yearn to model one’s life for the future seven generations, but in this case you have uncovered, long carried, hidden filters. These must be ‘re-filtered’ and seen for what they are, if following generations are to be blessed. Thank you for a rich kindness.