학생용
Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Indigenous Canada 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,278개의 평가
1,602개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

최상위 리뷰

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

필터링 기준:

Indigenous Canada의 1,623개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Sean G

Jan 16, 2019

GREAT INSIGHT TO THE HISTORY OF CANADA

교육 기관: John C

May 04, 2020

I started this course with an expectation that I would acquire some understanding of how First Nations people and "settlers" in Canada arrived at our current state. I think the course did an admiral job of that. The course represented clearly the mistakes made, the misunderstandings, the motivations, and the sad history that played out. What I still don't have is an understanding of where we are going next. We can't dwell on the past to the exclusion of planning for our mutual future. I also feel a bit lost on who the "players" are now, who will lead us forward?

교육 기관: Narinder S S

Jan 30, 2019

A very deep and layered learning with in-depth teachings on the varying degrees of struggles the Indigenous peoples of Canada endured during the settler invasions. I appreciated the geographical layout of how Canada was inhabited by the Indigenous people and how they navigated, traded and established mutual agreements with each other to ensure the land and its' inhabitants all thrived before the settlers arrived. A deep appreciation of how our Indigenous people value 'the whole' and not just how our natural resources benefit the limited few for the short-term. A great course which I wholeheartedly

교육 기관: Melissa R

May 08, 2020

This was an extremely important course, clearly outlining and diving into the Indigenous history of Canada. While challenging to hear even more of what colonization did to the Indigenous people, holding space by learning the deep pain that was caused by the settlers I believe is an integral aspect of moving forward in the best possible way, helping them to heal the wounds. I am intensely humbled by the ability of the Indigenous Nations in Canada to continue their vigilant efforts toward self governance and building even more robust cultures.

교육 기관: Angie S

Sep 07, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

교육 기관: Kathryn T

Jul 28, 2020

It was privilege to be able to take this course. I learned a great deal and believe my understanding of Indigenous people is forever changed for the better. Thank you to all who made the course possible.

My two suggestions for an improved experience would be to first, use more visual aids, soundscapes and video clips to enhance and replace the talking head presentations and second, to review your quiz questions to ensure they are clear and there is only one correct answer.

교육 기관: Ansel W

Jul 10, 2020

Some of the quiz questions were quite vague, with sometimes 2 answers that were seemingly correct based on the course material.

교육 기관: Graeme V

Jul 24, 2020

I found some of the questions in the tests to be worded poorly

교육 기관: Anna E M

Jul 25, 2020

Some quiz questions were not so clear

교육 기관: Kathryne C

Aug 04, 2020

The quiz questions are badly worded.

교육 기관: Jane D

Sep 14, 2020

I appreciate the importance of the course -- however the delivery of it obfuscates. Reading to learners is not compelling. It is boring. The interviews were great. The one I appreciated the most was in Module 9 with the young undergrad. His story was interesting and didn't feel scripted. For me as a learner, Module 9 and 12 were the most compelling because it seemed there was less reading. As well, I found the evaluations problematic. When I was reviewing the course notes -- I didn't know what to highlight because it seemed that the evals were not always testing the important concepts. The artist bits at the end sometimes seemed redundant and the knowledge checks, mid-module, seemed out of sync sometimes and would pop up mid sentence before the pivotal info had been delivered. If there were more modules as engaging as 9 and 12 -- this could be a much better course,

교육 기관: Hortense B

Oct 07, 2020

Merci! There is so much to learn, and three months pass quickly! I really liked this course, loved the beautiful fusain (?) portraits (the eyes only are so telling...), getting to know the history of Turtle Island before the creation of Canada was very precious, especially around understanding the Treaties (I would believe most Canadians settlers do not know what is it about and even less Canadian settlers immigrants like myself), and the Fur Trade (I probably learned the most Modules 1-4).

I did my master's research paper on Indigenous Women’s Resilience, Resistance and Cultural Resurgence through Activism and Art (Turtle Island), I had loved Christi Belcourt's Walking With Our Sisters' initiative, they are with us and we are with them. This helps me understand what I couldn't two years ago, and I hope that in two years my comprehension will grow twofold or more.

I did find that some of the modules at the end (e.g. Indigenous women and even how certain policies still affect them disproportionately) could have been more through, but considering the course is free and that you are sharing on Indegeneity, the content is amazing! I do want to follow a course on Indigenous art, there is so much so much! From signing, spoken poetry, beading, painting, rap, sculpture, weaving, media such a films, documentaries, etc. and all the things I am forgetting about.

Do I recommend this course to any fellow settler Canadian out there? Yes I do. These things should be mandatory anyway, but can you force people to learn, I don't know. I just think it would be nice if settler people would respecting Indigenous peoples (definition needs clarification) and want to learn from them.

To close, I just want to say thank you to those involved in the creation of the course, it is much appreciated. I needed it.

Merci

교육 기관: Marina D E E

Oct 13, 2020

Tt was my first course on Indigenous Peoples ever and I found it enjoyable and informative. I follow a Circle of All Nations ...which is now led by Romola on behalf of Grandfather William Commanda; an Algonquin elder who has taken the long walk and passed over.

I attended on Parliament Hill , the gathering of the Elders for the Apology. Through this course I now have a better understanding of the history of Canada beyond the Colonial History I was taught.

One of my maternal ancestors who lived in Ipswich, Massachussets took part in advocating for local Indigenous land rights following the Maine Massachusetts Quebec Peace treaty (s).

I now understand how important the ancestors are and I want to revisit some of the modules before the course has ended.

Thank you so much for this course, it has truly been educational!

교육 기관: Dianne M

Oct 07, 2020

Excellent , well presented, researched, informative and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed each module and being able to study and review at my own pace was appreciated. Artwork, stunning and well described, kudos to artist Kudos to visuals used throughout as well and the presenters did a good job for the amount of information shared to keep it fluid chi meqwetch. Dianne Marilyn Musgrove (Whyacknook qwe) Ojibway Whitefish River First Nation, Ontario

교육 기관: Kaisa H C

May 16, 2020

This was a thought provoking course which presented a lot of knowledge on the social, political, cultural, and spiritual structures previously unknown about the First Nation People in Canada. The only negative of the course is there are no more follow up MOOCs to this one! Well done in a respectful manner. Thank you for the knowledge.

교육 기관: SYED N N

Jan 12, 2019

I have been enjoying the course since it belongs to the Indigenous peoples having a very long history not only in North America but in other European countries. Amazingly designed course increase my knowledge and I would like to continue reading about Aboriginal peoples in future as well.

교육 기관: Erin L

Jun 08, 2020

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

교육 기관: kyra f

Jun 25, 2019

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

교육 기관: Tammy A

Feb 18, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

교육 기관: Chantal L M

Apr 26, 2018

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

교육 기관: Zachary B

Aug 17, 2020

Extremely eye opening as a non- indigenous person. The course notes as well as the videos helped me gather the knowledge I need to pursue a profession helping the indigenous youth. Thank you for all your hard work put into this course.

교육 기관: Katalin K

Aug 06, 2019

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Elizabeth D

Aug 16, 2020

I didn't grow up in Canada and had a limited understanding of the history and present of Indigenous people. I enjoyed and learned much from the course and will work towards being an ally. Feels like a good accomplishment at age 69!

교육 기관: Cecelia M

May 03, 2020

Every Canadian should take this course! I have no doubt that our conversations and lives would be so richer if we all understood a little better the experiences of Indigenous Canadians. Thank you for creating and sharing this course!

교육 기관: Daphne Q

Jan 13, 2020

I learnt so much in the course and couldn't wait to get to the next lesson to learn more. Thank you for all of your efforts in putting this together. It has certainly been thought provoking and has increased my desire to learn more.